Identity Crisis

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2003
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. This is exactly 40 minutes of transcendent music by someone who we always knew was one of the best singers and songwriters on the scene, but someone who we were afraid was never going to make the music she should be making. Well, she's done it.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Lynne is so in her element... that you have to believe the title's a deliberate misnomer. [26 Sep 2003, p.94]
  3. It's a rootsy, honest album in the simple tradition of Hank Williams and Jimmie Rodgers.
  4. Without a doubt the most moving, ambitious, and elegant album of her career thus far.
  5. Blender
    80
    Her understated grooves... ooze natural-woman sex appeal. [Oct 2003, p.122]
  6. Mojo
    80
    The dozen self-penned songs blend traditional genres rather than rewriting the style guide, but that weight of musical and emotional heritage only adds to the compelling effect of the whole. [Jan 2004, p.99]
  7. An album that blooms slowly over time and repeated listening.
  8. Uncut
    80
    This is the album Lynne should've made after I Am.... [Nov 2003, p.120]
  9. Q Magazine
    70
    A stark record that showcases her unsettlingly direct vocals. [Dec 2003, p.132]
  10. She tears the form down to its roots -- acoustic guitars, touches of old gospel and blues, and a gorgeously bummed, torchlit ambience.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. joserrar
    Oct 15, 2003
    9
    somebody has said this is the norah jones´s of this year. No please.... This is the female dan penn´s one or perhaps nick lowe somebody has said this is the norah jones´s of this year. No please.... This is the female dan penn´s one or perhaps nick lowe twin... One of the albums of the year...so soulful...and with one masterpiece...the last song...one with the sun. that´s the way it is dear shelby... Full Review »
  2. jprginej
    Oct 11, 2003
    10
    Shelby Lynne's Idendity Crisis is another shade of shelby. As far as I am concerned she can practically do no wrong. Hasn't she Shelby Lynne's Idendity Crisis is another shade of shelby. As far as I am concerned she can practically do no wrong. Hasn't she proved herself over and over again that she can sing life into any song, and write the most damn amazing and moving songs in a long time. Without disecting and analyzing this CD to death , I say its nice that some people compare her to greats like patsy cline. but pretty soon she will be the one that others will want to measure up too, if not all ready! She makes misery sound so good I'm afraid of what would happen if she was really happy. And I hope she is! Just hope she never loses that wonderful edge that makes her songs literally cut into your heart and memory. Shelby: I'd go see you sing if you were singing in a snake pit. My complaint is you just don't play in La enough. and any record lable that doesn't hold on to you is a complete idiot.... Full Review »