Illinois

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 685 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 685

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This album deserves all the hype it's garnered. It really is an ambitious, epic masterpiece. Sufjan Stevens creates not only one of the best written records in our generation, but also one of the best produced records of all time. The experimentation is bold, and all of it fits perfectly together. No one song sounds the same. All In All, Illinois is a beautiful, haunting, lovely recordThis album deserves all the hype it's garnered. It really is an ambitious, epic masterpiece. Sufjan Stevens creates not only one of the best written records in our generation, but also one of the best produced records of all time. The experimentation is bold, and all of it fits perfectly together. No one song sounds the same. All In All, Illinois is a beautiful, haunting, lovely record that shouldn't be missed by anyone who is musically inclined. A Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    The arrengements in this album are beautiful. Sufjan's voice blends with the folk/pop he sings. The lyrics honoring the state of Illinois makes justice as compliments. The melodies he created, for example, in a song like "Chicago"- far best of the album- has an orchestra sound that reminds us how good music can be. Sufjan's hardest, but best work.
  3. May 12, 2011
    9
    i liked this album very much. good music. great music. the lyricism is great and touching. what more can i say....................................................................................................
  4. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    The perfect record.. and it seemed to come out of nowhere. Michigan was fantastic and so was Seven Swans, but this just wasn't expected. I don't know. Sufjan can be a master at music and this is probably the best example of that.
  5. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    Sufjan Stevens finds his stride and then some with his second state-dedicated album. Illinois is fun and sad, catchy and haunting, seemingly simple yet undeniably brilliant. Chicago will be stuck in your head for days, The Predatory Wasp is heartbreaking and beautiful. Phenomenal stuff.
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Sufjan Stevens couldn't sound any sweeter, deeper and honest than in this album. Describing this state, combining with this description his memories, with so many details that will make you feel that you're there, even when you don't know it, as me. the first song is a beautiful introduction to this album of 22 songs that will never make you tired of them. It's one of those albums that youSufjan Stevens couldn't sound any sweeter, deeper and honest than in this album. Describing this state, combining with this description his memories, with so many details that will make you feel that you're there, even when you don't know it, as me. the first song is a beautiful introduction to this album of 22 songs that will never make you tired of them. It's one of those albums that you can listen entirely without skipping any song: nor the happy ones as "Chicago", the nostalgic ones as "The Predatory Wasp Of Th Palisades Is Out To Get Us" or the obscure ones as "John Wayne Gacy Jr.". I think that a lot of people would agree with me if I sat that this is the masterpiece of Sufjan Stevens. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    Rich, expansive, deep, just a really really good record through and through.
  8. Apr 5, 2017
    9
    This is some of Stevens' best work and a staple for his music career. This would be the first album I would direct someone to if they had never previously listened to his work. The melodies, orchestral elements, and dense lyrics are something you will not find with any other artist in the music world. Sufjan delivers remarkably on an album that will stand the test of time for years.
  9. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Obviously a gifted multi instrumentalist who has written some of the most wonderful songs. Soothing and creative this will last a lifetime. Get a good sound system and listen to beauty in sonic form.
  10. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    From start to finish, a masterpiece concept heavy album. Deep, heavy, impeccably easy to listen to, and highly addictive. You will quickly fall in love with the highlight tracks, which, although the whole album is mere perfection, truly stand out. Illinois begins with "Concerning UFO Sighting near Highland, Illinois;" a siren song of flutes that hypnotize and capture your imagination--theFrom start to finish, a masterpiece concept heavy album. Deep, heavy, impeccably easy to listen to, and highly addictive. You will quickly fall in love with the highlight tracks, which, although the whole album is mere perfection, truly stand out. Illinois begins with "Concerning UFO Sighting near Highland, Illinois;" a siren song of flutes that hypnotize and capture your imagination--the overture to an incredibly journey through Illinois. "Come on! Feel the Illinois!" an extraordinary piece that makes your ears thank you for blessing them with the suite sounds of Sufjan Stevens. "Jacksonville," a nice, old-country ballade, and "Chicago," an amazing climax to the album. This album is far from disappointing, and where its highs hit and truly hits with a BANG! Expand
  11. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums of all time. This is a work that will be treasured by many for decades and centuries to come. If you disagree with this statement, I recommend listening more closely.
  12. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    I just listened to this again ... for maybe the 100th time. It just grows in depth and beauty. Steven's voice is haunting, delicate. The lyrics are touching, horrific, lifting. The arrangements are glorious, inspiring. Does it ever become unlistenable?
  13. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    This would be rated a 10, if Michigan had not been created. While this album expands greatly on Michigan, it lacks the emotions of Michigan, which is what made it great. If this could keep those emotions, it would be a 10, but it is gone. Anyways, what lacks in emotion is made up for in grandiose instrumentation, choir chants, and some extra epicness. The lack of emotions is the only flawThis would be rated a 10, if Michigan had not been created. While this album expands greatly on Michigan, it lacks the emotions of Michigan, which is what made it great. If this could keep those emotions, it would be a 10, but it is gone. Anyways, what lacks in emotion is made up for in grandiose instrumentation, choir chants, and some extra epicness. The lack of emotions is the only flaw I can find. A- Expand
  14. Jun 20, 2017
    9
    I'm not giving ten just because i think is a very important number for very important albums (See "Ok Computer by Radiohead). But this is truly a masterpiece.

    Sufjan is a great songrwiter capable of writing deep and haunting songs like "Casimir Pulasky day" and "The Predatory wasp of the palisades is out to get us". I'd like to give say "X song is the best song of this album, check
    I'm not giving ten just because i think is a very important number for very important albums (See "Ok Computer by Radiohead). But this is truly a masterpiece.

    Sufjan is a great songrwiter capable of writing deep and haunting songs like "Casimir Pulasky day" and "The Predatory wasp of the palisades is out to get us".

    I'd like to give say "X song is the best song of this album, check it out and see if you like it" but honestly half the album is a pure masterpiece, a quart are litteral fillers and the last quart is "just" very very good.

    You know an album is a masterpiece when the worst track is "just very good".
    Expand
  15. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite albums at all time - catchy, beautiful and haunting (especially for someone who's actually from Illinois). Many of the tracks stand out on their own, but as an album the whole thing flows perfectly. Lov it.
  16. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    I was going to give this album a 9, the only flaw being length. Then I realized that Illinois is much more than an album, it's a journey from start to finish with checkpoints throughout. This album can be listened to for it's single songs, but even the noodling and such as the end and in-between some songs adds tremendous weight to the depth of this album. It's 7 years after it's releaseI was going to give this album a 9, the only flaw being length. Then I realized that Illinois is much more than an album, it's a journey from start to finish with checkpoints throughout. This album can be listened to for it's single songs, but even the noodling and such as the end and in-between some songs adds tremendous weight to the depth of this album. It's 7 years after it's release and I'm still listening to it as if it were brand new, picking out little things and enjoying it more and more with each time. Expand
  17. Jan 7, 2015
    7
    Nice acoustic music, well arranged with some good female voice choruses. Doesn't have that "bite" I require from really great music, but it has high musical qualities, nevertheless.
  18. Danielle
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    I LOVE THIS ALBUM. I cannot stop playing it. Sufjan is one of my favorite artists.
  19. KeithR
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    I was first exposed to Sufjan's music about two years ago when the shockingly good Michigan disc was released. Who else out there was self-mixing and composing banjo, acoustic guitar, Trumpet, xylophone, vibraphone, drums and god knows what other instruments into lush, vibrant tone poems? Michigan was a breath of fresh air and unlike anything else I had ever heard. It told a story as I was first exposed to Sufjan's music about two years ago when the shockingly good Michigan disc was released. Who else out there was self-mixing and composing banjo, acoustic guitar, Trumpet, xylophone, vibraphone, drums and god knows what other instruments into lush, vibrant tone poems? Michigan was a breath of fresh air and unlike anything else I had ever heard. It told a story as big as the Great Lakes but with all the personal detail that tied everything together and drew the listener into the state and into a state of mind. Could anyone possibly listen to Romulus and not empathize with Stevens as a child or feel the intimacy of "For the Widows in Paradise, For the Fatherless in Ypsilanti?" These stripped down compositions contrasted fantastically with the orchestral "All Good Naysayers, Speak Up! Or Forever Hold Your Peace!" and "Detroit, Lift Up Your Weary Head! (Rebuild! Restore! Reconsider!)" which gave the listener a sense of the mighty industrial power of the great mid-west. Next came last year's deeply spiritual Seven Swans release. I haven't been to church in at least 10 years (not counting weddings and funerals) but this collection of musings on the Bible (in particular Revelations) led me to contemplate my place in this world and the possiblity of an almighty creator (anyone want to discuss the Big Bang Theory or the theory of Evolution with Sufjan?). Oh yeah, and the music was out of this world as well. See "The Transfiguration" and "Seven Swans" for examples of that. So it was with great expections (No, I haven't been reading Dickens for the past seven months) I awaited the release of Illinois. Would it match the splendor and personal emotion of Michigan? Would it capture the religious themes of Seven Swans and translate it into palpable everyman's music? Where to begin? I'll begin simply and state that this is hands down the release of the year so far. No it doesn't have the catchiness of Spoon's "I Turn My Camera On" off the very good "Gimme Fiction" disc or the splendid imagery of the Decemberists on "Picaresque," but is both more intimate and more grand than either of these fine records. Illinois keeps me rapt throughout its 77-minute-plus running time, each time I pick up some new instrument or sound that only adds to the disc's grandeur. You may be a skeptic like I was when I first heard about Steven's plan to do an albumn on all 50 states. How could you possibly capture the essence of a whole state ( and more than 200 years of history) in one release? Without question Steven's only skirts the surface of the entirety of the state of Illinois but through songs such as unweildy titled, ""The Black Hawk War, or, How to Demolish an Entire Civilization and Still Feel Good About Yourself in the Morning, or, We Apologize for the Inconvenience But You're Going to Have to Leave Now, or, 'I have fought the Big Knives and will continue to fight them until they are off our lands!,' "Jacksonville" and "John Wayne Gacey" he manages to cover quite a bit of ground. Highlights of the disc include what may prove to be Sufjan's breakout hit on Indie radio, the eminately singable, "Chicago," a song that is more about our need to travel to try and escape our problems and lethargy than about the broad shouldered city it is named after. Don't fret, The City of Chicago more than gets its due in the third track on the disc, "Come on, feel the Illinoise, Part II"" and "The Man of Metropolis Steals Our Hearts." two mind-blowing compositions that weave Steven's hushed vocals with numerous brass instruments, electric and acoustic gutars, strings, percusion instruments and choirs to convey the gravity of the great city. Perhaps it is in the use of these strings and choirs that this release differs the most "Michigan" and "Seven Swans." Steven's ability to draw us into his personal experiences can be found on this release as well, as the deeply moving "Casimir Pulaski Day," "Decatur" and "The Predatory Wasp of The Palisades Is Out To Get Us!" draw heavily on his formative years in both imagery and content. Time to wrap this review up as I've rambled on enough and frankly I'm at work and desparate to get in my car and listen to this for the 30th time in less than a week. Buy it now!! This man is a musical genius and needs to be heard by those in the know! P.S. I strongly encourage everyone to check out Pitchfork Record's glowing review of this masterpiece for further confirmation that this disc is well worth the purchase price and is one of the best of 2005. Expand
  20. JoshB
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Wow wow wow. Nothing says it better. This is an amazing album from start to finish. Beautiful music, beautiful songwriting. Sufjan is a true wonder.
  21. SansB
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    This album is pure bliss
  22. AustinS
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    predatory wasp of the palisades! - the best thing to write a song about ever
  23. DaveF
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    Simply superb.
  24. JamesC
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Best album of the year, by a mile.
  25. TorM
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Just magical. Hard to believe that 'Michigan' could be matched or bettered but this album would seem to do that. The arrangements are staggering, the harmonies are heart-breaking and the lyrics are inspired. Stunning.
  26. TH
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    Absolute best album of the year. Everybody, regardless of personal taste or interests, should be made to listen to this album at least once, but preferably until they love it -- which will probably only take one listen, anyway.
  27. LeahT
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    One of the most beautifully crafted albums I've ever heard. It can't top "Seven Swans" but that's completely off the chart. Sufjan creates pop symphonies and delicate folk songs. He speaks of serial killers, cancer, night zombies, predatory wasps, youthful ignorance and freedom, and God with such an honest and telling nature that hardly any one else possesses. Lord, One of the most beautifully crafted albums I've ever heard. It can't top "Seven Swans" but that's completely off the chart. Sufjan creates pop symphonies and delicate folk songs. He speaks of serial killers, cancer, night zombies, predatory wasps, youthful ignorance and freedom, and God with such an honest and telling nature that hardly any one else possesses. Lord, it's fantastic. Plus, Sufjan plays about a million instruments and even employs a string quartet this time around! You must hear it for yourself. Expand
  28. mkf
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    stunning!
  29. matta
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    One of those rare cd's that is absolutely perfect and deserving of a ten. Everything on this album contributes to it's brilliance and grandeur-yes, even the little five or ten second "tracks" that detractors might refer to as uselss filler. Not a single misstep, but standouts include the title song, which makes me want to cry every time I listen to it, John Wayne Macy Jr., One of those rare cd's that is absolutely perfect and deserving of a ten. Everything on this album contributes to it's brilliance and grandeur-yes, even the little five or ten second "tracks" that detractors might refer to as uselss filler. Not a single misstep, but standouts include the title song, which makes me want to cry every time I listen to it, John Wayne Macy Jr., Jacksonville, etc. I can't listen them all, but please, get this album. Hands down the best album of the year so far. Expand
  30. TynanD
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    The finest album of the year, clasped-hands down.
  31. DavidW
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Album of the year, for sure. I would rarely give out a rating of 10, but this album is most deserving of it. Sufjan Stevens is the best singer/songwriter alive today. This album is so ambitious, beautiful, haunting, expansive... just wonderful. It is similar to Greetings from Michigan, which is not a bad thing. The arrangements have surely improved since that album. I can't stop Album of the year, for sure. I would rarely give out a rating of 10, but this album is most deserving of it. Sufjan Stevens is the best singer/songwriter alive today. This album is so ambitious, beautiful, haunting, expansive... just wonderful. It is similar to Greetings from Michigan, which is not a bad thing. The arrangements have surely improved since that album. I can't stop playing this album. Expand
  32. MarioT.K.
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    This is utterly huge and reminds me of nothing because I haven't heard anything like e.g. "Chicago" before. Just give it a listen to "Casimir Pulaski Day" and have a good time.
  33. peterd
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    unbeleiveable.
  34. RJ
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    Amazing music that just keeps going and going. Best I've hear this year.
  35. vincentx
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    At the moment there are only 2 names that matter in music: Rufus Wainwright and Sufjan Stevens. With this albums Sufjan is a notch more genius than Rufus. What a perfect album, what gracious music, what splendour! 48 more "States" albums to go...if he keeps this up, the future is bright indeed....
  36. JoshH
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    This album is astounding. It's the musical equivalent of movies like Magnolia, Short Cuts and Crash -- it's all over the place, but makes sense when taken in context of the entire work. Highlights include Casimir Pulaski Day; John Wayne Gacy, Jr.; Chicago; and everything else. Well worth whatever you pay for it.
