In A Perfect World... Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The long-delayed debut album for Keri Hilson features Timbaland, Lil Wayne, Keyshia Cole, Ne-Yo, T-Pain, Akon, Lil Jon, and Trina as guest artists.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. A seductive debut CD full of slick, radio-friendly cuts.
  2. On her album debut, the 26-year-old singer/songwriter lays her vocal and writing skills over boom-bap productions for a set that is delightfully flirtatious, heartfelt and full of diva antics.
  3. The slower tracks don't match up to their opposites, or even the bittersweet midtempo cut 'Alienated,' but they're not enough of a snag to prevent the album from being one of 2009's most replayable R&B releases.
  4. 60
    Ultimately, Hilson’s debut is simply okay, not quite the sum of its parts. She has the right juice. Now it’s just a matter of how to keep it flowing.
  5. At her best she's thrilling and her hits with Timbaland, 'The Way I Are' and 'Scream,' still cackle brilliantly, but at 70 minutes there's too much flab and the ballads drag horribly. [Jul 2009, p.124]
  6. All that star power can leave little room in these futuristic R&B songs for Hilson, whose sturdy but unremarkable voice rarely transcends its role as a melody-delivery device.
  7. 50
    Her fresh attitude eventually gets lost in a slew of downtrodden ballads that sink the album's second half. In other words, business as usual.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. BryanH
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    Matt you are just a hater as if you can produce any thing that within close proximity to value the value of Kerri's album. It's people like you who makes it hard for black motivated people. "haters" Kerri your album is great and you are indeed a talented young woman vocally. Expand
  2. FO
    Apr 16, 2009
    10
    Omg! How can this album not be loved? theres songs on there for everything and Keri certainly doesn't fail to bring it. I don't understand why people say she didn't do enough because i personally prefer her laid back, irresistable voice that sound less forced than most artists. Its a great first album! Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    This is my favorite contemporary R&B album. This is R&B mixed with other genres. There's R&B with Hip-Hop (Turnin' me on), there's R&B with Pop (Return the favor) and more. Hilson's voice is great (listen to Make Love), and she chosen the right featurings and placed them perfectly. The album is original, there isn't knock-off's on it. Collapse
  4. Nov 17, 2010
    6
    While she has the right juices, it's just a matter of keeping them flowing, there's no doubt that there's talent here, it's just not decided whether it's the singing or songwriting. She'll need a stronger collection of songs if she wants to secure her place in the pop/R&B music scene along with such contemporaries as Rihanna, Beyonce, and Lady Gaga. Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    5
    I purchased this record recently because I liked most of the singles released from the album. Knock You Down, Return the Favor, or Energy are great tracks on their own but the album as a whole disappointed me to the extent that I found myself skipping through the songs one by one as I could not listen to them from start to finish. As I said the singles from the album are great but the rest is unfortunately not worth the money. Expand
  6. Azizio
    May 25, 2009
    4
    There are 3 songs that are good in this album but it won't make make me to give more than 4.Kerri should be sticking of writing & producing songs. Expand
  7. DARRENB
    Apr 9, 2009
    1
    She sounds stiff and unsure of herself, as if she is faking. On top of that she interviews like a self-absorbed anal retentive cornball fake. Too much drama behind the hyper-intensive promotion campaign, lets face it-same old produceers -same old style of songs. Time for a fresh crop. Can you say Corporate driven music? The only song that has potential sounds like someone else on the internet that everyone is talking about, its all lame. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews