Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    60
    It's the heart of the matter, and the song that sets the bar. [Oct 2011, p.122]
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    60
    The frat-boy humour is wearing a tad thin. [Oct 2011, p.97]
  3. Aug 31, 2011
    60
    While I may appreciate this album despite some of its fundamental flaws, I'm still not exactly clamoring for another Chili Peppers record. As stated before, I'm With You doesn't suggest a future for the band: instead, it showcases one stuck in the mud, capable of churning its wheels but not moving forward.
  4. Aug 29, 2011
    60
    It's the band's refusal to sound older, or wiser, that's integral to their charm.
  5. Aug 26, 2011
    60
    The arrangements have a tendency to rely on Flea's basslines to compensate for Frusciante's absence, but there's still enough zip and zeal in the stronger tracks to affirm the Chili Peppers' relevance in the modern musical climate.
  6. Aug 26, 2011
    60
    14 songs over an hour's running time is a lot of nonsense to digest. For the Chili Peppers, songwriting is a medium without a message, unless it's just to let your inhibitions go and dance.
  7. Aug 26, 2011
    60
    Nevertheless, I'm With You is a strong record, with Brendan's Death Song and Police Station among the highlights, especially considering the challenge of replacing Frusciante's creativity.
  8. 60
    Instrumentally, it's one of the stronger efforts from the band, but altogether it doesn't do enough.
  9. Aug 26, 2011
    60
    I'm With You is a solid, decent enough 10th album, but it's far from vital.
  10. Aug 25, 2011
    60
    Business goes on essentially as usual across this collection of muscular funk-rock songs, though it falls short in the ultra-catchy-hooks department.
  11. Aug 19, 2011
    60
    Amid this poor material, the Chili Peppers still manage t deliver a handful of very very good songs. [Sep 2011, p.86]
  12. 50
    The Chili Peppers try to strike that same balance on their latest, I'm With You, which may turn out to be a minor installment in their canon but still accomplishes the impossible.
  13. Sep 7, 2011
    50
    I'm With You is the sound of a band that continues to coast off past achievements.
  14. The very fact long-time collaborator Rick Rubin is at the helm is proof enough that while the production is mostly immaculate, I'm With You is an exercise in how a multi-million selling rock behemoth plays it safe.
  15. Aug 26, 2011
    50
    [The] Los Angeles' funk jesters sound like they're treading water.
  16. Aug 30, 2011
    42
    As the forgettable I'm With You shows, there's a difference between surviving and thriving.
  17. Sep 1, 2011
    40
    I'm With You's hip thrusts and gyrations simply go through the motions, the work of a band with all kinds of capital to blow but no incentive to do anything differently.
  18. Aug 30, 2011
    40
    Nevermind the continual rebooting of their franchise, this should be the time to quietly lay the series to rest and focus on the box-sets. This band simply have nothing more to say.
  19. 40
    It's business as usual, but with diminishing returns, on I'm With You--the result, perhaps, of sticking with the producer Rick Rubin for six albums.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47
  1. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    One of the more unique RHCP records of late. Kinda a mix of everything they we have heard from them in the past to create something entirelyOne of the more unique RHCP records of late. Kinda a mix of everything they we have heard from them in the past to create something entirely different. Josh does a great job filling in for John and adds something unique to the band. The textured feel of the guitar in I'm With You is something new and awesome at the same time. Fans that only enjoyed that last three records may feel alienated, but I love this new direction. Hope to hear more songs from them soon. Full Review »
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    i was scared after john departure of the RHCP and the amazing stadium arcadium.at the beginning i listened the entire album and didn'ti was scared after john departure of the RHCP and the amazing stadium arcadium.at the beginning i listened the entire album and didn't surprised me or make me feel that peppers spirit and melodic sound of californication and by the way but the more i played it the more i like the new sound and start to appreciate josh Full Review »
  3. Sep 5, 2011
    3
    One of my favorite bands and a band I can always expect to put out a great album, has unfortunately put out it's worst album to date. RainOne of my favorite bands and a band I can always expect to put out a great album, has unfortunately put out it's worst album to date. Rain Dance Maggie was a solid single and had me geeked for the release, however, this was really the only song on the album that had any substance for me. I won't blame Josh replacing John as the defacto reason, but there is a very different vibe and texture to this album that does not quite fit with what is normally expected from RHCP's. I'm definitely not with this album...big bummer in music this year. Full Review »