User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 239 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 239

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidR
    Jun 2, 2007
    9
    Brilliant Album, from the funky yet experementive icky thump, to conquest with its spicy mexican influence (first performed by Corky Robbins) its trumpets are also exquisite. However tracks 6 & 7 which feature a bag pipe do not do it for me, it reminds me of irish folk music, not my type. But little cream soda ignite the white stripes flame with is heavy rock stripped down feeling and its Brilliant Album, from the funky yet experementive icky thump, to conquest with its spicy mexican influence (first performed by Corky Robbins) its trumpets are also exquisite. However tracks 6 & 7 which feature a bag pipe do not do it for me, it reminds me of irish folk music, not my type. But little cream soda ignite the white stripes flame with is heavy rock stripped down feeling and its succesor 'rag & bone' another hit, all tracks up to effect and cause are then pure garage rock at its best and white stripes at their best, i would give it a 10, but the big pipes are just not doing it for me, its left me quite shocked. However i believe the best tracks are icky thump, conquest, little cream soda & rag and bone. Expand
  2. ChrisZ.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    It's not 'De Stijl'. It's not 'White Blood Cells'. But its a damn good album nonetheless, and many of the tracks grow on you with time. The only song which to me is a 'throwaway' - take it or leave it- is 'You Don't Know What Love IS'.
  3. piles
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    This album is just simply wonderful.
  4. daveg
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    these guys just keep proving how the best music often comes from not taking oneself too seriously.
  5. TylerG
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    I really enjoy this CD a lot. The beat is really easy to get stuck into and the songs just sound very original. My favorite tracks would have to be Conquest, Rag and Bone and Bone Broke, although Icky Thump and 300 MPH Blues are also great tracks. The only gripe I have with this CD is that there are often softer, bluesy tracks that will for no rhyme or reason break into a squealing guitar I really enjoy this CD a lot. The beat is really easy to get stuck into and the songs just sound very original. My favorite tracks would have to be Conquest, Rag and Bone and Bone Broke, although Icky Thump and 300 MPH Blues are also great tracks. The only gripe I have with this CD is that there are often softer, bluesy tracks that will for no rhyme or reason break into a squealing guitar solo (300 MPH Blues is a good example of this). Also the bagpipes are a little unnecessary, but still okay by me. In fact the only track on this CD that I consider weak and is one I will be skipping over is St. Andrew, and even it isn't horrible. Overall this is just a really great, hard hitting CD from a great band. Definitely will be one of my favorites for the year, and maybe longer. Expand
  6. JuliusH.
    Jun 26, 2007
    7
    Fairly uneven. Sounded great live, though.
  7. BobR
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    this does remind me of the old White Stripes... except more polished (yet awesomely spontaneous) and experimental... luv it
  8. BlakeT
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    Possibly Their Best Accept it just lacks the variety of get behind me satan
  9. Dan
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    Wow! What an album!!! My faiourite songs are; 'A Martyr for My Love for You,' 'Effect & Cause,' 'Rag Bone,' 'You don't know what love is,' '300 MPH' and 'I'm slowly turning into you.' The other tracks are gret too...!
  10. TomG
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    Great move after exquisite Get Behind Me Satan. They're in better form than Led Zep after 5 albums. Don't you think that Icky Thump's main riff resemble a bit the one form "Moby Dick"...?
  11. RobertK
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    Jack White's "White Album." Brilliant ramshackle mess.
  12. MichaelS
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    Best White Stripes Album since Distijl!! A huge sigh of relief after Get Behind Me Satan! Would have been a 10, but "Prickly Thorn" and "St. Andrews" didin't quite do it for me.
  13. TomT
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    Along with Fountains of Wayne, they are incapable of making bad albums.
  14. timp
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    fun and ferocious
  15. DeepOne
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    The album sounds very different from their previous releases. Still, it s the same old White Stripes to enjoy. Now it's not as much low-fi sound which made it an uneasy listen, but now it's more accessible and still raw at the same time. Great work
  16. AaronD
    Jun 22, 2007
    9
    Really love the White Stripes so whatever, but I had some healthy skepticism with this album. Seems like the gig should be up, the act pushed as far as it goes, but here I am unable to look away once again. This band just builds a relationship with the listener, and every album is like falling in love again with someone you think is your type but not instanly familiar. Dont know how they Really love the White Stripes so whatever, but I had some healthy skepticism with this album. Seems like the gig should be up, the act pushed as far as it goes, but here I am unable to look away once again. This band just builds a relationship with the listener, and every album is like falling in love again with someone you think is your type but not instanly familiar. Dont know how they do it, but it works, it works very well. Expand
  17. J
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    Bliss.
  18. RyanK
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    I think the critics are sorely underrating this album. It's the best rock album released this year, by far.
  19. [Anonymous]
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Great Album
  20. JoeJ
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    Good to hear the Stripes rocking again, they're consistently one of the best bands around.
  21. TristramC
    Jun 30, 2007
    7
    After chance taking proved ill-fated with GBMS the White Stripes return to what they know. There is an undercurrent of resignation in these songs as if they'd rather be more adventureous but are chained to their proficiency. Although they garish with Mexican flavorings in attempt to be topical Jack is the same boy you've always know and Icky Thump is the same steak and potatoes After chance taking proved ill-fated with GBMS the White Stripes return to what they know. There is an undercurrent of resignation in these songs as if they'd rather be more adventureous but are chained to their proficiency. Although they garish with Mexican flavorings in attempt to be topical Jack is the same boy you've always know and Icky Thump is the same steak and potatoes you've always loved with the parsley switched to guac & beans. Expand
  22. RafaelB
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    Now they did it all right: guitars!
  23. MikeM
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    A solid rock powerhouse of an album. Great soloing, lyrically rich, and stylistically deep. Jack White uses horns and bagpipes on this record, as well as incorporating some pseudo-acting into the heavy blues track 'Rag and Bones.' This deviation from the typical White Stripes style has proved to be one of Jack's best albums.
  24. PatrickO
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    The best album of the white Stripes!Brilliant!Wonderful!
  25. DrewF
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    The best White Stripes to date, a combination of what makes them original, rock'n and confident. Each song is better than the last and the lyrics are at there best, can't wait to see them play live on new tour.
  26. JeffW
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Each time The White Stripes put out an album, it outshines its predecessor, and this remains true with Icky Thump. This record manages to maintain energy and momentum even after the powerhouse duo of "Little Cream Soda" and "Rag & Bone"; undeniably a difficult feat. Also, unlike certain previous White Stripes records, Jack does not falter once, nor does the solidarity of drummer/vixen Meg Each time The White Stripes put out an album, it outshines its predecessor, and this remains true with Icky Thump. This record manages to maintain energy and momentum even after the powerhouse duo of "Little Cream Soda" and "Rag & Bone"; undeniably a difficult feat. Also, unlike certain previous White Stripes records, Jack does not falter once, nor does the solidarity of drummer/vixen Meg White. This album will exceed the expectations of even the most hopeful of fans. This is truly one for the ages. Expand
  27. SpencerJ
    Jun 8, 2007
    8
    Weird. But heavy, rockin', and contains several moments of downright awesomeness.
  28. CoenV
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    Their most pompous album so far, ranging from flamenco to garage-rock. I heard some Led Zeppelin, some R.L. Burnside with some Stooges on the side with a topping of those weird Zappa-solos. Something for everyone, including bagpipes. Not their most inventive singing melodies, but certainly some of their most stomping riffs!
  29. JoshuwaeE
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    Took me 3-4 listens - WOW I am SO hooked. Previous albums had great tracks - but this album is complete and has no 'shallow' spots. This album takes me on a great journey - an homage to emotion-driven rock music. My favorite overall album from the Stripes. My favorite track initially was Rag & Bone - but now everything else has now become my favorite "45 minute track!" Wow!
  30. IlyaR
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    Another amazing effort. The fact that some reviews use the bagpipes as evidence of some sort of aimlessness is just evidence that there really is not much to criticize about this exciting, vibrant album.
  31. WestonT.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    My wife has stated boldly that The White Stripes are the only band making REAL Rock 'n Roll anymore. While I disagree with that analysis (although I will not drag the other deserving musicians into this forum...) I must say that this album in no way makes me disagree with the fact that Jack and Meg rock, and rock hard. As for the bagpipes, I'm Scotch... it helps (explains how I My wife has stated boldly that The White Stripes are the only band making REAL Rock 'n Roll anymore. While I disagree with that analysis (although I will not drag the other deserving musicians into this forum...) I must say that this album in no way makes me disagree with the fact that Jack and Meg rock, and rock hard. As for the bagpipes, I'm Scotch... it helps (explains how I can listen to a lot of things actually.) Expand
  32. spencerp
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    Best of the year...probably. The band's most consistent offering to date and the best guitar work you'll hear this side of LedZep IV. Less favourable reviews in a few places, probably because they've dropped the punk of Elephant in favour of a snarled, mashed up blues that fuses Page/Plant with elements of rap (Icky Thump), Beefhart/Waits(Rag and Bone) and loads more Best of the year...probably. The band's most consistent offering to date and the best guitar work you'll hear this side of LedZep IV. Less favourable reviews in a few places, probably because they've dropped the punk of Elephant in favour of a snarled, mashed up blues that fuses Page/Plant with elements of rap (Icky Thump), Beefhart/Waits(Rag and Bone) and loads more besides. Drop you preconceptions of what the band should be, open your ears, and marvel! Expand
  33. KlausV
    May 27, 2008
    9
    Icky Thump may be the only album with any substance that's come out in recent history - beacuse of the songwriting. While most bands substitute good songs for clean musicianship and flashy reverb-filled solos, The White Stripes somehow have managed to be actual rockn'rollers in this absurd modern age of music.
  34. Tyler
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Best album I've heard in 2007. Another great album from a great and original band.
  35. MaximilianoS
    Jun 12, 2007
    8
    Wonderful album, elaborated, very well mixed, neat sound, fine heavy guitars and new experimental instruments, but wait a minute, were is the white stripes incredible sound style? the one that make all of as love them when the white stripes first appear. I know groups can
  36. CarlosB
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    Y'all hear Icky Thump!
  37. JasonW
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    The White Stripes understand that the way to stay on top isn't to try and figure out what their audience wants, but to make what they want and force us to want more.
  38. AMills
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    Fantastic album, every track, with the exception of St. Andrew is very well thought out and perfectly executed. Great mixture of their unique "live" recording, and studio production. My favorites are Little Cream Soda, Rag and Bone, Martyr For My Love, and Catch Hell Blues. All and all their best album to date, and that's saying something.
  39. JustinF
    Jun 15, 2007
    8
    While it is truly an artistic and original album, Icky Thump is not without flaws. While it is an amazing piece to listen to, Icky Thump veers far off from the band's roots. The raw power of guitar, piano and drums has been added to with Synth, bag pipes and horns... this isn't a bad thing, but the new direction can be a lot to swallow for any hardcore stripes fan. Personally While it is truly an artistic and original album, Icky Thump is not without flaws. While it is an amazing piece to listen to, Icky Thump veers far off from the band's roots. The raw power of guitar, piano and drums has been added to with Synth, bag pipes and horns... this isn't a bad thing, but the new direction can be a lot to swallow for any hardcore stripes fan. Personally the new sound is a welcome change to me. The lyrics however are not, the single "Ickt Thump" is about immigrants... not exactly the regular stripes outting. Jack seems to have lost his lonely, love obsessed side, which is understandable considering his recent marriage. Still The album is number three in my book, behind Elephant and Get Behind Me Satan. If this is thier new sound then great!.. sounds amazing, but I'll take a while to get adjusted. Expand
  40. jonahm.
    Jun 18, 2007
    9
    Very nice, feels like a showcase of all their previous albums. I highly recommend it.
  41. timm
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    just f-in awesome. like always. f-in ridiculous.
  42. DanielA
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    After 5 albums and still going strong. The stripes never fail to amaze me, I can't stop listening to this album, much like their other albums in the past. Pure White Stripes goodness.
