User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 133

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    One of the more unique RHCP records of late. Kinda a mix of everything they we have heard from them in the past to create something entirely different. Josh does a great job filling in for John and adds something unique to the band. The textured feel of the guitar in I'm With You is something new and awesome at the same time. Fans that only enjoyed that last three records may feelOne of the more unique RHCP records of late. Kinda a mix of everything they we have heard from them in the past to create something entirely different. Josh does a great job filling in for John and adds something unique to the band. The textured feel of the guitar in I'm With You is something new and awesome at the same time. Fans that only enjoyed that last three records may feel alienated, but I love this new direction. Hope to hear more songs from them soon. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    i was scared after john departure of the RHCP and the amazing stadium arcadium.at the beginning i listened the entire album and didn't surprised me or make me feel that peppers spirit and melodic sound of californication and by the way but the more i played it the more i like the new sound and start to appreciate josh
  3. Sep 1, 2011
    8
    I have listened to the RHCP for such a long time that I am really apprehensive to write a review right now. As with most of their albums (except their early stuff), each one took me more than several listens before I really saw the brillance of their work. My first listen to "I'm with You" did not really impress me. There were a couple of catchy tunes, and I absolutely love Flea's bassI have listened to the RHCP for such a long time that I am really apprehensive to write a review right now. As with most of their albums (except their early stuff), each one took me more than several listens before I really saw the brillance of their work. My first listen to "I'm with You" did not really impress me. There were a couple of catchy tunes, and I absolutely love Flea's bass rhythem on Maggie but it sounded a little hohum.

    After my 4th time, I am starting to see this in a much more positive light. The first 7 songs are very good and help show the RHCP genius. I am still not big on the back half of it yet but if history is any example it will click with me.

    Heck, I barely liked disc 2 of Stadium until I gave a good thorough listen. Just give the album a chance and screw the critics who analysis is based on a limited sampling. I am here to say that the RHCP are alive and well and more importantly making great music.
    Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    I was very surprised at how much I actually enjoyed this album. The Red Hot Chili Peppers sound both very funky, yet very mature also. All In All, I thought it was a pretty great record. B+
  5. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    I've been a steadfast Red Hot Chili Peppers fan for many a year now. I own most if not all their music from the early beginnings to I'm With You and I thoroughly enjoy all of it and all their variety. A lot of the "professional" reviewers have seemed to made a lot of seemingly erroneous claims, for one reason or another and I'd like to address at least some of those. As many others have, II've been a steadfast Red Hot Chili Peppers fan for many a year now. I own most if not all their music from the early beginnings to I'm With You and I thoroughly enjoy all of it and all their variety. A lot of the "professional" reviewers have seemed to made a lot of seemingly erroneous claims, for one reason or another and I'd like to address at least some of those. As many others have, I too have noticed that there are plenty of songs that are driven by the bass over guitar. Many people seem to attribute this to the lack of Frusciante and the presence of a "lesser" guitar player (either in terms of band presence or just simply skill), but I did not see it that way at all. Bass dominated songs are nothing new to RHCP; Flea has always been a prominent player compared to other bassists in other bands, but people seem wont to now place that on the lack of Frusciante. I think this is severely underrating Klinghoffer on the part of people who clearly don't have a good grasp of the breadth of RHCP's music and Klinghoffer's skill. I think there are plenty of songs that show off his talent quite well. For example, how many RHCP songs prior to Klinghoffer can you name that prominently feature the piano? Yet there are several songs on I'm With You that do so, such as "Happiness Loves Company" and "Even You Brutus" that feature piano or other keyboards. From the interviews and information I've been able to collect it seems that Klinghoffer was a large influence in the use of keyboards (as well as Flea). There are other songs that are heavily dependent on guitar. "Meet Me At The Corner" is a perfect piece that showcases Klinghoffer's skill with a very Hendrix/Frusciante style guitar line (but with its own twist), excellent backing vocals and even some surprisingly good lead vocal work from Klinghoffer as well. All in all I've been very impressed with his contributions to the band.

    Personal taste may dictate whether or not one appreciates the album as a whole, but I do certainly feel like it is unfair to Klinghoffer to underestimate his role just because of Frusciante's shadow. Overall I feel like this album is an excellent culmination of the various styles and sounds that RHCP has delved into over the years. Kiedis' singing and lyrical content seems to have further matured, although he still maintains his signature quirks and odd lines. Yes, you can still listen to the album and tell it's the same band that was releasing albums decades ago, but there's so much more to this album. A song like "Ethiopa" clearly shows that they're trying and experimenting with many new things, not just doing the same old thing over and over again like some generic pop band. I think "Ethiopia" might show this the most clearly. The song is largely written in 7/8 time and starts off with a driving bass line. Klinghoffer's first entrance on guitar seems innocuous enough, yet through it's simplicity they create an amazing effect as Klinghoffer is essentially playing in a different time signature, 4/4, with just one note on every beat. It creates a subtly twisted sort of hemiola effect where in one measure he's in sync with Flea while in the next he is playing the upbeat to Fleas downbeat. They continue to play off of each other in this sort of opposing fashion off an on throughout the song. It's absolutely brilliant!
    Expand
  6. j30
    Sep 4, 2011
    8
    I'm still waiting for the RHCP to plunge into the unknown, maybe working with a different producer would help. Even though the album has it's short-comings it's still a solid output by one of the most talented rock bands out there. Some more good news! Josh Klinghoffer is a really good replacement for John Frusciante, meaning he doesn't try to steal the show, and he compliments theirI'm still waiting for the RHCP to plunge into the unknown, maybe working with a different producer would help. Even though the album has it's short-comings it's still a solid output by one of the most talented rock bands out there. Some more good news! Josh Klinghoffer is a really good replacement for John Frusciante, meaning he doesn't try to steal the show, and he compliments their style. As to where to rank this record among the other 9 albums, I 'd put this on par with By The Way. Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2011
    7
    I bought the album and well i liked it, to be honest their album wasn't their best i felt that the songs on here weren't as catchy and as moving as many others. If you like songs like "Californication", "Under the Bridge", "Can't Stop", and "Dani California". Well Unfortunately you won't find those on here. Most songs on here have some relaxed funk feeling but there missing the edge! andI bought the album and well i liked it, to be honest their album wasn't their best i felt that the songs on here weren't as catchy and as moving as many others. If you like songs like "Californication", "Under the Bridge", "Can't Stop", and "Dani California". Well Unfortunately you won't find those on here. Most songs on here have some relaxed funk feeling but there missing the edge! and the Catchy-ness. Also most songs rely alot on Flea with his awesome bass lines to make up for not having Frusciante on the album. The best song on the album has to be " The Adventures of Raindance Maggie" no song on this album is better than this one. no other song has that "get up and dance, funky feeling" to it. Other good songs are "police station", "monarchy of roses", and "brendans death song".... on their next album i hope they have more edge, more hard rock to it....like dani california or around the world for example. Expand
  8. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Awesome album! I've been a Chili Pepper fan for 21 years now because this band keeps making amazing music. When I first learned that John Frusciante had left the band I was definitely saddened by the news and didnt know what would become of my favorite band, but I also had faith that if Ant, Flea and Chad chose to continue on that they would continue to make beautiful, creative andAwesome album! I've been a Chili Pepper fan for 21 years now because this band keeps making amazing music. When I first learned that John Frusciante had left the band I was definitely saddened by the news and didnt know what would become of my favorite band, but I also had faith that if Ant, Flea and Chad chose to continue on that they would continue to make beautiful, creative and rockin music. When I learned that Josh Klinghoffer had joined the band that sadness I had previously felt immediately turned into excitement and joy about the new music they would make together, he's such an incredible musician and I knew he was the perfect choice. From beginnig to end 'I'm With You' had me hooked, these songs are so great, I absolutely love it! The Chili Peppers music has been such a great and important part of my life and I love this new and exciting chapter in this amazing bands history. Expand
  9. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    I love it... Absolutely have fallen in love with this album... The first listen took some getting used to, but i immediately saw the potential... then by the 3rd listen, i was hooked on everything.. this album haunts me in the most beautiful way... i feel like "I'm With You" is a better album than Stadium Arcadium.. and it's growing on me and starting to mean JUST AS MUCH to meI love it... Absolutely have fallen in love with this album... The first listen took some getting used to, but i immediately saw the potential... then by the 3rd listen, i was hooked on everything.. this album haunts me in the most beautiful way... i feel like "I'm With You" is a better album than Stadium Arcadium.. and it's growing on me and starting to mean JUST AS MUCH to me as Californiacation.. I can sum up this album in one word: "DANCE" Expand
  10. Oct 15, 2011
    7
    i love this new sound. the album has many flaws but it has many strengths including there new guitarist who is superb at his instrument and fleas lines are very much so amazing
  11. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    The Red Hot might have changed their style, but they still show that they know what they are doing. For all the veteran fans it might take a while to get used to it but it's definitely a great disc
  12. Nov 12, 2012
    7
    Throughout their career as a band, the Red Hot Chili Peppers have seen the heights of fame and glory along with the depths of depressions and failure. After their 2006 success, Stadium Arcadium, the group reached the top of their career in the 21st century (no pun intended). Many questioned the future of the critically acclaimed group when, in 2009, guitarist John Frusciante announced hisThroughout their career as a band, the Red Hot Chili Peppers have seen the heights of fame and glory along with the depths of depressions and failure. After their 2006 success, Stadium Arcadium, the group reached the top of their career in the 21st century (no pun intended). Many questioned the future of the critically acclaimed group when, in 2009, guitarist John Frusciante announced his decision to leave the band. Was that the end?
