• Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Jun 22, 2004
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 5 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Steve
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    the more you listen the more you realize what an incredible album this is. Great to listen to before bed.
  2. ChrisL
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    What a phenominal CD. Everything about it is amazingly well put together. It begins and ends effortlessly and takes you for a ride that is so celestial and strange that you'll want to come back again and again. I think of it as the moments after a night of partying before falling asleep and before waking up hung over.
  3. Nick
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    Atmospheric and incredible.
  4. AndreaS
    Dec 4, 2004
    0
    Horrible.
  5. RyanP
    Dec 4, 2004
    0
    Bad.
  6. JessicaJ
    Dec 4, 2004
    2
    Nothing like Sigur Ros. Should not be a canidate for comparison.
  7. JoshuaO.
    Jan 30, 2005
    9
    It's nothing new, especially if you listen to a lot of postrockish stuff, but this album just screams (well, maybe sleepily mumbles) "listen to me, over and over again." It's not a day time album, but if you'll looking for something to gently carry you to sleep - this is it. Highly recommended.
  8. MickeyM
    Aug 30, 2006
    0
    Boring, unoriginal and a complete waste of time. Probably the most uninspired album of all time. Worst post-rock album i've ever heard. The blandness of this album is unequalled. I can't believe how some critics have dressed this crap up. Such a lack of feeling and imagination. I actually despise this album.
  9. JohnM
    Dec 4, 2004
    1
    Not really original at all. give me my money back!
  10. shawnr
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    this site seems to have picked up only the bad / OK reviews of this record.. I have seen nothing but good reviews everywhere else.. this record is one of the most beautiful albums i have ever heard.. i HIGHLY reccomend this record!!
  11. MarkJ
    Dec 17, 2007
    8
    It's a solid album, and surely not deserving of anything below a 6. Though it may appear repetitive, it's beauty lies in the subtle changes it makes from song to song finally climaxing in Eastern Glow.
  12. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    The perfect mix between stunning beautiful peaks and relaxation making it a great album to listen to on a walk home at sunrise or to put on during a rainy Sunday morning.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. This isn't an edgy, experimental record. It instead explores human nature through conventional tonality and flow, delicately combining melancholy, detachment, and exhilaration.
  2. Not only the best Album Leaf album to date but one of the best albums of the year.
  3. Magnet
    50
    The melancholia lacks distinguishing marks. [#64, p.80]