  43. craigb
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    How can a group be this good so long into their career ? Meg and Jack define all that SHOULD be great in music and put all those overproduced chart whoring wannabes to shame.Icky is brilliant ....listen and appreciate .
  44. BenB
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    This album is fantastic
  45. Eric
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    A brilliant album. Jack and Meg have outdone themselves again. Conquest, You Don't Know What Love Is (You Just do as Your Told), Icky Thump and Little Cream Soda are brilliant songs. Unlike most albums this one was worth the wait AND the hype.
  46. heinzh
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    A brilliant album, the best white stripes Album even better than De Stijl and Elephant!
  47. TomB
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    Easily their most accomplished and fully realized sounding album to date. As always, the band delivers in spades. Not a single bad album to date...if you still don't respect them then you can eat it.
  48. MattR
    Jun 20, 2007
    8
    The White Stripes prove again that rock is still alive
  49. MatB
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Their second best record. Unusal, but still catchy, and smarter than it first appears.
  50. MichaelE
    Jun 20, 2007
    7
    Surprisingly decent. A definite improvement on the last two albums, at least in terms of consistency. It's not as self-consciously wacky as any of the previous records, but that may actually be a bad thing - Icky Thump occasionally strays into normality. No matter what, as somebody once said to me: "The Stripes may be good or they may be bad, but at least they play ROCK AND ROLL." Surprisingly decent. A definite improvement on the last two albums, at least in terms of consistency. It's not as self-consciously wacky as any of the previous records, but that may actually be a bad thing - Icky Thump occasionally strays into normality. No matter what, as somebody once said to me: "The Stripes may be good or they may be bad, but at least they play ROCK AND ROLL." What other currently popular band does that? Expand
  51. JacobP
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    To me this is their best album yet..........he has gone back to his amped up Son House/Blind Willie McTell style blues..........also adding a few surprises which he always does.....this is a solid listen straight through.........no weak spots imo......get you some!
  52. JohnB
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    Icky Thump is the White Stripes' most engaging album yet. "Prickly Thorn" is the most memorable song on the album for me and how could you listen to "Catch Hell Blues" and rate this album anything less than an 7? Everything about Icky Thump was well thought out and while a couple songs definitely seem less inspired than the rest, Jack has returned to reclaim his title as one of the Icky Thump is the White Stripes' most engaging album yet. "Prickly Thorn" is the most memorable song on the album for me and how could you listen to "Catch Hell Blues" and rate this album anything less than an 7? Everything about Icky Thump was well thought out and while a couple songs definitely seem less inspired than the rest, Jack has returned to reclaim his title as one of the great guitarists of today. Expand
  53. BrianL
    Jun 22, 2007
    8
    Bam!
  54. FrankG
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    Great follow up after Satan and sets them up to do more "Satanish" work on their next album as well. They needed this album to keep the fans of "White Blood Cells" and "Elephant"
  55. MichaelW
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    Whats with the one reviewer calling it prog rock. Guy has apparently never heard prog rock and prog rock is great anyway. Another great album by this band, maybe the best to date.
  56. TimaM
    Jun 23, 2007
    9
    This album is so fresh & nostalgic at the same time. Amazing!
  57. brennanf
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Probably not their best, but damn does it come close!
  58. SeanP.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Crazy and brilliant. Easier to listen to than Get Behind Me Satan, just as great.
  59. TimP
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    A little more bold, a little more political, a little less passive. I loved this album from the word Icky and am happy to see that some bands can keep it together.
  60. TJWells
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    Unfuckingbelievable. Album of the year. Jack White is my god.
  61. EricF
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    One of my top 5 rock albums of all time.... Absolutely brilliant...
  62. NikkiG
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    What more can I say? Jack White delivers yet again! Though I miss the sounds of the old Stripes, I knew they would never sound the same after the Loretta Lynn album. Enjoyable! But I'm still left with the longing taste of what was the garage rock Stripes... but this will do, this will do.
  63. juans
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    Although this is not the best album by the white stripes, is good enough to be the best release in the last months. i loved conquest and rag and bone, not to much prickly thorn, but sweetly worn
  64. MarcoV.
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    Anyone who rates this album lower than a 7 just doesn't get it.
  65. JosephB.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Great cd. Jack White is a throwback who's ahead of his time.
  66. Jorenv
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    this is THE best album of the white stripes!! it just kicks ass!! the lyrics of the songs: conquest, about a player who becomes played by a girl, a martyr for my love about a boy who walks away from a girl because he knows he will hurt here! and so one!! all the songs kick ass, except the two Scottish songs. (sorry jack)
  67. DecepticonPom
    Jul 26, 2007
    8
    Thoroughly enjoyable, actually!
  68. ixata
    Jul 27, 2007
    9
    not as good as get me behind me satan but aa great album when it stands on its own
  69. aaronr
    Jul 27, 2007
    8
    Now with what most would consider 6 great albums,ranking lowest white blood cells which says a lot, the white stripes are zeppelin status in my book. (what did they do past physical graffiti of significance when one thinks about it?) thank you jack for keeping my interest in new music.
  70. seand
    Jul 29, 2007
    8
    pretty damn good, more rockin than get behind me satan and a little weirder too, they have yet to disapoint
  71. Sophie
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    Great record - a lot of fun, some amazing tracks, and not a weak spot on the album. I definitely need to check out more of the White Stripes =)
  72. RyneS
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable!!! Every song is good. A great guitar album with a bunch of songs capable of single material
  73. TyB
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    Best album since Elephant. The only song I really don't like is "A Martyr for My Love for You". Other than that, great album.
  74. ToddW
    Aug 10, 2007
    9
    It cracks me up to read some of the Minicritic reviews concerning the newest offering from the White Stripes. People who appear to be ambivalent about their new offering still manage to find a way to attempt to write the Great American Record Review in its wake. I ashamedly admit to being one of those who, like a cliche hipster with an unearned yet large dose of self-importance, kept this It cracks me up to read some of the Minicritic reviews concerning the newest offering from the White Stripes. People who appear to be ambivalent about their new offering still manage to find a way to attempt to write the Great American Record Review in its wake. I ashamedly admit to being one of those who, like a cliche hipster with an unearned yet large dose of self-importance, kept this group at arm's length despite two fine albums in White Blood Cells and Elephant. Simply put, Icky Thump is one of the best guitar rock albums of this or any other year. The has-beens in Aeroshit, Immobile Stones, The Who(?), and Van Noiseland need to go to school on these two. Think about it, much of the music on this album is made by just TWO people, and it compares favorably with the best of any guitar rock of any era. If that alone is not enough to give you pause, well, put on your headphones and crank up your so-called classic rock which has been beat beyond dog food on the airwaves of our country. It and you have grown beyond tiresome to the rest of us. Mad props to Meg and Jack for playing anywhere and everywhere in an attempt to get their art before a persnickety public. Elementary classrooms, busses, fishing boats, it doesn't matter; there's not an icky bump in their road. May they keep on rockin'. Expand
  75. JamesH
    Aug 23, 2007
    9
    My favorite stripes album was De Stijl, mainly because I loved the guitar, songs like "Little Bird" even their cover of Son House's "Death Letter" was pretty crazy. But songs like "Bone Broke", "Catch Hell Blues", and "Little Cream Soda" made me love this album. I have trouble listening to it as a whole, like I could with some other albums, but it was worth my money.
  76. DanielC.
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    VERY highly recommended.
  77. JonathanH
    Feb 15, 2008
    8
    Not their best, but damn it all if this album is not proof that throwing the "here, this is how to make an album" mentality out the window is a spectacular thing. There is no concern or worry whether or not mariachi trumpets and bizarro rock bagpipes will fit in the same album (let alone being seperated by one song). Rag and Bone is pure ballsy rock fun, and who else could title a Not their best, but damn it all if this album is not proof that throwing the "here, this is how to make an album" mentality out the window is a spectacular thing. There is no concern or worry whether or not mariachi trumpets and bizarro rock bagpipes will fit in the same album (let alone being seperated by one song). Rag and Bone is pure ballsy rock fun, and who else could title a Metallica-esque stomp "Little Cream Soda?" Very, very few people Expand
  78. MaximilianoS
    Jun 12, 2007
    8
    Wonderful album, elaborated, very well mixed, neat sound, fine heavy guitars and new experimental instruments, but wait a minute, were is the white stripes incredible sound style? the one that make all of as love them when the white stripes first appear. I know groups can
  79. BenM
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    Maybe the best Stripes album out there because of the way it pulls pieces of everything from their past (as well as the past of rock and roll in general) and also takes rock in new directions that can only be good for it and us as listeners.
