I Look To You

  • Record Label: Sony BMG
  • Release Date: Aug 31, 2009
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 67
  2. Negative: 3 out of 67

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CharlesF
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    For once, the music industry hype is actually warranted. Whitney Houston's "I Look To You" is a well produced, well written, and most importantly well sung musical wonder It's eclectic sounds of old school r&b, neo-soul, and grade A pop comprise a stellar album. A triumphant success and hard earned comeback for one of the greatest vocalists of all time.
  2. Singer
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Great album! Worth It, CAll You Tonight, Nothing But Love, Million Dollar Bill, Salute......hotness!
  3. KimberlyP.
    Sep 2, 2009
    9
    This is without a doubt, Whitney's most solid and complete piece of work. Her previous album had killer singles but lacked consistency and unity. With 'I Look To You', she finally made a real and back to back strong record. As a whole it takes you into a journey filled with ups and downs and by the end it gives u a positive 'last laugh' message. It's an epic This is without a doubt, Whitney's most solid and complete piece of work. Her previous album had killer singles but lacked consistency and unity. With 'I Look To You', she finally made a real and back to back strong record. As a whole it takes you into a journey filled with ups and downs and by the end it gives u a positive 'last laugh' message. It's an epic and strong 'comeback', honestly, the best we have seen in recent years. 'Call You Tonight', 'I Look To You', 'A Song For You', 'Nothin' But Love' and 'I Didn't Know My Own Strength' are already signature hits to her catalog. Expand
  4. Nat
    Sep 3, 2009
    9
    'I Look to You' is easily Whitney's most cohesive and satisfying album in a decade. The years have weathered her voice, but it remains a singularly expressive instrument. This is a contemporary pop soul album, of course. That seems a market imperative. But within that limited framework, she and the producers find ways of telling her story that are rarely maudlin or dull. 'I Look to You' is easily Whitney's most cohesive and satisfying album in a decade. The years have weathered her voice, but it remains a singularly expressive instrument. This is a contemporary pop soul album, of course. That seems a market imperative. But within that limited framework, she and the producers find ways of telling her story that are rarely maudlin or dull. The standouts for me are the badass funk disco of 'Million Dollar Bill', the Erasure meets tropical beat underpinning the stellar 'Nothin But Love', the unabashed abba-esque take on Leon Russell's 'A Song For You' (crazy I know, but it totally works), and the tailor-made gospel testimony of David Foster/Diane Warren's "I Didn't Know My Own Strength'. Expand
  5. tinad
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    I think that Whitney's I look to You is her most autobigraphical and personal album yet. From the ballads, I look to you, and I didn't know my own strength, you can feel through her voice, her struggles, her lowpoints, how she got to know that she was strong and who she looked to for help. While A song for you will never touch her masterful rendition that she did at the welcome I think that Whitney's I look to You is her most autobigraphical and personal album yet. From the ballads, I look to you, and I didn't know my own strength, you can feel through her voice, her struggles, her lowpoints, how she got to know that she was strong and who she looked to for help. While A song for you will never touch her masterful rendition that she did at the welcome home heroes show, it is unique and beautiful in it's own way and somehow the lyrics now fit her life at this stage more, '..I've been so many places in my life and time, sung a lot of songs, made some bad rhyme....and when my life is over, remember when we were alone, i was singing this song for you..'. there is a haunting quality to her voice when she sings this and then it breaks into a more upbeat dance number that is more triumphant. For the Lovers sees Houston belting, 'throw your hands up, for the next 3 mins this is for the lovers' this thumping number will have you on the dance floor and people will see why she is just as good on dance tracks- the Voice is very powerful here and the phrasing is great. There are other strong songs such as Worth it' and Call you tonight as well, The set closes out with the song 'Salute' that just seems to be about her telling her ex- husband that she made it just fine without him and that he can leave and go on out the door now. This is a strong album, surprisingly by Houston and there are many, many good songs on it. This is an album that i don't skip any tracks which for me is rare- If you listen without prejudice and try not to compare her to her 20's which is silly, you will enjoy an awesome album by Houston who lets us into her life more than she has in the pass. Expand
