I Know You're Married But I've Got Feelings Too Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sophomore album for the sister of Rufus Wainwright includes a track written by Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Married improves even on Wainwright’s excellent 2005 debut. It’s a more subtle, diverse, self-assured affair.
  2. The Canadian-American boho remains as feisty and red-blooded as ever, her hewn-from-marble voice--part-cowgirl part-Patti Smith--crooning and bawling tales of feckless lads and late night disappointments.
  3. Wainwright's songs are tight, cohesive and show real emotion.
  4. It's the bolder likes of 'In the Middle of the Night' and 'I Wish I Were' where she really leaves her mark, somewhere between Patti Smith and ghost of Edith Piaf. [June 20008, p.148]
  5. While the moments she sings about are awkward, the settings are not.
  6. 70
    She still goes into circles sometimes, but you might too if you could roll a phrase around your tongue the way Wainwright can. [July 2008, p.77]
  7. 40
    This misfires more than its hits home. [June 2008, p.108]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. ColinB.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Extraordinary. Emotional as sound.
  2. HugoF
    May 24, 2008
    10
    This is album of the year material. Just like her debut, it takes some time to fully understand it, and that's why it's so rewarding. "Hearts Club Band" alone is worth the price. Collapse
  3. wierdfish7
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Martha is getting even better!
  4. BlairS.
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    Absolutely fantastic so much growth from miss Martha. really gained the best assets from her voice.. wispy and folksy, to quick and rocking. whatever she needs to be. Fierce, girl. Expand
  5. ChadS
    Jun 13, 2008
    7
    I haven't thought about Juice Newton since the Reagan administration. And then I played the cover of The Eurhythmics' "Love is a Stranger". And then I started hummin' "Queen of Hearts". In the battle of Pink Floyd covers with Dar Williams (she recorded "Comfortably Numb"), Dar wins, but tackling Syd Barrett-era Floyd is a lot cooler. "See Emily Play" rocks. Unlike this songwriter's debut, there are two tracks that sound radio-friendly. "You Cheated Me" is too friendly, but "Comin' Tonight" has the right amount of raunch. Jenny Lewis of Rilo Kiley could have written this. That's an improvement, because Sarah McLachlan could have written "You Cheated Me". Although nothing on "I know you're married but I've got feelings too" bests the Mary Margaret O'Hara-inspired "Factory", there seems to be less filler on album number two. But it's slicker. And I miss the profanity. Sister of Rufus, daughter of Loudon, is proving to be a very capable songwriter. Expand
  6. RobbieC
    Jul 16, 2008
    5
    Not a fan. Liked her brother's first couple of records. Can't get into his new stuff. CAN'T get into her. Maybe later.