I Never Learn

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
I Never Learn Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length release for the Swedish singer-songwriter was produced with Björn Yttling and Greg Kurstin.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Electronic, Indie Pop, Swedish Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

No Rest for the Wicked
My one heart hurt another So only one life can't be enough Can you give me just another For that one who got away Lonely I, I'm so alone... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 91
    The music might seem cold, but when you’re surrounded by it, enveloped in it, it can keep you warm, too, like a glacier cave or an igloo.
  2. May 2, 2014
    90
    The nine songs gathered on her third record beautifully convey heartache, loss and desolation. It’s not just in the songwriting--although, that is, of course, wonderful. It’s also in the production.
  3. Jun 18, 2014
    82
    The words would be perhaps somewhat unremarkable without the grandiose sweep of sonic majesty that surrounds them.
  4. Apr 30, 2014
    80
    Just like love itself, it’s an album you will fall for despite (or even because of) its flaws and imperfections as much as the real moments of truth and beauty it provides.
  5. May 7, 2014
    70
    Despite the finality of what’s supposed to be the third installment of a three-part series, I Never Learn promises more in the future as Lykke Li keeps moving along her own singular path, personally and artistically.
  6. May 7, 2014
    60
    When I Never Learn aims for pop, it's the hazy Shangri-Las variety; the melodies are Li's lushest to date, but the smoke never clears around them.
  7. 40
    “I Never Learn” is a gorgeous opener, its fulsome strum of acoustic guitars graced by strings and backing-vocal cooings in anthemic manner; but from there it’s emotional pain writ large, with wan piano lines supplanted by grand, melodramatic resolutions.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 10, 2016
    10
    Lykke Li looked like a wizard at the 2014 Lollapalooza. Her songs went straight to my heart. One of the most exciting singer-songwriter's onLykke Li looked like a wizard at the 2014 Lollapalooza. Her songs went straight to my heart. One of the most exciting singer-songwriter's on the planet. This album, "I Never Learn", is another testament to how much great, great music this relatively new artist churns out! May she howl about broken dreams for a very long time. While others wait for the return of Britney Spears, I am so glad that there are really talented and substantial artists like Lykke Li making music - for people with some good taste in music - to relish. Expand
  2. May 21, 2015
    10
    this album is perfect, is not the best in lykke read more incredible still one of the best indies along with Bjork, florence + the machine,this album is perfect, is not the best in lykke read more incredible still one of the best indies along with Bjork, florence + the machine, ETC ..., besides being one of the best 2014 Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    probably my favorite album this year. dark and short, in the years to come this should be known as one of the quintessential love lost albums.probably my favorite album this year. dark and short, in the years to come this should be known as one of the quintessential love lost albums. at just nine songs, each song has its purpose and will not let go of your ears. Expand
  4. May 9, 2014
    9
    Whilst it might technically be her least successful album, this is not a technical album. It's all about heart here, and Lykke proves sheWhilst it might technically be her least successful album, this is not a technical album. It's all about heart here, and Lykke proves she really has one and it's really been hurt. Stripped of all pretensions and tricks, this album is pop music at its purest. Simply beautiful. Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    Some great pop music in here, accompanied by just-as-great vocals and lyrics about love and heartbreak. My favorite tracks are: the titleSome great pop music in here, accompanied by just-as-great vocals and lyrics about love and heartbreak. My favorite tracks are: the title track, "No Rest for The Wicked", and "Gunshot". The rest is pretty good, too; but not the top. Collapse
  6. Nov 19, 2015
    8
    Though some songs fall instrumentally flat, the result here is Li's shortest yet most cohesive and heart-breakingly bare album to date. TheThough some songs fall instrumentally flat, the result here is Li's shortest yet most cohesive and heart-breakingly bare album to date. The feelings are as exaggerated as they are completely real and believable. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2014
    7
    The swedish songstress Lykke Li delivers her most saddest and heartfelt record yet.
    An organic and cohesive set of piece, with one of the
    The swedish songstress Lykke Li delivers her most saddest and heartfelt record yet.
    An organic and cohesive set of piece, with one of the better singel's to face 2014 with "Love Me Like I'm Not Made Of Stone". A beautiful and emotional song featuring loose acoustic guitars and with a raw Li who's voice cracks open for a lover, lyrically about a dying love she's seeing un-touchable in near future. In my opinion, a new topping hit for Lykke Li. A tear-jerker at it's finest, and a much better of it we will not get from this year, surely.

    While "I Never Learn" holds beauty upon it's hands, such as the stand-out "No Rest For The Wicked" where we find Li with intriguing melodies and instrumentals, the latter of it is what the record has it's bigger flaws. At times, over-saturating her voice till it only sees itself being background noise.
    The production is not necessarily bad, at all, I enjoy the stripped mood all through, but with lush instrumentals and the reverb effects, the rawness of the tunes looses the better grit as the previously mentioned highlights of the album had to offer. Lykke Li, herself even has her lower, and less interesting pen-moments as the closer "Sleeping Alone".

    But with that being said, when Li is at her best, as the sweet and most pop-py sounding, sonically and vocally "Gunshot" it is phenomenal and one memorable anthem after another. "I Never Learn" is less technical but more of a simpel straightforward and heartbroken Lykke Li, which is not a bad thing, not her best LP to date but maybe her most enjoyable one.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews