I Never Learn

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 6, 2014
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 104
  2. Negative: 2 out of 104
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    7
    The swedish songstress Lykke Li delivers her most saddest and heartfelt record yet.
    An organic and cohesive set of piece, with one of the better singel's to face 2014 with "Love Me Like I'm Not Made Of Stone". A beautiful and emotional song featuring loose acoustic guitars and with a raw Li who's voice cracks open for a lover, lyrically about a dying love she's seeing un-touchable in near
    The swedish songstress Lykke Li delivers her most saddest and heartfelt record yet.
    An organic and cohesive set of piece, with one of the better singel's to face 2014 with "Love Me Like I'm Not Made Of Stone". A beautiful and emotional song featuring loose acoustic guitars and with a raw Li who's voice cracks open for a lover, lyrically about a dying love she's seeing un-touchable in near future. In my opinion, a new topping hit for Lykke Li. A tear-jerker at it's finest, and a much better of it we will not get from this year, surely.

    While "I Never Learn" holds beauty upon it's hands, such as the stand-out "No Rest For The Wicked" where we find Li with intriguing melodies and instrumentals, the latter of it is what the record has it's bigger flaws. At times, over-saturating her voice till it only sees itself being background noise.
    The production is not necessarily bad, at all, I enjoy the stripped mood all through, but with lush instrumentals and the reverb effects, the rawness of the tunes looses the better grit as the previously mentioned highlights of the album had to offer. Lykke Li, herself even has her lower, and less interesting pen-moments as the closer "Sleeping Alone".

    But with that being said, when Li is at her best, as the sweet and most pop-py sounding, sonically and vocally "Gunshot" it is phenomenal and one memorable anthem after another. "I Never Learn" is less technical but more of a simpel straightforward and heartbroken Lykke Li, which is not a bad thing, not her best LP to date but maybe her most enjoyable one.
    Expand
  2. May 9, 2014
    9
    Whilst it might technically be her least successful album, this is not a technical album. It's all about heart here, and Lykke proves she really has one and it's really been hurt. Stripped of all pretensions and tricks, this album is pop music at its purest. Simply beautiful.
  3. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    Some great pop music in here, accompanied by just-as-great vocals and lyrics about love and heartbreak. My favorite tracks are: the title track, "No Rest for The Wicked", and "Gunshot". The rest is pretty good, too; but not the top.
  4. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    probably my favorite album this year. dark and short, in the years to come this should be known as one of the quintessential love lost albums. at just nine songs, each song has its purpose and will not let go of your ears.
  5. Nov 19, 2015
    8
    Though some songs fall instrumentally flat, the result here is Li's shortest yet most cohesive and heart-breakingly bare album to date. The feelings are as exaggerated as they are completely real and believable.
  6. May 21, 2015
    10
    this album is perfect, is not the best in lykke read more incredible still one of the best indies along with Bjork, florence + the machine, ETC ..., besides being one of the best 2014
  7. Sep 10, 2016
    10
    Lykke Li looked like a wizard at the 2014 Lollapalooza. Her songs went straight to my heart. One of the most exciting singer-songwriter's on the planet. This album, "I Never Learn", is another testament to how much great, great music this relatively new artist churns out! May she howl about broken dreams for a very long time. While others wait for the return of Britney Spears, I am so gladLykke Li looked like a wizard at the 2014 Lollapalooza. Her songs went straight to my heart. One of the most exciting singer-songwriter's on the planet. This album, "I Never Learn", is another testament to how much great, great music this relatively new artist churns out! May she howl about broken dreams for a very long time. While others wait for the return of Britney Spears, I am so glad that there are really talented and substantial artists like Lykke Li making music - for people with some good taste in music - to relish. Expand
  8. Oct 14, 2015
    10
    Lykke Li delivered her best album yet with her third studio album, and one of the best of the century so far. This album is extremely depressing from beginning to end, but has variety in each and every song. Her lyricism waxes poetic all the time, and the production is magical. The album is so cold, but it keeps you so warm, as if its the sting of Lykke's heartbreak that keeps mine fromLykke Li delivered her best album yet with her third studio album, and one of the best of the century so far. This album is extremely depressing from beginning to end, but has variety in each and every song. Her lyricism waxes poetic all the time, and the production is magical. The album is so cold, but it keeps you so warm, as if its the sting of Lykke's heartbreak that keeps mine from hurting as much.

    Just buy this album, right now. This is an amazing record.
    Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jun 18, 2014
    82
    The words would be perhaps somewhat unremarkable without the grandiose sweep of sonic majesty that surrounds them.
  2. Q Magazine
    May 20, 2014
    40
    As a whole, though, I Never Learn wallows too much. [Jun 2014, p.119]
  3. Magnet
    May 19, 2014
    90
    There is something effortlessly contagious and opulent about her melodies and cozy rhythmic kink. [No. 109, p.57]