I Never Learn - Lykke Li
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 91
    The music might seem cold, but when you’re surrounded by it, enveloped in it, it can keep you warm, too, like a glacier cave or an igloo.
  2. May 19, 2014
    90
    There is something effortlessly contagious and opulent about her melodies and cozy rhythmic kink. [No. 109, p.57]
  3. May 7, 2014
    90
    I Never Learn is a brave album--it could very well alienate more fans than it brings in. But Li's songwriting is exquisite in its vulnerability; she has never sounded more sure of her aesthetic than she does in her most miserable moment. Like Beyonce's self-titled LP last year, this is a "grown-woman" album, but one focused on the sobering end of youth rather than the blissful beginnings of adulthood.
  4. May 5, 2014
    90
    Each song feels carefully placed, but many end abruptly, leaving something unfinished.
  5. May 2, 2014
    90
    The nine songs gathered on her third record beautifully convey heartache, loss and desolation. It’s not just in the songwriting--although, that is, of course, wonderful. It’s also in the production.
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    90
    This is 100% bittersweet, but it's honest, it's genuine and we see Li's true colours, hopefully shining back on us.
  7. 88
    A compact, nine-song, 32-minute album that suggests an artist just hitting her stride, Li's new album seems to have pinpointed the locus of power in her voice.
  8. May 5, 2014
    84
    We’re used to breakup albums that assume you just want to crawl into a hole and die, but I Never Learn is for the times when heartbreak is so life-affirming that you want to share the feeling with the world.
  9. Jun 18, 2014
    82
    The words would be perhaps somewhat unremarkable without the grandiose sweep of sonic majesty that surrounds them.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    7
    The swedish songstress Lykke Li delivers her most saddest and heartfelt record yet.
    An organic and cohesive set of piece, with one of the
    The swedish songstress Lykke Li delivers her most saddest and heartfelt record yet.
    An organic and cohesive set of piece, with one of the better singel's to face 2014 with "Love Me Like I'm Not Made Of Stone". A beautiful and emotional song featuring loose acoustic guitars and with a raw Li who's voice cracks open for a lover, lyrically about a dying love she's seeing un-touchable in near future. In my opinion, a new topping hit for Lykke Li. A tear-jerker at it's finest, and a much better of it we will not get from this year, surely.

    While "I Never Learn" holds beauty upon it's hands, such as the stand-out "No Rest For The Wicked" where we find Li with intriguing melodies and instrumentals, the latter of it is what the record has it's bigger flaws. At times, over-saturating her voice till it only sees itself being background noise.
    The production is not necessarily bad, at all, I enjoy the stripped mood all through, but with lush instrumentals and the reverb effects, the rawness of the tunes looses the better grit as the previously mentioned highlights of the album had to offer. Lykke Li, herself even has her lower, and less interesting pen-moments as the closer "Sleeping Alone".

    But with that being said, when Li is at her best, as the sweet and most pop-py sounding, sonically and vocally "Gunshot" it is phenomenal and one memorable anthem after another. "I Never Learn" is less technical but more of a simpel straightforward and heartbroken Lykke Li, which is not a bad thing, not her best LP to date but maybe her most enjoyable one.
    Full Review »
  2. May 9, 2014
    9
    Whilst it might technically be her least successful album, this is not a technical album. It's all about heart here, and Lykke proves sheWhilst it might technically be her least successful album, this is not a technical album. It's all about heart here, and Lykke proves she really has one and it's really been hurt. Stripped of all pretensions and tricks, this album is pop music at its purest. Simply beautiful. Full Review »
  3. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    Some great pop music in here, accompanied by just-as-great vocals and lyrics about love and heartbreak. My favorite tracks are: the titleSome great pop music in here, accompanied by just-as-great vocals and lyrics about love and heartbreak. My favorite tracks are: the title track, "No Rest for The Wicked", and "Gunshot". The rest is pretty good, too; but not the top. Full Review »