If Not Now, When?

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Jul 12, 2011
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    70
    The end result is an album on a shaded, comfortable grayscale, music that's suitably mature yet sidesteps stultifying notions of middlebrow class.
  2. Jun 30, 2011
    74
    It's a worthwhile reinvention, but a little more noise wouldn't have hurt, either.
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    70
    Stabbing steadily at the status quo, these songs are a matured balance between art and pop.
  4. Jul 11, 2011
    80
    Overall, If Not Now, When? is the sound of Incubus coming of age. It's not particularly experimental nor is it completely straightforward but it is concise and a risk that's paid off.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    Several fans may have been disappointed, but let's face it, the SCIENCE and Make yourself days are over a decade in the past. In a way, I'mSeveral fans may have been disappointed, but let's face it, the SCIENCE and Make yourself days are over a decade in the past. In a way, I'm kinda glad the band did this. It was a surprise nonetheless, but its a surprise that grows on you. Every song has this kind of magic to it that usually kicks in after the second or third listen, but never the first. That is why you have to let it grow on you. Personally I think some of the tracks in this album are some of the band's most creative material. Tracks 7-10 stood out to me the most. The jovial acoustic melody of "Defiance", the length and bipolarity of "In the Company of Wolves", the upbeat tempo of "Switchblade", and the stunning atmosphere of "Adolescents" is what truly made this a great listening experience for me, and a factor to still appreciate this band for everything it has to offer. Full Review »
  2. Jul 12, 2011
    5
    This album is bland from start two finsh it is not like make yourself or science, but rather it is a watered down effort. there are only 2This album is bland from start two finsh it is not like make yourself or science, but rather it is a watered down effort. there are only 2 standout tracks on the whole album. the rest seem to sound like old recycled tunes of previous bands lyrics. this album is sure to disappoint true fans who like their alt metal versatile guitar bass and drum arrangements.It is hard to gauge a review of this album as its not a 1 or its not a 10. Its a bland 5. it lacks a true sense of feelings as displayed by the power laced energy of science and the sonically diverse morning view that has a nice atmosphere of with heavy guitars and acoustic guitars. Don't get me wrong I am an Incubus fan and I guess I was just expecting more diverseness and atmospheric experimentalism incorporated into heavy and soft songs. Not just mainly soft songs. Overall, the album lacks the creative energy and sonic diverseness of previuous effots even though they did say this album was a departure. It may have been a departure in the wrong direction. Full Review »
  3. Aug 17, 2011
    2
    As a fan of Incubus from way back in the Fungus Amongus/ Enjoy Incubus days, this album came as a huge disappointment. Simplistic, Pop-ish,As a fan of Incubus from way back in the Fungus Amongus/ Enjoy Incubus days, this album came as a huge disappointment. Simplistic, Pop-ish, and seemingly dedicated to appealing to tweens, Incubus has taken a huge step backwards here. Instead of producing a BAND album, "If Not Now When" centers the band's musical efforts around Brandon Boyd's singing on top of simplistic pop tunes; resulting in bland, radio friendly trash. Not the challenging musical journey I would have hoped for from Incubus. Until now, I have liked to varying degrees all of Incubus' albums, because without exception they showed the musicality and versatility of all of the band members. This album is mostly just the crooning of Brandon Boyd over vanilla pop rock. Some will defend this album and proclaim that Incubus should be lauded for "taking risks" and going outside of their standard musical fare. If what the band produced was new and innovative I might agree, but the reality is that this album is crap. Full Review »