I Love You

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Apr 23, 2013
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    70
    While they could go darker, grizzlier, or even shinier, I Love You achieves what few debuts can, by making one hell of an opening statement.
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    Although the words to the song Afraid might suggest the Neighbourhood's singer and main lyricist, Jesse Rutherford, can't be older than 14, this LA outfit are actually in their 20s. And there's more in the same pubescent vein as their debut album progresses.
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    50
    Ultimately, I Love You. is an extremely flawed debut with good intentions.
  4. Apr 24, 2013
    50
    The band does black and white, but nothing in between.
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    50
    If the production had been a little more restrained and the band had written a few songs that didn't sound like they were meant to be played by U2 after a couple days spent listening to Top 40 radio, the album might not have been quite the heavy and ponderous thing it is.
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    50
    Flashes here and there suggest that The Neighbourhood are capable of writing good pop music. It’s just that they miss the target far too much.
  7. Q Magazine
    May 13, 2013
    40
    Much as their guitars cascade and their lyrics have a dark undertow, there's too much heavy-footed stodginess, notably in the plodding Staying Up, to make them truly engaging. [Jun 2013, p.103]
  8. Apr 22, 2013
    30
    Lyrically, the album only deteriorates into further embarrassment.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    This is a pretty solid album. The critic reviews don't do it justice. Yes, the lyrics are ridiculously shallow, but the overall sound of theThis is a pretty solid album. The critic reviews don't do it justice. Yes, the lyrics are ridiculously shallow, but the overall sound of the band is very easy to listen to and enjoy. I made an account just to review this album and show that it is really not that bad. They are obviously talented and good at writing catchy songs. I'm just trying to warn those deterred by the low score. THIS IS NOT A BAD ALBUM. The critics reviews are exactly that...critical. If you are younger and enjoy pop rock akin to the Summer Set, Foster the People, and Neon Trees, this is for you! Give it a chance! Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2014
    3
    I think these songs had a lot of potential, but they are drowned out and diluted by over production, and a muttery vocalist. I mean, sure II think these songs had a lot of potential, but they are drowned out and diluted by over production, and a muttery vocalist. I mean, sure I love Sweater Weather for its originality, but you can throw away every other track on the album. The lyrics, especially to "Afraid" sound like a nursery rhyme. You can do two things: Hope there sophomore release is way better than this, or completely take the Neighbourhood completely off your radar. This is coming from an adolescent male. Full Review »
  3. Feb 23, 2014
    5
    After listening to Sweater Weather, I decided to listen to the entire album. But i was disappointed. Sweater Weather was the best track in theAfter listening to Sweater Weather, I decided to listen to the entire album. But i was disappointed. Sweater Weather was the best track in the album, and the rest of the tracks were either dragging, badly written, or plagued with weak instrumentation. Full Review »