I Love You

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
I Love You Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length release for the Los Angeles-based indie rock quintet led by Jesse Rutherford.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    70
    While they could go darker, grizzlier, or even shinier, I Love You achieves what few debuts can, by making one hell of an opening statement.
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    Although the words to the song Afraid might suggest the Neighbourhood's singer and main lyricist, Jesse Rutherford, can't be older than 14, this LA outfit are actually in their 20s. And there's more in the same pubescent vein as their debut album progresses.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    50
    Flashes here and there suggest that The Neighbourhood are capable of writing good pop music. It’s just that they miss the target far too much.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    50
    If the production had been a little more restrained and the band had written a few songs that didn't sound like they were meant to be played by U2 after a couple days spent listening to Top 40 radio, the album might not have been quite the heavy and ponderous thing it is.
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    50
    Ultimately, I Love You. is an extremely flawed debut with good intentions.
  6. Q Magazine
    May 13, 2013
    40
    Much as their guitars cascade and their lyrics have a dark undertow, there's too much heavy-footed stodginess, notably in the plodding Staying Up, to make them truly engaging. [Jun 2013, p.103]
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    30
    Lyrically, the album only deteriorates into further embarrassment.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    Well, musical metacritic can't rate any music.
    You should not appreciate the albums just because of lyrics as song rhythm, instrumental sound
    Well, musical metacritic can't rate any music.
    You should not appreciate the albums just because of lyrics as song rhythm, instrumental sound and singer voice are as important as lyrics.
    The album songs are soothing and enjoyable, they create some atmosphere that allows every listener to join such a beautiful musical trip.
    Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2015
    10
    This **** is so good. I love this album, because it sets the mood for a nice autumn day and for sweater weather of course. anyway, yea lol, iThis **** is so good. I love this album, because it sets the mood for a nice autumn day and for sweater weather of course. anyway, yea lol, i just wanted to give a rating not review Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    I can't believe how incredibly facile the critics are that reviewed this album were.

    If you were to actually listen to the themes the
    I can't believe how incredibly facile the critics are that reviewed this album were.

    If you were to actually listen to the themes the reason for the apparently "immature" writing become quite obvious. This album is autobiographical, starting in the preteen years, the loss of religion/faith (How), pre-teen and teen relations and rivals(Afraid and Everybody's Watching Me), puppy love (Sweater Weather), still working on Let it Go. Then moves on to childhood reflection in Alleyways, where the teen starts to think back on simpler times in life. Then more mature relationships problems reveal themselves in WDYWFM, and first true love in Flawless. Female Robbery deals with depression in the aftermath of losing that first love. The songwriter then shows how they dealt with that depression through music in Staying up and reflecting on the childs past as they move on into adulthood with Float.

    You might notice that the use of sophomoric cussing and phrasing starts to change at the end of the album.

    All the songs are EXTREMELY strong musically, and the mix of Indie and hip-hop type beats really make for a fairly unique sound that fails to bore. The vocals are pleasing and the pacing of the album makes for a good full listen.

    What makes for a better freshman album than the actual freshman perspective?
    Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    Overall, The Neighbourhood’s debut attempt was not bad. They really do have their own creative sound and style. However, they should expandOverall, The Neighbourhood’s debut attempt was not bad. They really do have their own creative sound and style. However, they should expand more on these sounds and styles and especially lyrics Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2014
    6
    A sometimes intoxicating album that tricks you into thinking that it could be groundbreaking, but leads to an overly hyped outcome. I'm notA sometimes intoxicating album that tricks you into thinking that it could be groundbreaking, but leads to an overly hyped outcome. I'm not saying this album is garbage, and by no means is that the truth, but I just wish that this would've came out years before. Artists such as Vampire Weekend or The XX drown out The Neighbourhood and make them feel obsolete. With all that being said, this is still a worthy listen. Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2013
    6
    It's easy to fall for The Neighbourhood's intoxicating sound, but the immature lyrics fail to sustain the seemingly meaningful vocals. BesidesIt's easy to fall for The Neighbourhood's intoxicating sound, but the immature lyrics fail to sustain the seemingly meaningful vocals. Besides the tracks from their EP, I'm Sorry..., I Love You is much weaker than it should've been. Collapse
  7. May 10, 2014
    3
    I think these songs had a lot of potential, but they are drowned out and diluted by over production, and a muttery vocalist. I mean, sure II think these songs had a lot of potential, but they are drowned out and diluted by over production, and a muttery vocalist. I mean, sure I love Sweater Weather for its originality, but you can throw away every other track on the album. The lyrics, especially to "Afraid" sound like a nursery rhyme. You can do two things: Hope there sophomore release is way better than this, or completely take the Neighbourhood completely off your radar. This is coming from an adolescent male. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews