I'm Not Dead

  • Record Label: La Face
  • Release Date: Apr 4, 2006
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 209 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 209

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HarveyR
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    This album deffinatley needs to win The Album Of The Year at the next Grammies. She truley is this generations new Madonna.
  2. RickP
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    If this is main stream music, THEN I LOVE IT! GREAT WORK! This girl is a modern day Madoona!
  3. FionaO
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    This album is Pinks best yet!! It's vocally and lyrically intelligent and everyone should have a copy.
  4. CharlieCranker
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    How, Pink is CRANKING on this CD. She brings it all. The love, the hate, the passion and especially the spark that made Miz a huge success. I love this record. Daum, she's NOT DEAD AT ALL!
  5. RobertT
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    I am now completely obsessed with this gir's music. It's such an awakening!
  6. Celine
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    P!nks album is off the hook.
  7. IkeaNordik
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    Sweeden will love this record! It will go off!
  8. JoanneW
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    Love this! All of it! Every single song!
  9. JennyM
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    I love Pink. I think this album, critically will be seen as the pinicale of her career. It 's amazing. I'm sure she'll have amlot more comercial success but this folks is as good as it gets!
  10. RonaldD
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    P!nk! oh P!nk where have you been the past years! The wait is worth while..I'm Not Dead is really is a living proof that P!nk was just gone for a break and suddenly up for a geniusely crafted and engineered album for her fans and the audiences. Deffinitely one of the strongest album to be released in our decades and a much better one if not at par with Kelly Calrkson's sophomore P!nk! oh P!nk where have you been the past years! The wait is worth while..I'm Not Dead is really is a living proof that P!nk was just gone for a break and suddenly up for a geniusely crafted and engineered album for her fans and the audiences. Deffinitely one of the strongest album to be released in our decades and a much better one if not at par with Kelly Calrkson's sophomore album Breakaway. The mediocrity, the honesty, and the sublime, spunky scrutinies of the albums song by song just proved the ever reinventing artist that is P!nk... Lastly, I certainly have to leave 3 words...Two Thumb Up! Expand
  11. PatrickI
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    I didn't think she could top Mizundastood but she has!
  12. TrevorE
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    This is brilliant. What else can I say.
  13. SophieM
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    I was earglery anticipating this album as Pink is so unpredictable. And yet again, my money was spent VERY well. I loev this record. It was amazing. IT has everything for all kinds of music. Pop, rock, r&b, electric, folk, and even a hint of country, all done in Pink's amazing, sassy style!
  14. MarenA
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    Awesome album!! BEST BUY=)
  15. MarieL
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    just f*ck*ng great!!!!!
  16. Elineohohoh
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    It's cool. Buy it.
  17. rochellev
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    This cd rocks, the hell out of ya. it's amazing beautiful and cool in the same time..I LOVE IT
  18. BenD
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    I have to say Pink is one of my favourit Pop Artists these days! She's not like all the others what makes her damn hot - and the record is good too!
  19. Kit
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    amazing!
  20. PrudenceL
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    I love it to bits!!
  21. MatthewS
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    A great cd, standout tracks that can rock any room. A cut above all of the other pop vixens, as pink has the attitude to back up her bravado. She goes all out and makes a splendid and unapologetic jab at the White House, Bush, more specifically. She shows that she can have great pop instincts as well with tracks that one up Kelly Clarkson's massive 2nd album. Pink, is here to stay. A great cd, standout tracks that can rock any room. A cut above all of the other pop vixens, as pink has the attitude to back up her bravado. She goes all out and makes a splendid and unapologetic jab at the White House, Bush, more specifically. She shows that she can have great pop instincts as well with tracks that one up Kelly Clarkson's massive 2nd album. Pink, is here to stay. She far from dead. She's just getting the party started. Expand
  22. mikes
    Apr 5, 2006
    8
    I'm not really a pink fan, never really paid much attention to her before. However, I advise people to ignore these bad reviews; especially New York Times because they no nothing about music anyway. Read allmusic.com's review. This is a refreshing pop album, right up their with the underated Shakira album, actually probably better.
  23. HannahD
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    I loved this album. It's her best wrok, not on weak track. So many highlights, to many potencial hits!
  24. TracieH
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Now Try This!