  37. JeffR
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    Brilliant. While similar in tone to his Michigan album, Illinois represents a leap forward in both songwriting and arrangement. This year's best.
  38. PoloP
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    This album is amazing. Brilliant.
  39. AmandaP
    Aug 4, 2005
    8
    Very nice, but the more expansive it gets, the more I miss the quiet intimacy of Seven Swans, which I still consider his most personal, and best, work.
  40. CosmoPrelog
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Only a notorious jerk could dislike this record. An amazing achievement. Insanely good.
  41. IanS
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    magical!
  42. JohnF
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    Eclectic, heartfelt, but not sappy. No crying-in-your-beer Paul Simon schmaltz here...Mellow, but digs deep into your psyche.
  43. Kakvox
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    Best album of the year in any genre - hands down.
  44. EmilyB
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    This cd owns your life.
  45. fattakinskywalker
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Without a doubt the best album i have heard in a year!! Sounds fresh, exciting and intelligent.
  46. peteb
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    utterly brillant!
  47. jackorff
    Feb 6, 2006
    8
    So, it's nice. You ca't say it's not nice. It deserves an 8. I guess. I don't know. I never listened to it after about two weeks. it's nIce. makes you feel like the stick cotton-candy gets wrapped around. Like filling a hot-tub with kool-aid, and splashing around with your very best chums. More thrilling than a good deed, and more than enough to hold over So, it's nice. You ca't say it's not nice. It deserves an 8. I guess. I don't know. I never listened to it after about two weeks. it's nIce. makes you feel like the stick cotton-candy gets wrapped around. Like filling a hot-tub with kool-aid, and splashing around with your very best chums. More thrilling than a good deed, and more than enough to hold over accountants until the next Dave Matthews album drops. "One Sweet World" you guys! I don't know. It is technically good. That's not really debateable, Patrick Argh. It's just a little too good, something I suspect it knows, and that - for some reason - is irritating. Cloying, precious, joyful. Give me distortion and scratches. This could pass as a recruiting tool for Vatican 3. I'm really not sure why I gave it an eight. That I know it probably deserves it just makes me resent it even more. It doesn't care if you listen. It needs no reassurance. It is a series of saccharine song-cycles subsumed within a strange sense of self-satisfaction. Sssssssso. decide for yourself: if you read bulk fowards from your aunts about the importance of living today like it was your last, most beautiful day, this may be what you're looking for. Otherwise, Hypermagic Mountain awaits. Let's go there now... Expand
  48. BrianK
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    Melodic to the point of perfection. Some of the most beautiful music you will ever hear. Album of the year.
  49. DonN
    Oct 10, 2005
    7
    I'm getting a post-christian, after school lunch special feeling when listening to this. Yes it's voicings are fresh, lyrics are MFA without the pretension but, this is not pop music. You get the sense that the insular small town white boy is just getting his rocks off on some hyper-orchestration.
  50. CiaranC
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    I was really amazed with this albumn, I've been listening to it on and off over the last few months and have really fallen inlove with it.Sufjan's voice is really soft on the ears but still commands your attention.The use of the rest of the band as a backing chorus and sometimes singing entire choruses together really adds body to the songs.The arrangements are excellent and the I was really amazed with this albumn, I've been listening to it on and off over the last few months and have really fallen inlove with it.Sufjan's voice is really soft on the ears but still commands your attention.The use of the rest of the band as a backing chorus and sometimes singing entire choruses together really adds body to the songs.The arrangements are excellent and the variety of piano,guitar and brass used in the songs really gives this albumn depth.I'd give this albumn ten but nothings perfect. Expand
  51. Adam
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    innovative
  52. StigK
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    My only problem about giving this album a 10, is that Sufjan might be capebable of makeing an even better album about NY - that is, when he finally leaves the place... Illinois is both intimate and grand in a way no other album I´ve ever heard.
