• Record Label: Barsuk
  • Release Date: Jan 25, 2005
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RachelS
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    This album is great!!!!!
  2. [Anonymous]
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    this is kind of stuff that's going to put big labels out of business. shit so good that's being produced from some kid's bedroom.
  3. goodbadbunny
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    What's with the Postal Service/Death cab comparisons? The lyrics for suggestion box are a big goofy but catchy. This sounds like Bob Mould doing glitchy synth pop. I keep getting these songs stuck in my head. Also check out the ep.
  4. matta
    Jun 6, 2005
    8
    I'm a little surprised at the postal service/death cab comparisons as well. Some electronic elements, but it's not as soft and dreamy as both of those other bands. May be a little repetitive at times, but is genuinely fun to listen to.
  5. KellyB
    Mar 28, 2005
    9
    Wonderful mix of early 80's synth-pop and lo-fi indie rock...without the irony. Lead singer David Terry, with a real ear for melody, has created an album with genuine heart. After hearing this album, my faith in music has been restored. Finally, a modern day album with more substance than style.
  6. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    This is a great example of bedroom indie-synth-pop. The music is danceable, but the lyrics can really make you think. You can tell he enjoyed making these songs.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. One man has made a beautifully subtle magic in his bedroom studio--and it will be heard on The O.C. in no time.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Quirk-rock fans, rejoice! [28 Jan 2005, p.85]
  3. I Sold Gold is the rare record that can poke fun at itself, the world, and its fans yet transcend simple entertainment.