I'm with You - Red Hot Chili Peppers
I'm with You Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The California rock band releases their 10th album produced by Rick Rubin and the first since 2006 and with new guitarist Josh Klinghoffer, who replaced John Frusciante.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    90
    Perhaps for the first time ever on a Chili Peppers record, it is Flea who takes the reigns as the lead instrument here, going Jaco all over this mofo so to speak, which ultimately proves to be this album's saving grace.
  2. Aug 31, 2011
    80
    Some may have written them off already, but on the strength of their best album in a decade, I'm with them.
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    70
    The peak moments on I'm With You balance swagger and sensitivity.
  4. Aug 19, 2011
    60
    Amid this poor material, the Chili Peppers still manage t deliver a handful of very very good songs. [Sep 2011, p.86]
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    60
    While I may appreciate this album despite some of its fundamental flaws, I'm still not exactly clamoring for another Chili Peppers record. As stated before, I'm With You doesn't suggest a future for the band: instead, it showcases one stuck in the mud, capable of churning its wheels but not moving forward.
  6. Aug 26, 2011
    60
    Nevertheless, I'm With You is a strong record, with Brendan's Death Song and Police Station among the highlights, especially considering the challenge of replacing Frusciante's creativity.
  7. Aug 30, 2011
    37
    The rest of it, though, is stuff that will probably sound just fine beneath NFL highlight reels but fails to gel when the volume is up and California 2011 beckons.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 46
  2. Negative: 6 out of 46
  1. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    I love it... Absolutely have fallen in love with this album... The first listen took some getting used to, but i immediately saw the potential... then by the 3rd listen, i was hooked on everything.. this album haunts me in the most beautiful way... i feel like "I'm With You" is a better album than Stadium Arcadium.. and it's growing on me and starting to mean JUST AS MUCH to me as Californiacation.. I can sum up this album in one word: "DANCE" Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    This album is a totally different direction once again for the Chilis' sound. Its like a Soft funk Pop sound. Vocally, the album is fairly simplistic yet very catchy with some fantastic backing vocals from Josh Klinghoffer. Kinghoffers use of beautiful chords and heavy use of effects all work to make him stand out and express his own sound. Flea has opted for a "By The Way-ish" melodic orientated bass sound - yet is less chilled than that of By The Way and is more energetic and funky. This is a solid album and one which I have been enjoying for a long time now, which is all you can really ask from an album. To be a Chillis' fan is to be able to accept many forms of sound and embrace change with love. This is something a lot of the "fans" don't understand and so complain that its not a carbon copy of Stadium Arcadium. Josh has done well filling Frusciantes boots and he will do well in the band Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    One of the more unique RHCP records of late. Kinda a mix of everything they we have heard from them in the past to create something entirely different. Josh does a great job filling in for John and adds something unique to the band. The textured feel of the guitar in I'm With You is something new and awesome at the same time. Fans that only enjoyed that last three records may feel alienated, but I love this new direction. Hope to hear more songs from them soon. Collapse
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    I was very surprised at how much I actually enjoyed this album. The Red Hot Chili Peppers sound both very funky, yet very mature also. All In All, I thought it was a pretty great record. B+ Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2011
    7
    i love this new sound. the album has many flaws but it has many strengths including there new guitarist who is superb at his instrument and fleas lines are very much so amazing Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2011
    7
    I bought the album and well i liked it, to be honest their album wasn't their best i felt that the songs on here weren't as catchy and as moving as many others. If you like songs like "Californication", "Under the Bridge", "Can't Stop", and "Dani California". Well Unfortunately you won't find those on here. Most songs on here have some relaxed funk feeling but there missing the edge! and the Catchy-ness. Also most songs rely alot on Flea with his awesome bass lines to make up for not having Frusciante on the album. The best song on the album has to be " The Adventures of Raindance Maggie" no song on this album is better than this one. no other song has that "get up and dance, funky feeling" to it. Other good songs are "police station", "monarchy of roses", and "brendans death song".... on their next album i hope they have more edge, more hard rock to it....like dani california or around the world for example. Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2011
    0
    I wanted to listen to this, wasn't hoping for any surprises though...Then, in a nutshell: I'm shocked they're still around and wonder the existence of this album. Being now in my 20s, I can barely imagine myself enjoying this even if I was 14. This is all sorts of crap, RHCP simply have nothing more to show us. Face the facts. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews