I Get Wet

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 66
  2. Negative: 16 out of 66

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2016
    9
    This is honestly one of the best albums to listen to if you want to instantly feel better. A lot of hard rock and metal is really serious and dark, I Get Wet is nothing but a nonstop party. If you've never seen Andrew WK live you might think this is just one long joke album, but after seeing the way this guy smiles at the crowd in person you realize he is seriously interested in makingThis is honestly one of the best albums to listen to if you want to instantly feel better. A lot of hard rock and metal is really serious and dark, I Get Wet is nothing but a nonstop party. If you've never seen Andrew WK live you might think this is just one long joke album, but after seeing the way this guy smiles at the crowd in person you realize he is seriously interested in making people happy. Highly recommended for those just wanting to rock out and have a good time. Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2015
    10
    Without a doubt, the greatest party rock album there ever was. This guy's energy is incredible. Every song has this amazing party aura that is so addicting. Sure the songs are repetitive, but if you're looking for some feel-good fun jams, this is a great album to check out.
  3. Feb 23, 2015
    9
    It's a twelve course meal where cheesy metal is the only thing on the menu and it's all served loud. Don't listen to this guy for a deep and thoughtful experience - just turn the volume up to ten and party down.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Hard-arena-party-rock from a classically trained pianist. The concept sounds ridiculous and cheesy, and it is which makes it a fun record that demands to be replayed. Its stupid, but its clever.
  5. Mar 10, 2012
    5
    To this day, i've never survived the whole album. So that's a negative right away. The fact that I can't be bothered to listen to the album as a whole says something. About half of the tracks on the album are pure ****. Just hard rock with someone with throat cancer as lead vocal. Funny, because that's pretty much Andrew's whole career - half of his songs are complete crap. With I Get Wet,To this day, i've never survived the whole album. So that's a negative right away. The fact that I can't be bothered to listen to the album as a whole says something. About half of the tracks on the album are pure ****. Just hard rock with someone with throat cancer as lead vocal. Funny, because that's pretty much Andrew's whole career - half of his songs are complete crap. With I Get Wet, I have to admit, Andrew brings a completely different sound. Not the usual rock music we are used to. This is art rock, and "Ready to Die" and "Party Hard" show that well. Too bad the rest of the album is not that great as these two songs. "She Is Beautiful", "Don't Stop Living In The Red" and "Take It Off" are okay, but in retrospect, this album is somewhat decent. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2010
    0
    People say they don't know which track is best. There's only 1 track!