  6. R.D.
    Sep 8, 2009
    7
    The album, as a whole, successfully allow for a solid comeback. But it's in its deconstruction to analyze the parts where you'd find a few flaws, mainly, Ms. Houston voice comes out raspy in some notes where you can tell that wasn't the intention. But as a final product, it's a solid one, and I can totally visualize a couple of songs being borrowed for the soundtrack The album, as a whole, successfully allow for a solid comeback. But it's in its deconstruction to analyze the parts where you'd find a few flaws, mainly, Ms. Houston voice comes out raspy in some notes where you can tell that wasn't the intention. But as a final product, it's a solid one, and I can totally visualize a couple of songs being borrowed for the soundtrack of Sex and the City 2. My favorite is the ninth track "For the lovers", so rhythmic, yet smooth and catchy. Expand
  7. HenrikM
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    This is her 2nd best album, right after My Love Is Your Love. Standout tracks include I Got You, Nothin' But Love & Call You Tonight.
  8. VangelisP.
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    Very good! "I got you" is an amazing song.
  9. TonyM.
    Sep 1, 2009
    8
    Very, very good.
  10. PedroJ.
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    I Love this CD.... It´s one of her best ever.....The voice is not the same.... But she is singing better the 99% of the singers that we listen on the radio.... Call You Tonight, Nothing But Love, Worth It, For The Lovers, Mill Dollar Bill, A Song For YoU and Salute are the standout tracks.....
  11. RogerJ.
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    I am thrilled to see that Whitney is finally back. The songs on this CD clearly reflect all of the hurt and trauma that she has experienced in recent years. My favourite track is "Salute" in which I can only assume that she is saying goodbye to the most negative influence in her life to date.....that loser Bobby Brown. Good riddance and thank God that she's free at last!!! Welcome I am thrilled to see that Whitney is finally back. The songs on this CD clearly reflect all of the hurt and trauma that she has experienced in recent years. My favourite track is "Salute" in which I can only assume that she is saying goodbye to the most negative influence in her life to date.....that loser Bobby Brown. Good riddance and thank God that she's free at last!!! Welcome back Whitney and God bless. Expand
  12. ANTHONYb
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    I love the new cd! Great to have her back and can't wait to hear her in concert. Like she never left:-)
  13. JamesV.
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    One of her best. Soulful, emotional, great lyrics and melodies. Welcome back Whitney and good music. My favorites are Call You Tonight, Worth It, A Song For You and Million Dollar Bill..
  14. JadyD.
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    I really have fallen in love with this album, I wasn't sure what to expect, but it is really well put together, and it hits home. I congratulate you whitney on making a classic soul record. "you got me" on your corner with this one.
  15. AlexS.
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    Pleasantly surprised by this album.
  16. ET
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    Let's be clear, this isn't vintage Whitney and certainly not Whitney at her prime. But she still can sing circles around 99% of contemporary/popular artists of this generation. While I think some of the ballads are cheesy, all of the music utilized Whitney's voice as it remains today. She sounds best on Worth It (almost vintage) but all songs are enjoyable.
  17. RashaanM.
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    I couldnt have asked for more... wait I guess I could. The only things missing from this album are Darkchild and Babyface. Other than that, its almost perfect.
  18. MichelleJ
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    Luv it to bits. Her voice is strangely captivating. It's not what it's used to be, but there's certain something that will keep you listening.
  19. JeremyM.
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    RETURN OF THE DIVA!!! Seriously - this is a stand-out album of solid material, delivered by a singer who, at her prime, was THE most unrivaled singer in modern popular culture. While THE VOICE isn't what it was several years ago, she's got a husky soul sound that only deepens her always exquisite lyrical interpretations. This is Whitney at her best. PURE Diva!
  20. DD.
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    Whitney is hawwwt, y'all! She brang it hard on this one!! The Bomb!!!! Go Nippy! Comeback of the decade!!
  21. JoshG.
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    I bought this album for my wife and honestly, I was never a Whitney Houston fan but these songs are so cool, catchy and anyone who has ever been through though times needs to BUY THIS CD. We play it all the time!
