I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The politically active singer-songwriter returns with another album of country rock, produced by T-Bone Burnett.
  • Record Label: New West
  • Genre(s): Country, Americana, Pop/Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter, Progressive Country
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    91
    Earle has always forged armor out of his scars, and by that token, I'll Never Get Out is impregnable, yet achingly vulnerable.
  2. Apr 26, 2011
    88
    Producer T Bone Burnett and his ace crew of musicians help Earle with masterful skill and deft subtlety.
  3. Apr 27, 2011
    80
    I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive's lone downer is Burnett's unnecessarily heavy-handed production. That said, Earle's vocals front and center in a brilliant song cycle transcend it.
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    70
    T-Bone Burnett's understated production suggests an aqueous atmosphere, with a few actual sea shanties.
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    70
    Produced by T Bone Burnett, this may be the shaggy outlaw's most polished set.
  6. Apr 25, 2011
    70
    If not at his absolute peak, I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive is still easily the best album he's recorded since Bill Clinton left office.
  7. Apr 22, 2011
    50
    Maybe working on a novel distracted Earle, but the feisty dust-kicker of old appears to have taken this one off.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 3, 2011
    10
    Steve Earle is in great form as a player and songwriter on this new album, and T-Bone Burnett may well have been born to be his producer.Steve Earle is in great form as a player and songwriter on this new album, and T-Bone Burnett may well have been born to be his producer. Spare and at times haunting, this is Earle at his most insightful. Highlights include Waitin' On the Sky, God is God, Every Part of Me and This City, which go straight to the Greatest Hits playlist. Expand
  2. May 5, 2011
    10
    Steve Earle's I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive, has to be one of the most important CD's of 2011. "Ghosts sing sad western songs forSteve Earle's I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive, has to be one of the most important CD's of 2011. "Ghosts sing sad western songs for the whole broken world." Steve Earle is about healing, recovery, being honest, open and willing to try an sort this mess out. He is a visionary not a Springsteen clone. This guy is stepping out of the box and I would say he has more of The Clash where Springsteen was U2. A guy who draws his art work, produces and makes sense out of the confusion. "Waitin' on the Sky" undid everything "Lucy in the Sky" did for me. Get this CD, this is a CD about grief and an artist trying to make sense of loss and his Dad's passing. OMG this one is why I love music and grateful for someone to take it to another level. Last thought from The Clash's song Clampdown... "What are we going to do now?" well I think this is the "what we are doing". Wake us up Steve, everyone is being awoken and it is the art of a man with a guitar. The only CD I bought in 2011. Collapse