    Soon after Frusciante left the Peppers, a new guitarist Josh Klinghoffer (who toured with the band during the Stadium Arcadium tour) was hired as a full time replacement. The modified lineup was described as
    Expand
  13. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    Upon first listen it struck me as a collection of some tracks you would hear on generic mainstream rock radio, and it still sounds that way. Repeated listens have proved more enjoyable, but let me make one thing absolutely clear. This is not a Red Hot Chili Peppers album. At least in the conventional sense. As is obvious to everybody, the Chili Peppers are a VERY different band thenUpon first listen it struck me as a collection of some tracks you would hear on generic mainstream rock radio, and it still sounds that way. Repeated listens have proved more enjoyable, but let me make one thing absolutely clear. This is not a Red Hot Chili Peppers album. At least in the conventional sense. As is obvious to everybody, the Chili Peppers are a VERY different band then they were in the late 80's/early 90's, and since By the Way have proceeded to evolve into basically a different band. This is not necessarily a bad thing. By The Way and Stadium Arcadium have been criticized, and I can see why but I found both of those albums to be very good. This one really is an exception however. There is just no funk in this record, an element which is (or I guess I should say were) very important to the Chili Peppers music along with their whole image. The music borders on cheesy acoustic ballads at times and it just makes me and I'm sure many others wonder what happened to this innovative band. I'm not criticizing the band for maturing or experimenting with different types of music. As long as the artists are doing what they want and are happy with it, that is perfect. Collapse
  14. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    I'm a big RHCP fan so this album has been very anticipated by me. Like a few others have stated, this album will grow on you and it doesn't take like, but you do have to give it a chance. Some of their past albums were like that as well, but I think that is the brilliance of RHCP. Their songs have so many layers to them that generally you have to listen to them a few times to really get aI'm a big RHCP fan so this album has been very anticipated by me. Like a few others have stated, this album will grow on you and it doesn't take like, but you do have to give it a chance. Some of their past albums were like that as well, but I think that is the brilliance of RHCP. Their songs have so many layers to them that generally you have to listen to them a few times to really get a feel for the rhythm and the lyrics. Musically, this is one of their best albums. I also feel as if Anthony Kiedis' voice has gotten even better in this album. Much in the same way that I felt By The Way was recorded, I'm With You brings in some of the many things that make RHCP who they are as a band to their songs. Their funk, rock, harmony, and quirkiness really shine in their songs and it is what makes them so unique. The more I listen to it, the more I can't stop listening. Factory of Faith is catchy and easily my favorite tune on the album. If you like RHCP, then you'll love this album. Just remember to give it a chance. Expand
  15. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    On first listen, having prepped for the release by listening to 2/3 of the 'Chili Pepper's back catalog, I would have immediately given this album a 4/10 and gone on with my life. But, I drive around all day, so I kept listening. And I'm glad I did. While I'd still send this album back for remixing to include, Frusciate 'lead guitar,' parts, I'd be willing to say this album soundsOn first listen, having prepped for the release by listening to 2/3 of the 'Chili Pepper's back catalog, I would have immediately given this album a 4/10 and gone on with my life. But, I drive around all day, so I kept listening. And I'm glad I did. While I'd still send this album back for remixing to include, Frusciate 'lead guitar,' parts, I'd be willing to say this album sounds really good. Vocals sound less polished than all releases since One Hot Minute. RHCP's direction & lyrics hasn't seem to depreciate one ounce. The band still had bounce, yet there is plenty of powerful material on here as well. Again. Not the sort of pound you might want from the band, but RHCP has always been a band to not only have their pulse on what's popular in that generation's music, but always seem to be transforming. Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Great album, not their best but if they put it out before BSSM it would have put them on the map for sure.
