I Love You, Dude

  • Record Label: Downtown
  • Release Date: Jul 5, 2011
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Uncut
    Jul 28, 2011
    60
    It's far from original, but nonetheless highly effective, and the sweaty, lad-friendly nature of the title betrays its inherent good humour. [Aug 2011, p.82]
  2. Q Magazine
    Jun 29, 2011
    60
    It's heavy-hitting, but the price paid is the loss of the subtle details that made them unique. [Jul 2011, p.111]
  3. 60
    Yet cringingly vibed-up first words aside – where we're also leaving the Eurovision cheese of 2 Hearts--the follow-up to 2007's debut, Idealism, is not all bad.
  4. Jun 27, 2011
    60
    Digitalism is at their best when immersing themselves in the trappings and embellishments of full-blown electronica, and they tend to suffer when trying to escape them.
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    60
    The only real fault with I Love You, Dude (apart from the title) is that it becomes too familiar over the course of a whole album. Slim down the 10 tracks, though, and you've got the perfect party EP.
  6. Mojo
    Jun 21, 2011
    60
    German electro poppers making a play for the festival crowds. [July 2011, p. 102]
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    50
    The record is obvious and contrived; but bass is bass, a drop is a drop, and a banger is a banger – no matter how much guilt the enjoyment brings.
  8. Jun 22, 2011
    50
    I Love You, Dude feels as blunt and oafish as its name, and weirdly dated in its sonic palette. Sporadically engaging, but sadly nothing more.
  9. Jun 24, 2011
    44
    I Love You, Dude doesn't shake off the confines of genre to reveal a shiny new pop act underneath. Nor does it meaningfully improve on Digitalism's previous formulas.
  10. Jul 14, 2011
    40
    The only tracks that don't make us cringe are the back-to-basics club bangers likely added to pad out the album, and even those don't contain anything to get excited about. Someone needs to explain to Digitalism that it's way too soon for mid-00s retro.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Yes, this is not the most original album of the century, but it is still great. Sometimes, we don't need big heavy sensible subjects orYes, this is not the most original album of the century, but it is still great. Sometimes, we don't need big heavy sensible subjects or meanings in a artwork. Sometimes, we just want some kick ass tunes to forget all our life preoccupations, that's what you get primarily with this music album. Thank you Digitalism. Full Review »
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    This album is getting panned by the critics for one reason and one reason only. Its a good album. If you liked they're previous album. This is better.