  53. marck
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    This is beautiful. Without doubt the most acomplshed album of the year by far. I was dubious about buying this album after reading all the reviews. Believe . . . it's even better.
  54. rudiw
    Oct 4, 2005
    9
    One of the best albums of 2005! (so far)
  55. AustinL
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    What oftern gets ignored about this album is how well the songs can hold up alone, let alone on the album
  56. MW
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    There's so much there to marvel at that it's rarely left my player since it came out.
  57. AdelaidaS
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Best album of 2005. Don't let the first listen fool you, it takes a couple of listens to grasp the intricacy and masterful musicianship of this album. You'll probably learn something, too.
  58. OskarE
    Jul 11, 2005
    10
    Beautiful album, getting better and better with each listen (almost a hundred now!). Such a seemingly effortlessly crafted album, so subtle...not a microsecond of oversentimentalty, still one of the most passionate, emotionally charged albums I've ever heard.
  59. RamaS
    Jul 11, 2005
    10
    This is the first time I vote in here. And this is because of this perfectly beautiful album. It just blows me away, I can't tell the last time in recent years I ever feel so sure to give a 10 on an album. The music and the lyrics are just extraordinary.
  60. MattC
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    Sufjan is a genius, period... I cannot get enough of this album
  61. RoMac
    Jul 11, 2005
    9
    The Gacy song is super creepy. Creepy enough that while I can respect the artistry, I don't want to hear it anymore. Other than that, there are about 6 amazing songs. "Jacksonville," "Chicago" and "Casmir Pulaski Day" are staggering achievements of melody, lyric and instrumentation. Onward to Wisconsin Sufjan!
  62. TravisS
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    I need to be honest. I have followed this web site for the last two years and agree with 75% of their scores. I have been somewhat apprehensive to go out and buy their top rated albums without listening to them (I usually agree but sometimes they let me down). I really love indie rock music but never heard of Sufjan. I noticed all of the acclaim it got and was convinced to buy it (took me I need to be honest. I have followed this web site for the last two years and agree with 75% of their scores. I have been somewhat apprehensive to go out and buy their top rated albums without listening to them (I usually agree but sometimes they let me down). I really love indie rock music but never heard of Sufjan. I noticed all of the acclaim it got and was convinced to buy it (took me 5 stores to find the album in NYC). I have to admit that this is one of the best albums I have ever listend to. He is simply amazing. Everything about his music and supporting cast is golden to ears. It has convinced me that I have a lot to learn about the indie rock movement and that I need to check out more Sufjan albums. Anyone who enjoys music needs to pick up this album! Enjoy it and have a good one. Expand
  63. BjarteS
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    Sufjan's best album so far.
  64. AceKabob
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    Epic recording . . . An impressive expansion of the sounds on "Seven Swans" . . . Calling him "folk" seems a little, I don't know, insulting, because his musical vision is so grand . . . By comparison, I've always loved The Clash's "London Calling" because of the numerous musical genres represented on one album. Here, Stevens has similarly employed any number of Epic recording . . . An impressive expansion of the sounds on "Seven Swans" . . . Calling him "folk" seems a little, I don't know, insulting, because his musical vision is so grand . . . By comparison, I've always loved The Clash's "London Calling" because of the numerous musical genres represented on one album. Here, Stevens has similarly employed any number of instruments, time signatures, and music styles to create a beautiful album. Expand
  65. ElliottM
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    Utterly bewitching. It's one of the most wonderful things to be heard this year.
  66. bryanb
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    gorgeous and affecting
  67. marcs
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Too bad I can't give it an 11. This has just about everything:creative arrangements,diverse instrumentation,hooks hooks hooks and visually evocative lyrics. What's great is that the songs actually live up to their epic titles.
  68. ClaireD
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Sufjan Stevens has taken a huge risk and succeeded, going above and beyond anything he has ever done before musically.
  69. Jackm
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    This album exceeds the already high expectations I had for it. Simply amazing, simply the best album of the year so far and could possibly, more like easily, hold that status through the year. If you don't have it, get it and give it a few listens and let it grow and grow on you...and grow.
  70. whb
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Sufjan is one of the only musicians right now who takes music seriously. He takes everything so seriously, but without over earnest (ahem Bright Eyes) audacity. Rather, everything is connected and important from a wasp on his arm to a serial killer. This album is an amazing feat.
  71. MichaelK
    Jul 7, 2005
    9
    Sufjan has done it again!
  72. AaronS.
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    What a stunning album. A beautiful tone poem to my homestate. One of the most ambitious albums to come out this year.
  73. nicolos
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    Reich rythyms run thru this beauty. Glorious.
  74. JasonT
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    So far, no album released this year is even in the same class as "Illinois." Both heartbreaking and exciting, this is perhaps the best album since "The Creek That Drank The Cradle," only it may be better than even that. "John Wayne Gacy" is truly haunting, and the best song I've heard this year.
  75. AdamX
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    Brilliant. Just brilliant.
  76. AramisG
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    Plenty of people have given Sufjan Stevens favorable reviews I totally agree with. He is very talented and even if you agree with what I have to say you should still listen to his albums if you haven
  77. AlexB
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    Great album, almost no complaints, but I think it could have been tighter. Also, too much flute. Still one of the best albums this year though.
  78. joshm
    Aug 13, 2005
    10
    this guy has God given creativity and he uses it more than any other musical artist in history
  79. christopherw
    Aug 21, 2005
    10
    Best album of 2005 so far by a mile, would recommend this to anyone who knows what music is and should be all about.Well done Sufjan on an excellent recording!!
  80. BrandonR
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    A home run, if not a grand-slam, if not a pinch-hit grand-slam onto Waveland Ave. in the bottom of the ninth.
  81. timm
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums of this decade. Truly great music. The kind of music that would be top of the charts if the media were not controlled by giant media conglomerates.
  82. IanB
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    The most inspirational music that I have heard since the Dylan and folk era of the 60s/70's. Soulfull, haunting, with lyrics and harmonies that cut across generations. Cant wait for the next state.
  83. Keith
    Aug 5, 2005
    9
    This is one of those albums from which I have to step back and critique separate from my personal affection (or lack thereof) for the cd. Mr. Stevens is clearly a gifted musician, ridiculously so. This album, all of it, every note sung, played, and written is wonderfully original. He is an artist of the first rank in a musical climate that is downwright depressing for its lack of artistic This is one of those albums from which I have to step back and critique separate from my personal affection (or lack thereof) for the cd. Mr. Stevens is clearly a gifted musician, ridiculously so. This album, all of it, every note sung, played, and written is wonderfully original. He is an artist of the first rank in a musical climate that is downwright depressing for its lack of artistic vision and risk. I admire that he crafts songs so lyrically and musically intricate. And to say that his influences are ecclectically drawn is a vast understatement. And I look forward to listening to the album repeatedly. As with most singer-songwriters, the more I listen, the more I will come to like it, I'm sure, as his genuinely touching and intelligent songs come alive. I must confess that, while comparisons to Radiohead and Sigur Ros and other "art rock" musicians seem appropriate, I don't find his music as palatable as I do these others--but I suspect this is just a question of taste. I do find his musical style, while utterly accomplished, to be a little too cloying and precious. Tenderness and delicacy is no fault, even in a male singer, but here I find it, particularly when the volume of horns and strings and vocals are turned up, a little tiresome, almost syrupy, particularly some 15 songs in. What at first is completely transfixing and beuatiful, becomes almost, creepy? To me, Stevens is best when he keeps it simple. I kept wanting a bit more of an edge, just a bit, in the orchestral arrangements. But, these are I suppose minor complaints, and I admit to feeling guilty for having any against an album so intelligent and sensitive and unique. And even with my misgivings, I can't help but give the album a 9. It is an impressive achievement. Expand
  84. seant
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    so far (and barring any unforseeable events) this is the best album of 2005, perhaps the best of this young millenium. stevens somehow writes music that is both immensly universal and intensely personal at the same time. this album is simply unbelievable.
