I Know What Love Isn't Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Swedish singer-songwriter's first album in five years was influenced by a break-up.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    This minor genius from Gothenburg hurdles over [the heartbreak record] as effortlessly and charmingly as his livelier material. [No.91 p.58]
  2. Sep 4, 2012
    82
    The record sounds crisp, expensive even, but it never sounds slick or soulless.
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    80
    I Know What Love Isn't is Lekman gracefully coming to terms with the breakup, and his lyrical and musical variations on this fixation keep the album compelling.
  4. Sep 7, 2012
    77
    Even when he focuses his unflagging talents within fixed bounds, Lekman's still one of the most distinct and observant writers in indie rock today.
  5. Sep 14, 2012
    70
    Snatches of flute, sax, and female vocal harmony vocals add sympathetic colour to these sad yet inquisitive songs. [Oct 2012, p.83]
  6. Sep 7, 2012
    70
    Through it all, Lekman's wit remains intact.
  7. Oct 16, 2012
    50
    At the end of the album, no stone on the topic of love and disillusionment feels unturned. Such is the strange comfort of blanket statements, but Lekman's fans may still feel the pea-like irritant of stories lanky and untold.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    9
    Is funny but everytime i approach a new Jens Lekman album for the first hour i feel a bit disappointed...but then something start sneaking inside my mind and memories and again i find his poetic so sophisticately naive that i start waiting for the next one. Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    Each album of Jens' has taken me some time to fall in love with, but all this took was one thorough listen through. That's the thing about Jens, he's a grower - not a show-er. Expand