  80. JacksonB
    Jun 15, 2007
    9
    Fantastic album!
  81. samd
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    A modern masterpiece. Somehow Jack White is able to hone the blues, bluegrass, metal sounds without sounding derivative., Beautifully crafted album, exquisite song writing..and very honest. Martyr for My Love For You is a brutal ironic ode to teenage insecurities an anguish and Rag and Bone is just pure fun. Effect and Cause will be the most overlooked song yet contains a style of song A modern masterpiece. Somehow Jack White is able to hone the blues, bluegrass, metal sounds without sounding derivative., Beautifully crafted album, exquisite song writing..and very honest. Martyr for My Love For You is a brutal ironic ode to teenage insecurities an anguish and Rag and Bone is just pure fun. Effect and Cause will be the most overlooked song yet contains a style of song writing the music industry hasn't heard since Dylan. Finally, Jack's guitar virtuosity- playing rythm and lead with Megs Bonzo-esque drumming make this due as loud and powerful and any band in the past 20 years. Bravo! Expand
  82. JoeB
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    Simply awesome.
  83. ArikK
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    Absolutely incredible. A return to a more bluesy sound while incorporating the eclectic elements of Get Behind Me Satan.
  84. DaveJ
    Jun 19, 2007
    7
    Listened to the album all week on the MTV website. I was slightly disappointed but the first 4 songs are great.
  85. nofsgrrl
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    More lyrical than their other albums. This is Jack White's soul put on display for everyone to hear. I don't like the Conquest cover so much, but the other songs more than make up for it.
  86. jefframone
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    Always sonically interesting, Jack White rarely disappoints. I certainly would not classify "Icky Thump" as a disappointment, but it just slightly misses the mark. But even his slight misses overshadow every crappy rock tune currently on the radio. It's good, but is it great? No. Is it interesting and original? For sure. Will I listen to it over and over again? Most definitely. Will Always sonically interesting, Jack White rarely disappoints. I certainly would not classify "Icky Thump" as a disappointment, but it just slightly misses the mark. But even his slight misses overshadow every crappy rock tune currently on the radio. It's good, but is it great? No. Is it interesting and original? For sure. Will I listen to it over and over again? Most definitely. Will it be as good as "Elephant" or "Get Behind Me Satan"? Nah. But it's still worth listening to. Expand
  87. JosephA
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    Holy crap, this album is awesome. Plain and simple.
  88. fynnm
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    the best and most diverse album i have heard in a long time. For those who dont think just listen to it a few times, front to back and then write your new review. Rock is alive and well and kicking ass and taking names
  89. ErikV
    Jun 21, 2007
    8
    Good overall album but not great, probably their 3rd best offering behind Elephant, White Blood Cells, and right there with Get Behind Me Satan. Nice to see the band progress with new and experimental sound elements but it seems to lack the listening simplicity that made their previous albums great. Lyrically not as fulfilling as previous albums.
  90. greg
    Jun 21, 2007
    8
    pretty damn good. the village voice review is sort of sad--an airing of the author's own issues rather than anything useful or interesting about the music.
  91. Time
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    Rolling Stone and Spin have become such douchebags. RS only gave them their INFAMOUS 3 and a half stars because they felt the Stripes hype was fading and Spin has needs to grow a pair. They've turned into Rolling Stone's bitch. This is one of the White Stripes very best.
  92. Davie
    Jun 21, 2007
    9
    tubs of fun & energy.. what's not to like?
  93. CarlosC
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Simply put, if you do not like a White Stripes song, give yourself the benefit of the doubt that you are not a mindless fool and just listen to it again...
