I Get Wet

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 65
  2. Negative: 16 out of 65

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Alex
    May 16, 2002
    1
    I give everything the benefit of the doubt.. but this sucks! I want my money back!
  2. Yuri
    Apr 8, 2004
    0
    hate him...
  3. Hyse
    Mar 25, 2002
    0
    The worst album ever...
  4. JoeS.
    Apr 21, 2002
    2
    Aside from the fact that he's only written one song, this album is HAIR METAL. When I first saw the music video for Party Hard I laughed my ass off thinking that this guy would be homeless in two weeks, but somehow he's the next Nirvana. Let's just hope that Andrew, too, eventually decides to kill himself, because after one album, it's obvious that he's out of Aside from the fact that he's only written one song, this album is HAIR METAL. When I first saw the music video for Party Hard I laughed my ass off thinking that this guy would be homeless in two weeks, but somehow he's the next Nirvana. Let's just hope that Andrew, too, eventually decides to kill himself, because after one album, it's obvious that he's out of material. I've never seen this much buzz over some pathetic one-hit-wonder hack in my life. Expand
  5. M13
    Apr 7, 2002
    0
    I gotta hand it to Andrew W.K. I can't recall an album in recent memory that sucks this badly and consistently, track after miserable track. This fool has (or fools have) greatly succeeded in taking the very worst elements of oi, hardcore, 80's poseur hair metal, and mid-70's glam and manufactured an assembly line collection of bonehead anthems sure to appeal to every I gotta hand it to Andrew W.K. I can't recall an album in recent memory that sucks this badly and consistently, track after miserable track. This fool has (or fools have) greatly succeeded in taking the very worst elements of oi, hardcore, 80's poseur hair metal, and mid-70's glam and manufactured an assembly line collection of bonehead anthems sure to appeal to every sidewalk biker wannabe on the block. I can completely understand if the masses who are only exposed to Empteevee and Corporate Nazi Radio hear this shit and think it's the hardest most smokin' jam ever created to record. Those of us with, say (at least) early stuff in our collections from D.R.I. or Corrosion of Conformity or Gang Green or even stuff as far away from this W.K. sludge as old Discharge and G.B.H. know better than that. But of course, people with IQs equivalent to the average annual temperature of Antarctica can't party to any of that other music, and that's where Andrew W.K. gets in on the trendy geeks' "cool" list. Apparently ol' Andy really likes that straight-up beat, like the one at the end of "Peace Sells" by Megadeth, or even ?Saturday Night? by the Bay City Rollers. A lot. Because it's the main drum arrangement, at various tempos, on practically every fucking song on this album. And the subject matter of the songs are about as deep and compelling as a twelve year old who gets to drink half a cup of beer and stay up with the big kids until almost ten P.M. Hey, "It's Time To Party". C'mon. "Party Hard", dude. Yeah, "Party Til You Puke", fellas. All right Beaver, that's enough. Leave Eddie and Lumpy alone and go to bed. Now. But hey, that one tune entitled "Ready To Die" really got me going for a second there. It was like, hey, y'all REALLY ready to die? Well, tell you what, like your song goes on to say I'm ready to kill. I'd like to take every single one of the motherfuckers responsible for writing, perfoming, recording, producing and marketing this steaming stinking vomit puddle of a record, line them up at a wall, and mow 'em down with the help of several accomplices and our AK-47s. But then I snapped out of it and figured, hey, it's only music. These pukes are just stealing what was once upon a time truly meaningful and inspirational genres, laminating them into nice cleaned up packages, and selling them to the mutinational robber barons? shitworker dimwiddies whose idea of rebellion is wearing the shirttail OUTSIDE of the waistband when out clubbing. It's depressing as Hell for me to witness, but then again it's nothing new. Sorry, Andrew W.K., I?m not sold. When I want to party hard I?ll stick to my Motorhead, AC/DC, Ramones, James Brown and Funkadelic, but thanks anyway. Expand
  6. DD
    Apr 7, 2002
    3
    Every song is Party Hard. Just buy the single and loop it.
  7. DougN
    Apr 4, 2003
    0
    I HATE ANDREW WK! Just take a look at him and then open up the cd case, put it in your cd player and press play. Thats all i have to say.
  8. ericeric
    Sep 21, 2003
    0
    This is not music.
  9. garym
    Mar 10, 2007
    0
    this gives a new meaning to "garbage".
  10. Blindspot
    Apr 18, 2002
    1
    The musical equivalent of eating a raw steak. Hackneyed, vapid and humorless, this is the sound of overpowered advertising-grade session musicians paired with a spastic messiah-complexed white boy from middle America. Easy to see why it might work in Non-US countries.
  11. MS
    Apr 23, 2002
    0
    Poser.
  12. DomS.
    Aug 12, 2003
    0
    Music does not have to be deep. it does not have to be intelligent. It doesn't even have to be performed by talented musicians to be good. But, Andrew W.K. is such a flaming moron and his music such contrived, nauseating, putrid, unoriginal crap, that I feel severely insulted. There's a difference between wanting your listener to have fun (maybe with a little wink) and honestly Music does not have to be deep. it does not have to be intelligent. It doesn't even have to be performed by talented musicians to be good. But, Andrew W.K. is such a flaming moron and his music such contrived, nauseating, putrid, unoriginal crap, that I feel severely insulted. There's a difference between wanting your listener to have fun (maybe with a little wink) and honestly having no idea what a listener is. Andrew W.K. holds domain in the latter, wallowing in his own stupidity with every neanderthalic yelp. Each song is a pure, unadulterated turd from the already-asinine "rock revival". Collapse
  13. GaborA
    Apr 27, 2004
    0
    Another entry to the if you listen to this then you should be shot list.
  14. Aug 16, 2010
    0
    People say they don't know which track is best. There's only 1 track!

    And Andrew ... please wash your jeans & buy new sneakers. I don't know what statement you're trying to make, but every time i see you I keep thinking about tv commercials for Daz Automatic and other leading brands of washing powder.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. So then, what is the excuse for a typically elitist music nerd to bow to Andrew WK's blistering tard-rock? That's right, folks: there isn't one.
  2. At its best, WK's music is a refreshing blast of skanky air on the current stale music scene, but at its worst, it's disappointingly monotonous, unoriginal, and very, very dumb.
  3. Blender
    60
    Those in search of a gloriously moronic keg-party soundtrack will wet themselves with pleasure. [Apr/May 2002, p.112]