I'm with You

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 133

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2011
    4
    Listened to the album a few times on itunes. It's a solid album but the RHCP can do, and have done much better stuff than this. It's okay but nothing really jumps of the record at you except the single on the radio now, Rain Dance Maggie.
  2. Aug 30, 2011
    6
    Where's the funk?! The Chili Peppers seem to have lost their awesomeness. The songs are too similar, and Flea has lost his "cool". He used to be an amazing bassist back when albums like "Blood Sugar Sex Magik" came out. This album is one of the most disappointing "highly-anticipated" album of 2011. You want funky? Check out Primus with their new album "Green Naugahyde". That is what thisWhere's the funk?! The Chili Peppers seem to have lost their awesomeness. The songs are too similar, and Flea has lost his "cool". He used to be an amazing bassist back when albums like "Blood Sugar Sex Magik" came out. This album is one of the most disappointing "highly-anticipated" album of 2011. You want funky? Check out Primus with their new album "Green Naugahyde". That is what this new album should have been. Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2011
    6
    Unquestionably a somehat different sound, but I can't tell if its a good thing yet. There are some really good songs, but most just feel kind of flat, empty and with going-through-the-motions sound. There is an attempt to return to the funk-rap sound of the early 90's, and even a somewhat One Hot Minute sound at times, but overall the album fails to grab my attention. Not bad, just nothingUnquestionably a somehat different sound, but I can't tell if its a good thing yet. There are some really good songs, but most just feel kind of flat, empty and with going-through-the-motions sound. There is an attempt to return to the funk-rap sound of the early 90's, and even a somewhat One Hot Minute sound at times, but overall the album fails to grab my attention. Not bad, just nothing to take notice of. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    This album is by no means a disaster, but fails achieve standards anywhere near to their recent albums. The record has its moments; Police Station is a real highlight, while Dance Dance Dance is a fast paced prominent end to the album. Unfortunately these songs are too little too late. The first two songs are throwaways, and it is not until we reach Ethiopia that there is one really worthThis album is by no means a disaster, but fails achieve standards anywhere near to their recent albums. The record has its moments; Police Station is a real highlight, while Dance Dance Dance is a fast paced prominent end to the album. Unfortunately these songs are too little too late. The first two songs are throwaways, and it is not until we reach Ethiopia that there is one really worth listening to. The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie is an inexplicable choice of lead single; it is a song which never gets going and Kiedis fails to inject any excitement into his vocals. Did I Let You Know and Goodbye Hooray bring a slight improvement, before a strong end to the album. The record is very different to the Chili's recent ones, mainly due to Klinghoffer's influence. Unfortunately, despite there being a few good songs, it is also nowhere near as good. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2011
    4
    One of my favorite bands growing up as a kid but this album proves they had their time and are done. Gone is the magic that John Fruciante provided. The lyrics on this album are pointless and one step too far in proving how they are no longer relevant in music. Shrimp just became a fan 5 years ago. Too bad he is a poser.
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    [5.9] Some bands really don't know where to stop, as much as it pains me to say that about the Red Hot Chili Peppers. This album is, as expected, nothing in an already tiring discography of a band that could have easily ended on a great album 12 years before this released. Sure the album still has the spirit of the Chili Peppers, sure it's better than By The Way, and I have to say, does[5.9] Some bands really don't know where to stop, as much as it pains me to say that about the Red Hot Chili Peppers. This album is, as expected, nothing in an already tiring discography of a band that could have easily ended on a great album 12 years before this released. Sure the album still has the spirit of the Chili Peppers, sure it's better than By The Way, and I have to say, does have its moments, but it's still just as dumbed down as Stadium Arcadium, and still not funky enough. It's consistently bland, and incredibly tamed rock. And not any interesting kind of rock, just traditional rock, that doesn't even have any nostalgic appeal. Expand
  7. Apr 15, 2015
    6
    A solid album and the usual high quality musicianship, all be it the Chilli's inevitably missing Frusciante on guitar. The album is smooth and robust but lacking Sparks and the usual charisma one has come to expect. Don't be mistaken, this is not a poor album but neither is it great.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    67
    Throughout, Klinghoffer never takes over like Dave Navarro did with One Hot Minute, but he's not knocking down any doors, either.
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    60
    It's the heart of the matter, and the song that sets the bar. [Oct 2011, p.122]
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    62
    New axe-slinger or not, I'm With You is a given for this band--at least four songs too long and Rick Rubin's nonchalance leaves everything sounding precisely and consistently the same.