I Know What Love Isn't

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
Buy On
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    50
    At the end of the album, no stone on the topic of love and disillusionment feels unturned. Such is the strange comfort of blanket statements, but Lekman's fans may still feel the pea-like irritant of stories lanky and untold.
  2. Mojo
    Sep 19, 2012
    60
    [Lekman] delivers a buoyant, frankly heart-wrenching, autobiographical album. [Oct 2012, p.86]
  3. Q Magazine
    Sep 6, 2012
    60
    Though twee-o-phobes may baulk at the confessional tone, wit and self-deprecation win the day. [Oct 2012, p.105]
  4. A chastened affair: instrumentally pared-back, vocally wan and full of unremarkable Brill-Building-meets-Belle-and-Sebastian ditties.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    On this third album nothing quite matches the second track, Erica America, for subtlety, its delicately anguished lyric set to a lush, Richard Carpenter-style melody.
  6. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    He still packs dense short stories into each track, but without the humor the drama sometimes falls flat.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 10, 2012
    10
  2. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    Each album of Jens' has taken me some time to fall in love with, but all this took was one thorough listen through. That's the thing aboutEach album of Jens' has taken me some time to fall in love with, but all this took was one thorough listen through. That's the thing about Jens, he's a grower - not a show-er. Full Review »
  3. Sep 4, 2012
    9
    Is funny but everytime i approach a new Jens Lekman album for the first hour i feel a bit disappointed...but then something start sneakingIs funny but everytime i approach a new Jens Lekman album for the first hour i feel a bit disappointed...but then something start sneaking inside my mind and memories and again i find his poetic so sophisticately naive that i start waiting for the next one. Full Review »