    Even You Brutus? is the best song on the album
    Goodbye Hooray is the second best
    Look around is a close third
    Brendan's Death Song, Ethiopia, and Police Station are other great songs (Police Station is probably my favorite of all of the songs it just speaks to my soul)
  17. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    This is a classic album finally for The Red Hot Chili Peppers after years of just getting by with singles. Sure there are not many hit singles on this one but that is why this album is even more special. It just goes to show that Rick Rubin is a God and everything he touches turns to gold. Monarchy of Roses and Dance, Dance Dance are fun and very memorable tunes while the 2nd half of theThis is a classic album finally for The Red Hot Chili Peppers after years of just getting by with singles. Sure there are not many hit singles on this one but that is why this album is even more special. It just goes to show that Rick Rubin is a God and everything he touches turns to gold. Monarchy of Roses and Dance, Dance Dance are fun and very memorable tunes while the 2nd half of the album is very deep and they finally let us inside the hearts and souls of the Chili Peppers. This is them at their all time best and it should be in everyones music collection. Expand
  18. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    I have been a RHCP fan for about a year now. They are a brilliant band and continue to make great music. This album is awesome! You can tell they are experimenting with different things in some of the songs. It is a different sound now that John Frusciante left the band. Josh Klinghoffer is a good addition to the band though and is a great guitarist in his own right. This album is a mustI have been a RHCP fan for about a year now. They are a brilliant band and continue to make great music. This album is awesome! You can tell they are experimenting with different things in some of the songs. It is a different sound now that John Frusciante left the band. Josh Klinghoffer is a good addition to the band though and is a great guitarist in his own right. This album is a must buy for any chili pepper fans! Expand
  19. Sep 28, 2011
    7
    It has been roughly five years since the last time there was a Red Hot Chili Peppers song playing on the car radio as people drove into school. It has been five long years since the Chiliâ
  20. Sep 4, 2011
    7
    The tenth studio album from Red hot Chili Peppers has a change of sound from the previous record. The song go for a more of a radio-friendly way, even thought the track are done good, expect for "The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie". This record shows a change to the Chili Peppers' sound in a unique way, even though it has it's flaws.
  21. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    "I'm With You" Retoma algo de Red Hot Chilli Papers que no vivos en el Stadium pero que fue un sonido muy caracteristico de Californication y By The Way.
    Ademas de contar con pistas instrumentales ("Ethiopia") muy bien conjugadas a lo largo del album, cuenta con una vigoroza bateria y instrumentos muy bien manejados, la tematica sigue siendo fascinante.
    Pese a esto, no es el mejor album de
    "I'm With You" Retoma algo de Red Hot Chilli Papers que no vivos en el Stadium pero que fue un sonido muy caracteristico de Californication y By The Way.
    Ademas de contar con pistas instrumentales ("Ethiopia") muy bien conjugadas a lo largo del album, cuenta con una vigoroza bateria y instrumentos muy bien manejados, la tematica sigue siendo fascinante.
    Pese a esto, no es el mejor album de RHCP, en efecto creo que es aunque en cierta manera una decadencia a comparacion de su trabajo anterior el "Stadium Arcadium" creo que esta hecho solo para los fans de talla mediana y grande, ajenos a esta banda sera mejor abstenerse de oir el album completo y redimirse a escuchar los singles que este desprendera.
    Expand
  22. Aug 31, 2011
    7
    I have always considered RHCP as one of my all time favorite bands. Their sound is unique and timeless. Everyone brought in their own unique sound to make the 4 piece power band. WIth John F leaving, i was upset but still willing to listen. Though new guitarist does do a great job filling in, its just that; he is Filling in. Frusciantes sound was the Chili peppers. His crazy solos,I have always considered RHCP as one of my all time favorite bands. Their sound is unique and timeless. Everyone brought in their own unique sound to make the 4 piece power band. WIth John F leaving, i was upset but still willing to listen. Though new guitarist does do a great job filling in, its just that; he is Filling in. Frusciantes sound was the Chili peppers. His crazy solos, interesting licks which seemed random but made the tracks 100% better are not here. It is left to Flea, Anthony, and Chad Smith to power through it. Im not saying at all that Josh Klinghoffer is not any good, but he is no JF. saying that, the album tends to be more melody than other RHCP albums, but this is not a bad CD at all. It really picks up in the middle, which keeps the listener hoping to have that 1 track that makes the record, but unfortunately that track doesn't appear. Expand
  23. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    i just want to say that i cried in some tracks the first time i listened the album, in fact i cried to hours ago listening police station, i really love the album its a freash air to your face and josh vocals are amazing.
