Ice on the Dune - Empire of the Sun
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    I think this album is almost as good as their first album. I love all the catchy choruses and tracks, probably 10 of the 12 songs are truly great tracks to listen to. Definitely reccommend it to anyone who liked their first album especially, but anyone who likes dance/pop/disco. Luke Steele's vocals truly make the album that much better than if anyone else was singing, though.
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    Empire's second album is everything Walking on a Dream was and more. When Empire of the Sun embarked on the journey of creating Walking on a Dream they wanted to make a sound that had never been done before- and they did. Awaiting the second album from the first album's phenom, fans wanted Walking on a Dream 2.0. Luke Steele explains in interviews he was aware of this ideal that fans wanted but elaborates that progressing as artists, they cannot make the first album twice. They made Ice on the Dune evolving their unique music style which is unlike any other. This album gets a 10 because it executes a concept that cleverly conveys a tone of upbeat mystery. Each instrument and synth has been carefully selected and layered into a blissful wall of sound. The album progresses naturally in a cohesive manner. You will be pleasantly surprised as this album transports you to another world. Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2013
    This album definitely tops the first. Yes, they tried to appeal to the club scene, but, if you're like me and loved the more imaginative songs like "Half Mast", "Without You", and "Tiger by my Side", then I Guarantee you'll love "Surround Sound", "Ill Be Around", and "Keep a Watch". This is an excellent album that you'll never get tired of listening to it.
  4. Jul 8, 2013
    I remember hearing walking on a dream for the first time and being absolutely blown away. After buying the album I was slightly underwhelmed but still really enjoyed a lot of the tracks. This time my expectations were slightly lower but were definitely surpassed. Though there's nothing on here to quite match walking on a dream pretty much every other track is superior to their previous album. Stand out tracks for me are DNA, I'll Be Around and Old Flavours. Overall Brilliant album! Collapse
  5. Nov 15, 2013
    Although the album may appear flat upon a first listen, there are songs that overall redeem it. Songs such as DNA, Alive, Awakening, I'll Be Around and Celebrate will always have a special place in my heart. I must admit though, upon my first listen, I got bored and fed up fast. When I took a second listen 2 months later, I couldn't stop listening to this album. A very good follow-up to Walking on a Dream. Expand

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jul 25, 2013
    Disjointed ending or not, Empire of the Sun has delivered a well-blended mix of disco, electropop and just plain fun that evokes the greats without copying them outright.
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    It’s like the best bits of MGMT, The Scissor Sisters and The Sleepy Jackson rolled into one.
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    The vintage-Daft Punk cheese platter "Celebrate" and album-ending­ Bowie joke "Keep a Watch" are foamy fun, but too often Ice on the Dune just feels like a lobotomy on the dance floor.