If... - Bill Ryder-Jones
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jan 12, 2012
    70
    Ryder-Jones deserves to make the leap from imaginary films to the real thing.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Ryder-Jones has not only pulled off the unusual feat of writing a soundtrack for a complex and experimental novel, complementing the book's allure handsomely. He's also, with its sentiment and inventiveness, made it worthy of repeated plays.
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    80
    If... is dominated by widescreen cinematic soundscapes and fabulously evocative arrangements.
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    80
    One thing that is immediately striking from the first tentative piano notes and discomfiting cello hum is just how accomplished it all sounds.
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    Far from being liabilities, such disparate moments help define If… for the better: as a work that frolics in different directions without losing control or coherence.
  6. Jan 11, 2012
    80
    If...'s successful melding of epic vision and intimate solemnity marks an exciting new beginning. [Dec. 2011 pg. 95]
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    90
    It is a record that's hard to place, hard to shake and easier to love than you could ever have conceived.
  8. 80
    He wields the Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra as deftly as he did his spliff-stained six-string.
  9. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    If… is a wonderful piece of music.
  10. Dec 15, 2011
    80
    There are moments of exquisite melancholy to treasure. [Dec. 2011 p. 136]
  11. Nov 21, 2011
    80
    The bolder, bigger compositions are gripping, but the quieter moments – Give Me a Name, Leaning (Star of Sweden) – drip with bleakly, stunning beauty.
  12. Nov 21, 2011
    80
    If… is a joy, its 10 mostly instrumental tracks proving both intimate and powerful.
  13. Nov 23, 2011
    80
    If is deeply lovely music, born of a tenderly weighted sensibility. [Dec 2011, p.88]
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    This is well-written, mostly instrumental music. I enjoyed the mood and melodies of this set...very peaceful and moving, at times. I too believe Ryder-Jones will go on to larger productions based on this effort. Makes me wonder if I have missed the boat on soundtracks and instrumental music in the past. Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    ... moves more like a river than a pond and its movement avoids the error of anti-climax that is all too common in quiet music. This record gets.... http://bit.ly/zIj0W5 Full Review »
  3. Jan 15, 2012
    8
    "If..." is my Album of the Week at mattneric: http://mattneric.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/bill-ryder-jones-if/

    "If youâ