  94. EthanW.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    incredible. epic, experimental. this may be the next turn in music. they've made 5 excellent records, but who saw the next landmark in music history comeing?? best album released in my lifetime
  95. MikeD
    Jul 29, 2007
    9
    Terrific record. If it's not quite the stone classic that White Blood Cells or Elephant are, it's damn close. The greatness of this band lies in their complete sincerity and seemingly total lack of pretension in what they do. They're clearly not afraid to explore different styles of music. But more importantly, they understand that ultimately what matters is great songs, Terrific record. If it's not quite the stone classic that White Blood Cells or Elephant are, it's damn close. The greatness of this band lies in their complete sincerity and seemingly total lack of pretension in what they do. They're clearly not afraid to explore different styles of music. But more importantly, they understand that ultimately what matters is great songs, and if that means primarily the garage and blues rock that were used to from them, that's OK, too. Possibly the record of the year, so far. Expand
  96. MarekK
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    Very good album to me. I'm not a rock fan, like more jazz stuff, but White Stripes' new album is very strong, even after two weeks listening. I also listened their older stuff and maybe I can understand some of negative comments here. This new album is really different sounding (but best album for me), I like how it lives, it rocks (but not in classical way - this is positive Very good album to me. I'm not a rock fan, like more jazz stuff, but White Stripes' new album is very strong, even after two weeks listening. I also listened their older stuff and maybe I can understand some of negative comments here. This new album is really different sounding (but best album for me), I like how it lives, it rocks (but not in classical way - this is positive aspect for me). And ... this simple drumming and clear quitar playing is exactly how it sounds good. Most 4-8 people rock bands just sound too messy, too oversounding, too nonnaturally ... White Stripes is simple, its streightforward ... but its not bad I think. Catch Hell Blues, Martyr For My Love For You and Rag and Bones are highlights, maybe Bone Broke is the weakest song here, also I think Conquest is halfly done - its not bad, but I feel, its weakly done. I listen very many styles and really think that White Stripes is not overrated. Maybe to serious rock fans it does just too different sounds. Expand
  97. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    I think they are getting more danggoures each album....!!! and this one is just weird ,peculiar,brave and also unique & brilliant ......but some times i wish there was some place to settle down...i mean some country tracks or something...but because this is pretty awesome i dont mind...! i mean common this is Rock & Roll...!! what ells do you need...!? and if you dont compare it withI think they are getting more danggoures each album....!!! and this one is just weird ,peculiar,brave and also unique & brilliant ......but some times i wish there was some place to settle down...i mean some country tracks or something...but because this is pretty awesome i dont mind...! i mean common this is Rock & Roll...!! what ells do you need...!? and if you dont compare it with "elephant" you will see that it definitely has it`s own moments that dont let you down. Expand
  98. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    I love the title of this album's song "Icky Thump". It kicks ass and The White Stripes are an awesome band. Too bad they broke up though.
  99. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    Now, this is my favourite album by The White Stripes. It has the harshness of Elephant but is also lovely in its oddness. The cover image showing Jack and Meg as Pearly King and Queen and the title (the correct spelling is â
  100. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    Solid final album from the blues rock duo. It's not got any songs that are complete magic, which is not something you would say about the 3 records previous to this, and that is where it loses out. It's a consistent record, mostly full of bluesy rock, typical ofwhat we've come to expect from Jack and Meg White. Opener and title track Icky Thump is by far the most interesting thing on it -Solid final album from the blues rock duo. It's not got any songs that are complete magic, which is not something you would say about the 3 records previous to this, and that is where it loses out. It's a consistent record, mostly full of bluesy rock, typical ofwhat we've come to expect from Jack and Meg White. Opener and title track Icky Thump is by far the most interesting thing on it - and by White Stripes standards could be classed as experimental. After that they play it safe for the most part. Bone Broke is the other standout track for me. Not the worst record you'll hear but Jack White has put his name to far superior records. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. This is a heavyweight album in every sense of the word.
  2. This is by far The White Stripes’ most peculiar record.
  3. Uncut
    80
    A compellingly weird experience. [Jul 2007, p.92]