Idlewild

  • Record Label: La Face
  • Release Date: Aug 22, 2006
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 81
  2. Negative: 5 out of 81

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MiguelS
    Sep 8, 2006
    4
    Sorry, y'all, but this album is a major disappointment. Anyone who thinks "Mighty O" is a good soul/pop song needs to RUN out and buy some Motown. See what you're missing!
  2. Nov 21, 2010
    5
    After the sheer brilliance of Speakerboxxx/The Love Below, this album was a colossal disappointment. Aside from the soulful hooks provided on the song 'Morris Brown', this album is largely forgettable.
  3. NeilG
    Aug 28, 2006
    6
    Another indulgent outing badly in need of some strict editing. Andre 3000s contribution is inferior to Big Boi's (just like the last record !) but the media hype is in full flow and won't acknowledge this fact. This record feels like an endurance test and as such is entirely unsatisfying. Buy the Rhymefest record instead it is vastly superior or anything by Blackalicious !
  4. CB
    Sep 2, 2006
    6
    blah
  5. [Anonymous]
    Sep 4, 2006
    6
    What this is not that good. There 5 other albums are all at least 8.5's and this one is a 6. A average album that had a lot of misshaps
  6. GaborA
    Aug 28, 2006
    4
    Despite certain reviews Outkast is not "expanding the boudries of rap." Perhaps they're expanding the boundries of pop, thus becoming pop artists. Its unfortunate that the more Andre tries to become artistic and unique the more he becomes just an entertainment pop act. Outkast used to let their lyrics define them. Now that their verses are pretty much gone they have to relly on Despite certain reviews Outkast is not "expanding the boudries of rap." Perhaps they're expanding the boundries of pop, thus becoming pop artists. Its unfortunate that the more Andre tries to become artistic and unique the more he becomes just an entertainment pop act. Outkast used to let their lyrics define them. Now that their verses are pretty much gone they have to relly on antics and "being different" to gain an edge. Big Boi still spits it raw sometimes and Andre hits a unique key every now and then but its so little that it just frustrates more than anything reminding you how much potential they still have and how amazing they used to be back when you went to grab their new album and it had an explicit content sticker on it and six 12 year old girls werent in front of you in line holding the same album. After Speackerboxx/The Suck Below i had my fingers crossed for three years. I guess I cant uncross them just yet. Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2012
    4
    This album is classy and i thought i was going to enjoy it. But i barely did. Even though it had class. It just made me miss the Outkast from "ATLiens", "Aquemini", "Southernplayalisticadillacmuzik", & Stankonia, Dont get me wrong i did like "Speakerboxx/The Love below but not as much as the other classics
  8. May 8, 2016
    6
    Outkast have a fantastic back catalogue of innvoative hip hop; Speakerboxxx/The Love Below proved that Andre 3000 and Big Boi could be fantastic on their own, too. However, Idlewild, their first "together" album since Stankonia, strangely falls short of the brilliance of their first four albums. Aside from a couple good tracks, most of the album feels like a relatively soulless imitationOutkast have a fantastic back catalogue of innvoative hip hop; Speakerboxxx/The Love Below proved that Andre 3000 and Big Boi could be fantastic on their own, too. However, Idlewild, their first "together" album since Stankonia, strangely falls short of the brilliance of their first four albums. Aside from a couple good tracks, most of the album feels like a relatively soulless imitation of Outkast. It seems more pretentious than creative Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Rolling Stone
    80
    Their weirdest music yet. [24 Aug 2006, p.89]
  2. Ambitious but flawed, at turns stunning, maddening and confusing, Idlewild is a curate's egg - but the good parts are implausibly delicious.
  3. OutKast have stretched rap's boundaries to the breaking point before, but this time their experiments come across as gimmicky or strained.