User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 3, 2011
    Steve Earle is in great form as a player and songwriter on this new album, and T-Bone Burnett may well have been born to be his producer. Spare and at times haunting, this is Earle at his most insightful. Highlights include Waitin' On the Sky, God is God, Every Part of Me and This City, which go straight to the Greatest Hits playlist.
  2. May 5, 2011
    Steve Earle's I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive, has to be one of the most important CD's of 2011. "Ghosts sing sad western songs for the whole broken world." Steve Earle is about healing, recovery, being honest, open and willing to try an sort this mess out. He is a visionary not a Springsteen clone. This guy is stepping out of the box and I would say he has more of The Clash where Springsteen was U2. A guy who draws his art work, produces and makes sense out of the confusion. "Waitin' on the Sky" undid everything "Lucy in the Sky" did for me. Get this CD, this is a CD about grief and an artist trying to make sense of loss and his Dad's passing. OMG this one is why I love music and grateful for someone to take it to another level. Last thought from The Clash's song Clampdown... "What are we going to do now?" well I think this is the "what we are doing". Wake us up Steve, everyone is being awoken and it is the art of a man with a guitar. The only CD I bought in 2011. Expand

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 27, 2011
    While Molly O oozes foreboding, Meet Me In the Alleyway is eerily reminiscent of The The and the Grammy-nominated This City is a genuine gem. [Jun 2011, p.114]
  2. May 18, 2011
    The record is starting to sound worn. [May 2011, p.105]
  3. May 11, 2011
    Earle's albums have been extremely uneven for some time now. Certainly that indicates he's put out a sizable amount of dross, but it also means he's recorded a bunch of great songs that have gotten lost in the shuffle.