  85. JLD
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    a musical experience...so great!!
  86. mc
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    Absolutely fantastic, one of the few originals in today's musical landscape, Sufjan is brilliant.
  87. SoupS
    Sep 23, 2005
    7
    I liked it mostly but it's way too long and needs to change up more. It would've been a lot better if it had a lot less fluff.
  88. JohnScott
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    fantastic
  89. hotface.
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    This is the best album I've ever owned. &i have about 5,000, not including vinyl. So, that right there is saying something.
  90. JonL
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    beautiful album
  91. AlexD.T.
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    The songwriting's inspired, the musical arrangements are great. One of my favourite albums.
  92. JeffP
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    I have listened to Illinois for 2 months now. Can anybody help me get this out of my CD player. Blood,Sweat & Tears, John Sebastion, Paul Simon, and Elton John on stage being directed by Stravinsky's ghost this is how I try to relate the sound of this Indie aldum to my friends. If your tear ducts don't start twitching during the choral arrangement at the end of Predatory Wasp I have listened to Illinois for 2 months now. Can anybody help me get this out of my CD player. Blood,Sweat & Tears, John Sebastion, Paul Simon, and Elton John on stage being directed by Stravinsky's ghost this is how I try to relate the sound of this Indie aldum to my friends. If your tear ducts don't start twitching during the choral arrangement at the end of Predatory Wasp you are not human. But don't worry the zombie cheerleaders in the next cut will take care of you. Expand
  93. SteveC
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    May be the best album I have ever heard. I hear something new everytime. Every album seems to get better.
  94. laurag
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    one of the best this year.
  95. johnp
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Sufjan Stevens is an intelligent songwriter, one of my favorites.
  96. ja
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Ambitious yet enjoyable. Some instrumental filler, but the songs are all varied and full of wonderful arrangements. The best of 2005 this is.
  97. HuyN
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Wow. This album is amazing. I don't know if the comparison has been made, but the sounds on this album is definitely in the spirit SMILE and in many respects is superior. Pick it up with an open mind, listen to it a few times and odds are you will find nothing ill about the noise on this album.
  98. MikeM
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    A gorgeous album...one of the few that has changed my life
  99. JimD
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    This is the most interesting CD that I've heard this millenium. The layering and interplay of melodies and rhythm along with the transitions within many of the songs are just fantastic. There has not been a perfect CD/album, so there are some bumps in the road, such as portions tunes that are overly-repetitive, but these bumps are far and few between. A unique aspect of this CD is This is the most interesting CD that I've heard this millenium. The layering and interplay of melodies and rhythm along with the transitions within many of the songs are just fantastic. There has not been a perfect CD/album, so there are some bumps in the road, such as portions tunes that are overly-repetitive, but these bumps are far and few between. A unique aspect of this CD is how entertaining and interesting and humorous the titles and liner notes are. The theme of the CD and the heavily-researched and often heartfelt lyrics are another impessive component of this CD that make it a treasure, and one of the few that makes the "stuck on a desert island" lists. Expand
  100. billybob
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    Absolutely inspired. So beautiful, it can hardly be stood. Are you writing from the heart? Are you writing from the heart?
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. There's a distinct community theater vibe to the whole affair... but the majority of Illinois is alarmingly earnest.
  2. Stevens is simply one of the most talented artists creating music right now, period.
  3. Exhausting, enthralling, disorientating, celebratory, and contemplative, Sufjan Stevens has delivered another album that will keep us listening and educated till Christmas.