  22. michaelg
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    A rare true gem! in a day and age where all the sounds you hear are robotized to perfection, I look to you is a refreshing exception. the whole album is a mirror of Whitney Houston's triumphant journey from hell and back. her wounds are proudly in display with a defiant scream of an angel with clipped wings. the songs do not soar to heavens but sails right through the heart. an A rare true gem! in a day and age where all the sounds you hear are robotized to perfection, I look to you is a refreshing exception. the whole album is a mirror of Whitney Houston's triumphant journey from hell and back. her wounds are proudly in display with a defiant scream of an angel with clipped wings. the songs do not soar to heavens but sails right through the heart. an amazing sonic experience like tasting a century old wine. Expand
  23. JasonC
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    This is the best album of 2009 so far. The melodies, the grooves, and the vocals are so fresh and refined. It's magic to witness this new era of Whitney Houston. Stand outs include Call You Tonight, Million Dollar Bill, Salute, For The Lovers and I Got You!
  24. Phranxisf.
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    If anyone is seeking to hear another "I'll Always Love You" or "I Have Nothing" on this album, then I am sorry to say they will disappointed. However, if anyone seeks to hear a Whitney that has been through so much and having scars from personal battles fought, then this is the IT album. Personally, its a great set of tracks! I agree that the voice has changed....but what is gone in If anyone is seeking to hear another "I'll Always Love You" or "I Have Nothing" on this album, then I am sorry to say they will disappointed. However, if anyone seeks to hear a Whitney that has been through so much and having scars from personal battles fought, then this is the IT album. Personally, its a great set of tracks! I agree that the voice has changed....but what is gone in terms of range and power is replaced by passion, emotion and some sexiness younguns of today can only hope for. I am still rooting for a Grammy for this album and I know, that some young hopefuls will be singing songs from this album on the next American Idol season. So so happy she is back and I know now what she is here...its gonna be hit after hit and maybe a movie soon. Best tracks are......Call You Tonight, Worth It, I Got You and Salute!!! Expand
  25. johnnym.
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    The best album of the year. Whitney sings with so much soul and passion that she makes you forgive her for not hitting more high notes. Welcome back whitney. My Top 5 songs are A song for you, I got you, I didn't know my own strength, Worth it and the magnificent SALUTE. Great job.
  26. TifanyJ
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    I absolutely LOVE this album! This new Whitney "sound" is so raw, vulnerable, emotional, and breathtaking. She truly is channeling her emotions in every single track! You can hear how rich her voice is in songs like IDKMOS, ASFY, and IGY. It's great to have good music with great lyric and melodies that people of every age and culture can relate to. Congrats Whitney on a spectacular I absolutely LOVE this album! This new Whitney "sound" is so raw, vulnerable, emotional, and breathtaking. She truly is channeling her emotions in every single track! You can hear how rich her voice is in songs like IDKMOS, ASFY, and IGY. It's great to have good music with great lyric and melodies that people of every age and culture can relate to. Congrats Whitney on a spectacular album. Wish you nothing but the best! Expand
  27. LS
    Sep 3, 2009
    9
    Yes, I loved the old voice, but I really can't complain about what she's doing with the new one. This was a great way to say, "I'm back." I love Nothin But Love, For The Lovers, Call You Tonight, and Worth It the best.
  28. BrendonB.
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    Strong effort from the premier diva of song. Highlights are SALUTE, WORTH IT, NOTHIN' BUT LOVE and MILLION DOLLAR BILL. Whitney's voice has aged like a fine wine, and is now sultry, deep and in my opinion even more soulful. These songs fit her like a custom suit, and it's great to have her back!
  29. AndréS.
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    This is a super modern but still timeless album by the voice that redefined pop singing. She's still at her very best and still unbeatable.
  30. miN.
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Wonderfull album, just love it!!!
  31. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    the album one of the best of his career but with a grave lack of producers for the album that had a global boom had released more singles because there are many great songs. Whitney's voice is magical and captivates you one of the best albums of the 2000s.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Whitney Houston's first album in seven years, doesn't pretend to offer the unblemished 21-year-old we met on her smash 1985 debut, but it never?truly lets listeners inside the heart and head of the woman she is today.
  2. Though I Look to You doesn't soar like the old days, it's fine to hear Houston working on her own recovery plan.
  3. For the most part, I Look to You manages to sound completely contemporary without the use of guest rappers, dumbed-down lyrics, or slang.