  24. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    No one should have expected "I'm with You" to be anything but a comfort piece much like the title suggests. It works that way; even with several tracks that stumble greatly, it's comforting to the fans, a sweet middle ground between old-school and oh-s**t-I-guess-we're-here-now.
  25. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    Kiedis, Flea and Smith are all on top form here. Flea showcasing moreso than he's ever done before how skilled he is at the bass guitar, Kiedis is great at vocals, possibly the best he's ever been also. There are a couple of problems though: Frusciante IS severely missing, Klinghoffer is pretty good, but that's compared to an awesome guitar player. And a couple of the tracks aren'tKiedis, Flea and Smith are all on top form here. Flea showcasing moreso than he's ever done before how skilled he is at the bass guitar, Kiedis is great at vocals, possibly the best he's ever been also. There are a couple of problems though: Frusciante IS severely missing, Klinghoffer is pretty good, but that's compared to an awesome guitar player. And a couple of the tracks aren't particularly impressive. It does move the Chili's forward, in a good way. It does however, require a handful of listens to get and understand the new direction they have taken. I just hope the guitaring improves next time. Expand
  26. Dec 7, 2011
    7
    With the departure of Frusciante this album does not disapoint, sure there are small differences and some quirky songs but all together its pretty good. There are a lot of awesome bass lines. Some of the lyrics seem a little off compared to other chili peppers songs.
  27. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    I'm with you is one of the best (that's saying something) red hot chili peppers albums, every song is amazing except from dance, dance, dance which is still good anyway. the best song on the album is even you Brutus, it could be my favorite song of all time, it is in my top 5 red hot chili peppers songs!
  28. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    I love the Chili Peps,they're gonna be rock and roll hall of famers and their still putting out good songs,and I'm with you is a beautiful album.IT has that funk element ,which makes us love RHCP,and Flea goes ape **** on these songs. Anthony's voice is nice and smooth,but there's more o be desired out of the lyrics in some points,but that doesn't stop me from singing along.A favoriteI love the Chili Peps,they're gonna be rock and roll hall of famers and their still putting out good songs,and I'm with you is a beautiful album.IT has that funk element ,which makes us love RHCP,and Flea goes ape **** on these songs. Anthony's voice is nice and smooth,but there's more o be desired out of the lyrics in some points,but that doesn't stop me from singing along.A favorite track of mine is Brendon's death song.Chad Smith comes in and provides a pounding heart beat of a drum beat,while Anthony sounds sentimental and great like usually. Annie wants a baby is a good tune,it's as close as Kilingofer is gonna sound like Fruscante,it sounds Stadium Arcadium-ish. Josh's power is in his hold back,he doesn't goes crazy,but you can always feel his presence,and dingy sounding guitar,like on meet me at the corner and dance dance dance.Factory of Faith is a cool baseball referencing,funky ,sexual good tune.The hardest song is faster paced joint called Goodbye hooray,which I enjoyed. .This is a good album the Chilis didn't reinvent themselves,but they are still as good as they've ever been in their department and signature brand of alternative California funk rock. Expand
  29. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    I don't know what these critics are smoking. Perhaps most of them never liked RHCP to begin with. That or they're not the... target audience for RCHP.

    This album is very solid and a few songs are absolutely amazing, Brendan's Death Song and Police Station in particular. It's definitely not a huge departure from any of their past work. It's the same old RCHP making the same
    I don't know what these critics are smoking. Perhaps most of them never liked RHCP to begin with. That or they're not the... target audience for RCHP.

    This album is very solid and a few songs are absolutely amazing, Brendan's Death Song and Police Station in particular. It's definitely not a huge departure from any of their past work. It's the same old RCHP making the same old awesome music.