    And Andrew ... please wash your jeans & buy new sneakers. I don't know what statement you're trying to make, but every time i see you I keep thinking about tv commercials for Daz Automatic and other leading brands of washing powder.
  7. Justin
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    The fact that he hit himself in the face with a brick for the album artwork really says it all. I'm not sure what my favorite track is. Maybe it's "It's Time to Party" or "Party Til You Puke." But it's probably "Party Hard," which is probably about as good as "Love Live the Party" and "PARTY PARTY PARTY" combined.
  8. JesseM
    Jul 3, 2009
    9
    This is the "Monty Python & the Holy Grail" of amazing albums. There's no way I can listen to this and be in a bad mood. It's absolutely ridiculous-- "I love New York City! Oh yeah! New York City!"-- and he knows it. I mean, for God's sake, look at the damned track titles. It's a tongue-firmly-in-cheek homage to 80s hair bands, and is so much fun that it deserves a This is the "Monty Python & the Holy Grail" of amazing albums. There's no way I can listen to this and be in a bad mood. It's absolutely ridiculous-- "I love New York City! Oh yeah! New York City!"-- and he knows it. I mean, for God's sake, look at the damned track titles. It's a tongue-firmly-in-cheek homage to 80s hair bands, and is so much fun that it deserves a special place in everyone's libraries full of depressing pop. Expand
  9. ChloeJ
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    I loved this album. I know the lyrics aren't very deep but I don't think all albums need to be "symbolic" or have metaphors for everything. Sometimes people need that fun album to work out to.
  10. EzraD
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    You get into this album by laughing at its ridiculousness. Then, by the sheer force of AWK's sincerity, you begin to love it, and you love it genuinely.
  11. TRG
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    The genius isn't apparent until you realize there isn't an ironic bone in AWK's body.
  12. garym
    Mar 10, 2007
    0
    this gives a new meaning to "garbage".
  13. PeterM
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Any album that gets a 0.6 from Pitchfork Media has to be good!
  14. brandonf
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    sick album
  15. KeithW
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    Gold! From the interview with the onion: Every melody line is composed of like 40 sounds combined. I did not want it to be the sound of a guitar and drums and bass playing. I wanted it to be the sound of the song playing, so you just hear one big, massive instrument grinding out this song. You can imagine it sort of all coming from one enormous source, where you just hear an infinite Gold! From the interview with the onion: Every melody line is composed of like 40 sounds combined. I did not want it to be the sound of a guitar and drums and bass playing. I wanted it to be the sound of the song playing, so you just hear one big, massive instrument grinding out this song. You can imagine it sort of all coming from one enormous source, where you just hear an infinite expanse of a million things all happening in perfect unison, all laid out in front of you. Perfect description! Expand
  16. Johnny
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Listen, if the listeners have fun then the music is fun. I've seen him live 3 times and he gives you your money's worth every time. This is one of my favorite albums of all time.
  17. BenA
    Apr 21, 2005
    8
    Not a musical masterpiece, but it isn't supposed to be. What it is however is great fun for people who don't need soul-searching lyrics to PARTY HARD.
  18. MattS
    Jul 13, 2004
    9
    Andrew WK friggin rules. The cd makes me so happy every time I see it spinning and playing wonderful sounds. Andrew WK for life. I love you Andrew. Thank You.
  19. GaborA
    Apr 27, 2004
    0
    Another entry to the if you listen to this then you should be shot list.
  20. Yuri
    Apr 8, 2004
    0
    hate him...
  21. IanG
    Jan 8, 2004
    10
    Cometh the year, cometh the Darkness. But Andrew WK did it first, revitalising metal in a way that has to be heard to be believed. To list the highlights is really to list all but a couple of the tracks (the last one's a bit suspect), but the title track is a work of genius, and 'Party Hard' deserves to be an even bigger anthem than it is.
  22. ericeric
    Sep 21, 2003
    0
    This is not music.
  23. MichaelE.
    Aug 19, 2002
    9
    If you realize that even he doesn't take his style of music that seriously, it's one of the most enjoyable rock albums ever.
  24. LilliLovesEm
    Jun 14, 2002
    10
    he's hot, he raps great, and he's funny....what else do ya want?
  25. Alex
    May 16, 2002
    1
    I give everything the benefit of the doubt.. but this sucks! I want my money back!
  26. TurdFerguson
    Apr 18, 2002
    8
    Nice sounds, similar to the old days of true metal. At times, they sound like KISS, which to me is a good thing.
  27. Blindspot
    Apr 18, 2002
    1
    The musical equivalent of eating a raw steak. Hackneyed, vapid and humorless, this is the sound of overpowered advertising-grade session musicians paired with a spastic messiah-complexed white boy from middle America. Easy to see why it might work in Non-US countries.
  28. Tap
    Apr 15, 2002
    9
    Every now and then someone comes along with a sound so different, so unique, so revolutionary that it changes that it freakin rearranges the mountains on the rock landscape. This is a fun album to listen to until that record comes around.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. So then, what is the excuse for a typically elitist music nerd to bow to Andrew WK's blistering tard-rock? That's right, folks: there isn't one.
  2. At its best, WK's music is a refreshing blast of skanky air on the current stale music scene, but at its worst, it's disappointingly monotonous, unoriginal, and very, very dumb.
  3. Blender
    60
    Those in search of a gloriously moronic keg-party soundtrack will wet themselves with pleasure. [Apr/May 2002, p.112]