I Told You I Was Freaky

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
I Told You I Was Freaky Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album for the New Zealand-based duo features songs that appeared in the latest season of their HBO series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. While memories of the accompanying visuals of the jokes from the series helps, it is by no means strictly necessary to enjoy the humor and musicianship of Freaky.
  2. Another dose of brilliant pop parody from the NZ twosome.
  3. Considering the circumstances, FOTC's second Sub-Pop outing, I Told You I Was Freaky, has some worthwhile moments.
  4. Much like the show’s second season, this second disc fails to build on its predecessor, rehashing the same digs at male bravado, emotional insecurity, and musical eccentricity.
  5. If you haven't watched the TV series, what are you supposed to make of Friends, with its weak gag about gay men? Or Petrov, Yelyena, and Me, a gurgling shanty about cannibalism that flounders ­musically and lyrically? But that's the weaker half of the album; the sublime half works irrespective of prior ­knowledge.
  6. Despite the hilarious wordplay though, it's hard to imagine anyone returning over and over to the actual tunes, you're far better off with a DVD and its accompanying visual gags.
  7. As much of Freaky wallows in the jokes, the record runs out of ideas astonishingly early.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of