I Might Be Wrong: Live Recordings Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Recorded during a 2000-2001 European tour, Radiohead's first live album contains just eight tracks: seven songs culled from 'Kid A' and 'Amnesiac,' plus long-time live staple "True Love Waits."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    This album contains just eight tracks--but each one of them is a testament to the unshakable power of the group.
  2. Why limit this disc to just 40 minutes? [7 Dec 2001, p.105]
  3. If their recent studio work has been distinguished by additive, layer-by-layer composition, in concert Radiohead's magic comes from subtraction: The elegy "Like Spinning Plates" relies almost entirely on Yorke's famously anguished voice.
  4. 'I Might Be Wrong' sounds significantly better than both of the studio albums that spawned it.
  5. Though marred by characteristically unrevealing packaging and inexplicable brevity, I Might Be Wrong casts new light on the band's much-examined recent material
  6. Sounds how Radiohead should sound live: brutal (the cacophonous sample layering in “Everything in its Right Place”), catchy (the bass line of “I Might Be Wrong”), danceable (the beats on “Idioteque”) and mesmerizing (the simplicity of “True Love Waits”).
  7. 40
    It's a puzzler.... Given brilliant execution, no doubt we'd still have come out with out hands up. Instead, it's patchy and the worst comes first. [Dec 2001, p.114]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. EricD.
    Nov 12, 2001
    10
    Proof that critics are silly, and fail to admit their inacuracies with so-called "reviews" (more like unfounded opinions) of Kid A and Amnesiac. And that goes for those who were favorable too. Silly music critics. Expand
  2. AnnaH.
    Nov 11, 2001
    10
    All of Radiohead's music is good. Very sensual.
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    A great live album gives a more human aspect to the electronic style of the studio albums Kid A and Amnesiac. I usually don't revisit live albums very often as they tend to be overly long and rarely have the same fluidity as studio albums. Typical of Radiohead, this is unlike most live albums. Usually based on career spanning setlists, this is limited to tracks from 2 albums and it's also quite short. It's a great snapshot of where the band were while touring their 2 most experimental albums. Funnily, the highlights on this are where the band go back to basics - there is a sublime version of Like Spinning Plates and also includes the beautiful "lost song" True Love Waits. Collapse
  4. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    I actually like many of these songs better live than on the studio album, which I rarely do. I never would have bought it, but I got it as a gift and love it. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    This live EP is a must-have for two reasons. It proves Kid A and Amnesiac were not only stunning experiments but made for fantastic live music pulled-off and performed seamlessly. And it proves why Amnesiac will always be rated lower than this and Kid A when you hear the near unrecognizable brilliance of Like Spinning Plates live. Expand
  6. MichaelE.
    Aug 3, 2002
    7
    Radiohead adds live to its songs what the albums may have lacked: pure rock n roll energy. And they don't even bother to reproduce the extensive studio effects. But it's so short and limited! Expand
  7. SteveY.
    Jan 3, 2002
    6
    I have been a mad Radiohead fan since the release of The Bends, this is the first Radiohead CD that has disappointed me. The great live versions of Like Spinning Plates and True Love Waits are almost worth the money on their own for Radiohead fanatics, but the other 6 tracks are nothing special, I prefer the album versions. The main reason I rate this so lowly is that it's such a missed opportunity. I have a hard disk full of bootleg Radiohead MP3s of their various live and unreleased tracks. There are dozens that I think are much better than the tracks on I Might Be Wrong. The live version of National Anthem Radiohead used is one of the least interesting I have heard. Only putting 8 tracks on the CD doesn't seem very generous when you consider how many great Radiohead recordings are around. If there were a few more unreleased tracks, b-sides, or maybe some live versions of OK Computer songs then I would have given this a much higher rating. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews