If You Leave

Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Uncut
    Mar 12, 2013
    60
    There's an unwelcome hint of Florence Welch's swollen emotionalism on "Tomorrow," but the surging pop of "Touch" is more successful. [Apr 2013, p.69]
  2. Mojo
    Mar 12, 2013
    60
    These fine-spun talents are too frequently suffocated by the album;s production, which ignores the songs' subtler details in favour of something more epic. [Apr 2013, p.89]
  3. 50
    Both musically and lyrically, Daughter ain’t half as clever as they clearly think they are (people get serious and clever mixed up a lot, weirdly).
  4. Mar 14, 2013
    60
    These songs are atmospheric, but feel calculatedly so, especially set against the overwrought poetry of Tonra's lyrics.
  5. Mar 18, 2013
    60
    While all the elements are there it seems far too eager to drift into not only the background but also into itself, with it turning into musical wallpaper and into one, long indistinguishable track with worrying ease.
  6. Mar 18, 2013
    40
    Tonra's voice is breathy and sweet and unremarkable, breaking sometimes into a wrenched whisper, that should be heartbreaking but, more often than not, is just a bit grating.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 7, 2013
    10
    If You Leave may never be a hit, but is in the shadows where this amazing album must be listened to, or at least that's what I think TonraIf You Leave may never be a hit, but is in the shadows where this amazing album must be listened to, or at least that's what I think Tonra wants us to do. The marvelous sounds and poetry of Tonra's lyrics turn Daughter's first album in the best think I have listened to in years. This one comes from the heart, a damaged heart, and a brilliant mind. The ethereal instrumentation makes the perfect match to such a melodic voice. But it is obvious that the most remarkable thing here is the songwriting which, in the words of this mortal, makes everything a sweet mess: It's weird how we love to be so sad. To finish, I just want to say this: Elena, take my soul, I'm on my knees. Full Review »
  2. Nov 26, 2015
    7
    If You Leave might be a great record for the post-rockers and folk ambient lovers, but in my opinion it is as beautifully written, performedIf You Leave might be a great record for the post-rockers and folk ambient lovers, but in my opinion it is as beautifully written, performed and settled as blandly unoriginal and -sometimes- tasteless. Full Review »
  3. Feb 25, 2015
    6
    If You Leave includes songs of quality such as Still and Human but sometimes you just don't see the diference between all the songs. ItIf You Leave includes songs of quality such as Still and Human but sometimes you just don't see the diference between all the songs. It definitely lacks of originality. Although Tonra's voice is sweet and authentic. Full Review »