In a World Like This

  • Record Label: BMG
  • Release Date: Jul 30, 2013
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    amazing...............................................................................................................................................................
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    I'm not sure why everyone thinks this album is their comeback album, they've had 2 successful albums when Kevin departed, a even more successful tour with NKOTB, so to say that they're back, is an incorrect statement. I'll end that rant there. The album itself is great, a great mixture of ballad, upbeat and mellow songs and certainly a big difference from anything they've done. I love itI'm not sure why everyone thinks this album is their comeback album, they've had 2 successful albums when Kevin departed, a even more successful tour with NKOTB, so to say that they're back, is an incorrect statement. I'll end that rant there. The album itself is great, a great mixture of ballad, upbeat and mellow songs and certainly a big difference from anything they've done. I love it from top to bottom, something i'm sure i'll be listening to a lot. Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Some can make a return as the backstreet boys.If u want proof i recommend u buy this album
    Going to Oblivion due to the Financial Failure of there last two albums,Now they are bouncing back and are ready to rock their stage once again.Truly Amazing!!
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    8
    The Backstreet Boys has always been a singles band, with a big focus on live performance, so it feels sort of unfair to review their album. For me, their style has always been hit-or-miss, with many misses for every hit. Still, the one thing that even the band's harshest critics must admit is that these guys can really sing and harmonize. They all have good, distinct voices, and they knowThe Backstreet Boys has always been a singles band, with a big focus on live performance, so it feels sort of unfair to review their album. For me, their style has always been hit-or-miss, with many misses for every hit. Still, the one thing that even the band's harshest critics must admit is that these guys can really sing and harmonize. They all have good, distinct voices, and they know how to make their voices work together. This is a rare and good thing. When they hit the right material, they can break a song open and make it soar like no other male vocal band I know. The song "In A World Like This" is definitely the right material. "Breathe" and "Make Believe" are too. These songs easily represent the band's best work in over a decade and all three are a great pleasure to hear. I'll probably listen to only these three songs from here on out, but crafting three good songs in a single album is rare for any band, especially a boy band all grown up. Good work guys! Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    If someone would say why 10 then here's the answer :
    Its their first album with Kevin's beautiful voice back.
    The tone of the songs of this album touches the heart and it feels like you are the one who is singing the songs. The melodies are really perfects. Backing vocals and sound mixing is above average. There's diversity in both the music and vocals. This album is not just like
    If someone would say why 10 then here's the answer :
    Its their first album with Kevin's beautiful voice back.
    The tone of the songs of this album touches the heart and it feels like you are the one who is singing the songs.
    The melodies are really perfects.
    Backing vocals and sound mixing is above average.
    There's diversity in both the music and vocals.
    This album is not just like Boy Band stuff there's pretty mature sound in it.
    And that's all.
    I recommend this album to every one who liked Millennium and Never Gone of BSB.
    Collapse
  6. May 4, 2014
    10
    After 20 Years, BSB is Now Acknowledging the Other Type of Boy Bands, Drawing Inspiration from the Original (Beatles) and the Most Current (One Direction)
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    40
    They seem stuck returning to the same predictable song structures and turgid melodies that made them famous in the first place.
  2. Aug 1, 2013
    40
    Max Martin wrote the opening track on each of those early records, as he does here on their eighth. But even the anthemic title tune can’t hoist the group out of elevator-music territory.
  3. Jul 31, 2013
    60
    This album won’t set the world on fire like Millennium did--quite likely nothing they do again will. But for what they’ve become, it is definitely a step in the right direction.