If Only You Were Lonely

  • Record Label: Victory
  • Release Date: Feb 28, 2006
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 43
  2. Negative: 15 out of 43

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. someonespecial
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    It seems to me that people rating this album either like it, or are just mad that the emo kids are stealing their girlfriends and want to give emo a bad name. I fall under under the first category, someone who loves this album, is an emo kid, and probably stole your girlfriend. Don't be mad because youre not in touch with yourself. Everyone tells me "don't cry emo kid", but It seems to me that people rating this album either like it, or are just mad that the emo kids are stealing their girlfriends and want to give emo a bad name. I fall under under the first category, someone who loves this album, is an emo kid, and probably stole your girlfriend. Don't be mad because youre not in touch with yourself. Everyone tells me "don't cry emo kid", but you're the ones who shouldn't (or perhaps should) cry. Don't blame Hawthorne Heights, only love. Expand
  2. Shawna-
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    most Hawthorne Heights fans would be happy tehy finally got this album out. But we were all listening to Panic! at the disco music. nothing against them. The album art is amazing. but Ten because I adore them.
  3. timv
    Mar 6, 2006
    9
    while not going far from the same sound of their first album, they make sure to keep old fans listening. a few out of place screams and dull songs is the only thing that kept this from being a 10. for the most part it is a great listen if you are a fan of their first album.
  4. ashleew
    May 25, 2006
    10
    i giv hh a ten b cuz i luv them and i hate n e 1 who haz any thing 2 say bout them. THEIR ALBUM WAS THE BEST AND THEIR MY FAV BAND 4 EVA!!!!
  5. emh
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    I luv this album sooooooo much my favorite album! the silence in black and white is amazing to. Hawthorne heights are the best band ever!!! my favorite song off this album is dead in the water, and this is who we are. i think this band is realy different from others and i just think they are the BEST BAND EVER oh and they were amazing when the played t the UK Leeds festival to :D
  6. MengY
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Giving Negative reviews and not listening to the genre is funny, and my next question is, why would you evenreview something that you dont even listen 2, thats like a crackhead reviewing a cops words when he dont like cops... lmao Anyways , This album is good i dont get why people give this group a hard time, maybe you people are jealous because you cant do what they do, and let them be Giving Negative reviews and not listening to the genre is funny, and my next question is, why would you evenreview something that you dont even listen 2, thats like a crackhead reviewing a cops words when he dont like cops... lmao Anyways , This album is good i dont get why people give this group a hard time, maybe you people are jealous because you cant do what they do, and let them be they went gold, can you lol Collapse
  7. rickys
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    i love hawthorne heights they are great DON'T talk bad bout them
  8. KaylaB
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    Hawthorne Heights roxx my soxxx they deserve this 10 star rating u guys the have them under 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 or 9 u were wrong they r a billion out of 10. :)
  9. mimon
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    good good
  10. hannahr
    May 2, 2006
    10
    this album rockz!!
  11. patw
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    this is my favorite album it kicks ass!!
  12. ms
    Mar 14, 2006
    8
    The overwhelmingly negative reviews are a little surprising, considering that these people don't even like the music form that this album is apperently apart of. For one, your reviews are just out of your hatred for a genre and for the corporate machine. Let me first clear out of the way that emo has been around for quite sometime and not all of it is bad. Second, Victory Records is The overwhelmingly negative reviews are a little surprising, considering that these people don't even like the music form that this album is apperently apart of. For one, your reviews are just out of your hatred for a genre and for the corporate machine. Let me first clear out of the way that emo has been around for quite sometime and not all of it is bad. Second, Victory Records is an independent label that is as against the corporate machine as you are and they release many commendable records. I was quite enthralled with the latest installment to the discography of Hawthorne Heights. To tell the truth I was actually very impressed with their efforts and their enthuseism which seems more authentic than the usual crying of bands such as Hoobastank, YellowCard, Good Charolette, and Fall Out Boy. They have an intensity about them that makes them seem a bit more believable than their peers. As for the musical complexity...you must remember that emo stems out of punk. I'm not saying that it is punk but it's roots are firm in the musical roar of Fugazi and other legends of the alt punk scene. You can't blame a genre for sounding the way it sounds...if you don't like it, don't listen to Hawthorne Heights. No one should listen to these reviews...at all. I'm not saying say only good things...but please just be honest and don't just fail an album without any real reason other than labels...thank you. Expand
  13. aleciaa
    May 16, 2006
    10
    i loved the album "If Only Your Were Lonely" it actually was better than their first album in my eyes!i hope they plan on making another one!
  14. Sep 19, 2010
    7
    Great mix of clean, unclean vocals and raw emotion. Not as amazing as their first album 'Silence in Black and White'. This one seems a bit more cleaned up by the studio. This is the last album before the death of their unclean vocalist Casey Calvert making this creation even more special. Hawthorne Heights continues to hit the deep emotions everyone hides deep inside. No one wants to beGreat mix of clean, unclean vocals and raw emotion. Not as amazing as their first album 'Silence in Black and White'. This one seems a bit more cleaned up by the studio. This is the last album before the death of their unclean vocalist Casey Calvert making this creation even more special. Hawthorne Heights continues to hit the deep emotions everyone hides deep inside. No one wants to be lonely and Hawthorne shows you that you are not alone. Great album, just played with a little too much in the studio for me. Expand
  15. May 31, 2011
    7
    If Only You Were Lonely is a stylistic improvement over the band's preceding album, The Silence In Black And White. But despite some powerful melodies and even more powerful lyrics, some of the songs lose their taste, quick. Its standout tracks are "Saying Sorry", the perfect teen-emo ballad, and "Dead In The Water", one of the album's hardest and darker tracks.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Unsurprisingly, repetition sinks If Only You Were Lonely.
  2. The outfit's three-axe attack coupled with the distinctive pipes of J.T. Woodruff find Hawthorne Heights able to go where peers like Fall Out Boy just can't.
  3. Alternative Press
    70
    Lonely will buy Hawthorne Heights a few more minutes beyond the 15 they've already received. Here's to hoping they'll use that time to think outside of the box a little more when they write LP3. [Mar 2006, p.119]