    Expand
  30. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    This album is a totally different direction once again for the Chilis' sound. Its like a Soft funk Pop sound. Vocally, the album is fairly simplistic yet very catchy with some fantastic backing vocals from Josh Klinghoffer. Kinghoffers use of beautiful chords and heavy use of effects all work to make him stand out and express his own sound. Flea has opted for a "By The Way-ish" melodicThis album is a totally different direction once again for the Chilis' sound. Its like a Soft funk Pop sound. Vocally, the album is fairly simplistic yet very catchy with some fantastic backing vocals from Josh Klinghoffer. Kinghoffers use of beautiful chords and heavy use of effects all work to make him stand out and express his own sound. Flea has opted for a "By The Way-ish" melodic orientated bass sound - yet is less chilled than that of By The Way and is more energetic and funky. This is a solid album and one which I have been enjoying for a long time now, which is all you can really ask from an album. To be a Chillis' fan is to be able to accept many forms of sound and embrace change with love. This is something a lot of the "fans" don't understand and so complain that its not a carbon copy of Stadium Arcadium. Josh has done well filling Frusciantes boots and he will do well in the band Expand
  31. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    During the first listening, you'll might be disappointed, but a little magic could grow in you.
    I listen to this album for almost 2 years, and I re-discover every song every time A solid work by the musicians; Flea and Chad Smith have never been so good, Kiedis' vocals are powerful, and Klinghoffer's work is unconventional but fresh and effective. That album proves that a rock album is
    During the first listening, you'll might be disappointed, but a little magic could grow in you.
    I listen to this album for almost 2 years, and I re-discover every song every time A solid work by the musicians; Flea and Chad Smith have never been so good, Kiedis' vocals are powerful, and Klinghoffer's work is unconventional but fresh and effective. That album proves that a rock album is not only big bass riffs and incredible guitar solos, but it can be more subtle
    Expand
  32. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    I was hesitant at first (mostly because I had only listened to Monarchy of Roses and Adventures of Raindance Maggie) and it took me a year to actually pick it up the store. Boy was I wrong, sure this is different to Stadium Arcadium but when have RHCP records ever sounded alike? That's what I like about them, they keep experimenting and changing which keeps them interesting but with a highI was hesitant at first (mostly because I had only listened to Monarchy of Roses and Adventures of Raindance Maggie) and it took me a year to actually pick it up the store. Boy was I wrong, sure this is different to Stadium Arcadium but when have RHCP records ever sounded alike? That's what I like about them, they keep experimenting and changing which keeps them interesting but with a high quality standard.
    The most remarkable aspect is the rhythm section as Flea hasn't been this "noticeable" since One Hot Minute-both albums were written mostly by him-and Chad's percussion is at its finest. Sure, it certainly lacks some punch (specially on the guitars) but Josh is a great addition to the team and I wouldn't expect less of this record. Note: You must give it some listens before you realize how good it is.
    I'm glad actual music is being made by real artists in the 2010s.
    Expand
  33. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    It's a great album! It's easy to listen to and it brings up or sustains my mood when I'm going about my life. It's doing all the things a musician probably wants their music to accomplish. Also, something about the whole album reminds me of healing with the sound and white-background artwork. I definitely feel that listening to I'm With You is reflective of tribulations, changes and anIt's a great album! It's easy to listen to and it brings up or sustains my mood when I'm going about my life. It's doing all the things a musician probably wants their music to accomplish. Also, something about the whole album reminds me of healing with the sound and white-background artwork. I definitely feel that listening to I'm With You is reflective of tribulations, changes and an underlying passion for their making music as a family unit. As they've gotten older their music seems to have gotten warmer is really positive and continues to be poignant. It can't be easy to keep up that excitement but they do it really well. Also, the lyrical observations and poetry are great, too. They're bringing new and awesome things to the table. Expand
  34. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    One of the most underrated albums of all time. Although a few decent tracks are in the first half of the album, the majority includes superb ballads that come from Kiedis' personal experiences. Meet Me at the Corner is beautiful and Rain Dance Maggie has one of the best grooves the band has ever written.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    67
    Throughout, Klinghoffer never takes over like Dave Navarro did with One Hot Minute, but he's not knocking down any doors, either.
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    60
    It's the heart of the matter, and the song that sets the bar. [Oct 2011, p.122]
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    62
    New axe-slinger or not, I'm With You is a given for this band--at least four songs too long and Rick Rubin's nonchalance leaves everything sounding precisely and consistently the same.