I Remember Me

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2011
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Mar 31, 2011
    90
    Jennifer Hudson has never sounded better.
  2. Mar 22, 2011
    90
    At their best, Hudson and her collaborators provide the kind of mature R&B that is not felt merely in the mind, throat, chest, or hips but the entire body.
  3. 83
    What's more surprising than the album's existence, though, is that Ms. Iron Pipes finally sounds like she's having some fun.
  4. May 9, 2011
    80
    The Oscar-winner is an understated powerhouse on her second album.
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    75
    Jennifer Hudson's powerful alto isn't built for subtlety, and she uses it to its full potential on I Remember Me, cranking her performance to 11 regardless of whether any given song warrants it. Thankfully, most of the album's tracks deserve such bravado.
  6. Mar 22, 2011
    70
    Thankfully, these are stronger, and Hudson sounds more poised.
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    63
    Hudson has a big, warm, church-trained R&B diva voice, a sure instrument for belting the blues and affirming the spirit. But that voice has never seemed comfortable among the bright shiny toys of a pop studio.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    7
    Even though the production appeals to make it sound commercial, it proves to be a good statement from a true singer. Yes, if her record labelEven though the production appeals to make it sound commercial, it proves to be a good statement from a true singer. Yes, if her record label had given her a little more space to spread out her R&B and soul influences, she probably would've nailed it. Full Review »
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    this is her best album! it is unique, it is her, it is just great! I have always loved Jhud, but this is amazing! Believe is one of the bestthis is her best album! it is unique, it is her, it is just great! I have always loved Jhud, but this is amazing! Believe is one of the best endings of an album I have ever heard, great up tempo songs mixed with ballads, a great balance of the both. Loved it Jhud! Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2011
    1
    Just awful and repetitive. Since apereltly my review is to short i'm going to make myself clear again - ****