  25. RandyB
    Apr 9, 2006
    9
    I'd never heard any of Pink's (excuse me, P!nk) music when I purchased I'M NOT DEAD on the off-chance yesterday. Not only am I a sucker for amazing cover art, but hearing some of the reviews (especially the Rolling Stone review where she's compared to Madonna and Courtney Love) perked my interest to no end. I bought this at the same time that I bought Lacuna I'd never heard any of Pink's (excuse me, P!nk) music when I purchased I'M NOT DEAD on the off-chance yesterday. Not only am I a sucker for amazing cover art, but hearing some of the reviews (especially the Rolling Stone review where she's compared to Madonna and Courtney Love) perked my interest to no end. I bought this at the same time that I bought Lacuna Coil's KARMACODE, and honestly, I expected that to be the better CD-boy was I wrong. By the end of the night, I had determined KARMACODE an Evanescence clone, and I"M NOT DEAD to be a ballsy, well-thought out, clever, and boisterously great record. "Dear Mr. President" leaves P!nk's political views up to no interpretation, and gives even Garbage's "Metal Heart" and Juliette Lewis' "American Boy vol2" a run for their money in terms of lyrical deftness; while it might not be the deepest track here, "Cuz I Can" showcases one of P!nk's most valuable assets-the ability to mock even herself and her fiery ambition, and it makes the track work far better than if she were taking her words too seriously; "U+Ur Hand" is a thoroughly rude kissoff to a horny bastard in a bar; first single "Stupid Girls" denounces well, stupid girls, but uses wit to scathe them rather than fury: "What happened to the dream of a girl president?/She's dancing in a video next to 50 Cent...Disasters all around/A world of despair/ Your only concern is 'will it fuck up my hair?' ". Even the tracks that don't seem quite right at first grow on you and the misses blossom into gems. But not to worry-those are few and far between. Just as Shakira did last year with her ORAL FIXATION set, P!nk is almost certainly destined to be the pop artist of the year, and she's the girl who won't just have the most cake-she'll demand it be triple chocolate mousse. Expand
  26. RogerG
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    If this isn't one of the best selling albums this year, it'd be a CRIME!
  27. HazbiA
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    This album is mixed... a lot of great songs! Maybe her best album so far
  28. AlyciaM
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    Awesome CD. Executively produced by an awesome artist, who's career is nothing short of AWESOME!
  29. RondaB
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    Pink is the incarnation of pop perfection. Mainstream music should be so lucky!
  30. christined
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    I absolutely love pink. This album is her best yet.
  31. CindyD
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    she rocks
  32. cheguevara
    Jun 5, 2006
    9
    the last of the pop tarts to be standing and with something to really say. the songs are stripped down, over glossed, catchy minimalism!! i love her voice and skills, kudos to the resurection. long live p!nk
  33. MikeM
    Aug 7, 2006
    9
    I like it but it doesn't come close to Misundztood. Dear Mr. President is an awsome song
  34. JakeM
    Oct 28, 2007
    8
    Brilliant album! Pink is an amazing singer and writer. While there are a few weak points, they are completely overshadowed by the amazing song. In Australia, I'm Not Dead has been in the top 20 for over 80 weeks in a row and counting. The public can't be wrong.
  35. fredricE
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    What to say??A must have, this album is soo brilliant
  36. NaomiWatts1
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Great CD. I really enjoyed every song. No fillers. A+
  37. ChristianR
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    Super!!!!!!!!!!!
  38. mikeb
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    great album
  39. HarryP
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    I was att my girlfirend's place, heard this CD on and it was love at first sight. I brought the album, and am now in love with every song! This girl seriously kicks ass!
  40. JonasB
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    Amazing. Deffinately an amazing record!
  41. MattL
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    This album is one of the Best POP records In recent years. I can't remember a time when a serious political message and just balls out rockin tunes sat together on a CD. Cool for that alone, it's a really strong record. NY times need to pull it's head out!
  42. Sean
    Apr 3, 2006
    8
    A very good album. Pink, once again, expands her horizons. Who Knew, Dear Mr. President, and U + Ur Hand are standouts.
  43. JanisB
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    Wow, I love this record. Probably the most complete pop record of this year. Pink will be back in a big way!
  44. andy
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    she's a daring, fun, non-run-of-the-mill pop artist. thank god for pink.
  45. BradS
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    I love pink. After reading Rollnig Stone's latest review about this album (which was glowing! I wonder how it will affect this score on here once it's released) I went out and brought it. LOVE IT!
  46. AshleeL
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    I Love this record. Each song is my JAM!
  47. AnthonyH
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    I want everyone to get this album. If you don't, you are a deprived person!
  48. TonyM
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT~!
  49. SarahT
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    This girl keeps getting better. I love this because it's so different to anything we've heard in main stream music. I hope this woman grows to become a legen!
  50. MichelleW
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    This woman is amazing, just when you think she cant get any better...She proves us all wrong!
  51. oobiewan
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    This CD is the shiznit. Perfect mixture of happy, sad and insanity.. Pink rocks once again. Buy it or be an idiot :)
  52. TrevorJ
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    Brilliant!
  53. JohannaM
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    My fave album so far=D
  54. PhilipP
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    Great album, worth its weight in gold!
  55. Footychick
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    P!nk delivers once again. It's awesome, pick it up!
  56. JohnL
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    Far out, I am now a converted fan. My sis brought the CD, and once I heard it blaring throughout the house, I had to get my own copy!
  57. HollyB
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    Fantastic record!
  58. AmandaH
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    Sooo GREAT!!!!!
  59. MandeeC
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! P!nk is fabulous and so is this album!! I could buy it 10 times over! :p
  60. JessicaT
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    This album is the best of Pink so far. It consist deep going an very personal songs and fun songs like Stupid Girls. I just love it!
  61. LukeW
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    All of my peeps at Orange County loev this record. It's jammin! We play it at our parties. Cuz I Can and U+Ur Hand GO OFF!
  62. HeatherJ
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    I love this album. P!nk has definetly proved she's not dead..I'm so loving this album
  63. TatjanaW
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    P!nk is the greatest! And this album is just amazing, just listen to the songs, it's one of her bests ...
  64. chantals
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    I love this album, pink is tha best!!
  65. HeatherP
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    please buy this album and support one of music's most talented acts!
  66. AndyR
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    HA! She's back! And in a way that'll make people WANT HER SO BAD!
  67. IvanF
    Apr 5, 2006
    7
    Good album, however Stupid Girls is the only track that has a catchy tune.
  68. DaveC
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    This is by far her best work. Who Knew is a track that could easily rival "Since You Been Gone" As one of the best songs in recent years. "Dear Mr. President" is a ballsy move. Hat's off to her for using HER voice to speak to millions. "I'm Lonely" is another brilliant piece of pop fluff, and it melts on the ears beautifully the way well written pop should. I could go on about This is by far her best work. Who Knew is a track that could easily rival "Since You Been Gone" As one of the best songs in recent years. "Dear Mr. President" is a ballsy move. Hat's off to her for using HER voice to speak to millions. "I'm Lonely" is another brilliant piece of pop fluff, and it melts on the ears beautifully the way well written pop should. I could go on about every other track on the record, but I'll leave to you to give it a gander. You won't regret it. Expand
  69. MichaelA
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Im so proud of her for returning back to her Mizunderstood roots and pumping out a consistant and delicious record. It will definitly have more than a couple hit singles. I'd bet money on it.
  70. HectorM
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    I loved how this album really transends into something quite amazing. I'm proud of Pink. I was always a fan, but this albums shows why I love her so much!
  71. ChrisT
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    Anything great album from a very good artist. She has proved yet again that she's got balls and can make a point and make a catchy tune at the same time.
  72. HillaryV
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    This album already deserves album of the year the next years Grammies!
  73. SteveT
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    I live and breathe this woman. IT's amazing, she's creating her best work and it's her fourth album!
  74. christineh
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    P!nk Rocks!!!!
  75. patrickd
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    Pink knows how to rock.
  76. SeatherT
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    Daum girl, where you been for the last 2 1/2 years? Keep making music like this and I might become one of your biggest fans!
  77. SadbiH
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    The best everrrrrrrrrrr
  78. FaithL
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    Pink's best CD yet! Loving her, she rocks out. She has talent coming out of every pore. She is dynamic, funny, extremely versatile, and poignantly vulnerable.
  79. JoshS
    Jun 21, 2006
    10
    how could you not love this album she is the best and she rocks and this album makes her rock so much more P!NK your a legend and i love you.this album gives younger people to realise that they dont have to change to be cool.i love you P!NK
  80. RobbieC
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    An engaging listen. Another solid record from Pink, which with 3 already under her belt, is an accomplishment. Some of the songs sound a little too Kelly Clarkson-esque... uncomfortably manufactured for someone whose entire image is based on the rebellion against such prefabricated pop. They aren't necessarily bad songs, but they do seem to be tremulously hanging on the edge of mediocrity.
  81. JorgeS
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    I totally enjoy this allbum, it's awsome how she can make an allbum with songs that are just as enjoyable as from her last record
  82. BillyD
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    she rulezssszszs!!
  83. tlctaurus
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    Amazing album. One of the best of the decade! I agree. The title song "I'm Not Dead" is one of the most beautiful ballads I have ever heard.
  84. InaS.
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    Great album! One of the few CDs I've picked up in my lifetime where I didn't even attempt to hit the "next" button.
  85. MickeyM
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    Love this album so much! None of the songs are fillers, it's all TOP QUALITY material!
  86. JosieM
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    Man this record RULES! It has everythign, ANYONE would want in a top quality. Pink is really a versatile girl. I'm excited to hear what she brigs out next!
  87. AntholeH
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    I so the world to hear this AMAZING record! I want everyone to love it like I have!
  88. Matt
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    Pink is one of the most interesting performers in pop music. She's true to form on I'm Not Dead.
  89. MichaelP
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    Amazing record. Her best yet!
  90. HelenW
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    This is such a great album. SO many people of the forum community love this record. Pink's back in a huge way!
  91. JennyP
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    Pink has really out done herself. I wonder if she will ever be able to top this amazing album!
  92. HenryH
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    There is not one song on this album that I dislike. I love it all!
  93. Miguel
    Apr 6, 2006
    8
    Not as good as her last album, but wonderful nonetheless. What an underestimated talent.
  94. [Anonymous]
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    This is not one of her best albums. This IS her best album! Way to go P!nk! Every song is listenable and worth multiple plays, her voice is better than ever, and the lyrics are very personal, but great at the same time.
  95. Nathan
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    Great album, best yet! Two words; buy it!
  96. JohnM
    May 22, 2006
    9
    This album has great lyrics and the best is that most of the songs are very catchy. I really think that this is Pink's best album yet.
  97. DineshP
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    Super Stuff. I never bought a PINK Album till i heard 'Who Knew' was comfortable listening to the bigger hits that got played on the radio. And i like almost all songs on this album. Its true. Its powerful. fun and wild. Way to go
  98. kayla
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Amazing. it has something for everyone, and never fails to be controversial--what's not to love?
  99. JonD
    May 30, 2007
    8
    If the song 'Dear Mr. President' weren't on this album, i would have giveen it a 7. I am currently doing a US History project in which i must chose a piece of art that protests George W. Bsuh and then write about it. I must say that my teacher loved the idea of this song and my friends that have listened to it say that they love it! It really grabs the listener's If the song 'Dear Mr. President' weren't on this album, i would have giveen it a 7. I am currently doing a US History project in which i must chose a piece of art that protests George W. Bsuh and then write about it. I must say that my teacher loved the idea of this song and my friends that have listened to it say that they love it! It really grabs the listener's attention through a catchy tune. P!NK throughs in important current issues such as abortion, gay rights, the war in Iraq and serveral other political issues. I like this song because it is important that young students like me get ingaged in politics and leanr what is goin on throughout the world! PS: Just a cool fact about the song 'Dear Mr. President'...Did you know that P!NK was only allowed to play it on one TV show in the United States (Jimmy Kimmel Live). No other TV stations allowed it becasue of its criticism of our President. P!NK herself says she doesn't want it to becaome a single because commercialism would make the song lose its meaning, however she sings the song in other countries such as Germany and Australia. For more information on P!NK go to her homepage at: http://www.pinkspage.com/ Expand
  100. Khalilb
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    One of the best of the decade.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Blender
    70
    Striking [and] confident. [Apr 2006, p.116]
  2. It's when Pink steps outside of expectations that she turns exciting.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Even her misses are ballsier and blusterier than most everybody else's recent hits. [7 Apr 2006, p.58]