In Between Dreams

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 140

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2016
    5
    Jack Johnson has a nice, laid back style that makes his songs sound breezy and effortless. When he's at his best, his songs can be a real treat to listen to, but unfortunately, a lot of the tracks on In Between Dreams sound a little *too* effortless. The second half of the album especially is filled with songs that sound like they were written in half an hour. It's kind of a disappointingJack Johnson has a nice, laid back style that makes his songs sound breezy and effortless. When he's at his best, his songs can be a real treat to listen to, but unfortunately, a lot of the tracks on In Between Dreams sound a little *too* effortless. The second half of the album especially is filled with songs that sound like they were written in half an hour. It's kind of a disappointing listen, especially since the good songs are all frontloaded at the beginning of the album so it just gets progressively less interesting to listen to. Overall it's not really a bad album, per se, just a fairly dull one. It helps to listen when you're in a relaxed mood.

    Standout track: Sitting, Waiting, Wishing
    Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2016
    8
    77/100. Really chill album with a bunch of great tracks to listen back on. The best songs are "Better Together", "Banana Pancakes" and "No Other Way".
  3. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    Stand-Out Tracks: All of them! -
    Favorite lyrics: "The wisdom's in the trees, not the glass windows.", "Our hearts are strong, our heads are weak, we'll always be competing, never knowing", "If I was in your position, I'd put down all my ammunition, I'd wonder why it had taken me so long." -
    Cover art: Perfect! - Position with other albums: Best Jack Johnson album, with Sleep Through The
    Stand-Out Tracks: All of them! -
    Favorite lyrics: "The wisdom's in the trees, not the glass windows.", "Our hearts are strong, our heads are weak, we'll always be competing, never knowing", "If I was in your position, I'd put down all my ammunition, I'd wonder why it had taken me so long." -
    Cover art: Perfect! -
    Position with other albums: Best Jack Johnson album, with Sleep Through The Static coming in a close second -
    Overall: A very good album with no flaws. This album is very good for relaxing to, especially in the Summer.
    Collapse
  4. SC.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    I think somewhere along the line major critics have forgotten their job; they're supposed to review so that the public can know if an artist is worthwhile or not. Complex lyrics, technically challenging music, and "breakthrough" concepts aren't always important in making excellent albums. Sometimes all it takes is a little personality, and Jack Johnson has charm to spare. It I think somewhere along the line major critics have forgotten their job; they're supposed to review so that the public can know if an artist is worthwhile or not. Complex lyrics, technically challenging music, and "breakthrough" concepts aren't always important in making excellent albums. Sometimes all it takes is a little personality, and Jack Johnson has charm to spare. It makes the listener want to kick back and relax, and is a breath of fresh air from all the heavy-handed "masterpieces" of modern, critically acclaimed music. Expand
  5. WillD
    May 30, 2007
    10
    As you can guess, I'm a Jack fan, and what I find hilarious about this is that, these critics are complaining that these songs aren't serious, and don't seem to get that this is the whole point to Jack's stuff.... that it's meant to be mellow and whimsical and so on...
  6. gabr
    Feb 6, 2007
    5
    Am I the only one who is tired of hearing the same song over and over, but with different lyrics.
  7. peteb
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    great!
  8. GrayC
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    One of the best artists of his time. Everyone should give it a try and really listen to the lyrics.
  9. Loona
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    i love the album. it´s so great! i bought his other albums too and can´t stop hearing his songs. jack johnson rulez!
  10. JordanH
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    this album is the best ive ever bought well worth it not a bad track and its by the most chilled out cool guy hus eva walked the planet
  11. HomieBB
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    aw cmon people this album is great
  12. TimS
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    1 l0v3 Jack Johnson!!!!!!!
  13. emc
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    i got this for a christmas present, and when i first put it in the player i honestly thought, "gosh this is boring." but then one day i decided to play it again, to see how the songs felt after a while...and it just got better and better and now i can't stop listening to jack. AWESOME... when you listen to 'in between dreams' you can't help feeling so at peace with the i got this for a christmas present, and when i first put it in the player i honestly thought, "gosh this is boring." but then one day i decided to play it again, to see how the songs felt after a while...and it just got better and better and now i can't stop listening to jack. AWESOME... when you listen to 'in between dreams' you can't help feeling so at peace with the world and it always lifts my mood, no matter what. THUMBS UP Expand
  14. alyssap
    May 16, 2006
    10
    i love jack johnson. i can listen to this album in any kind od mood and still love it. plus, he was incredible live.
  15. HenrikeG
    Apr 7, 2006
    10
    just perfect!
  16. becj
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    jack johnson is AWESOME! this album says so much and sounds amazing. He knows what REAL music is, none of that rap which is just beat and talking! he's a really talented artist to say the least!
  17. BoBJiJ
    Mar 4, 2006
    8
    Laid back, relaxing, fantastic.
  18. BenC
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    Jack Johson is so chill. I love it!
  19. kellys
    Feb 6, 2006
    3
    This album is remarkably boring and sorely lacking any reason to call it art. The only reason I've heard it often enough to merit this response is because my roomate listens to it constantly. He's a mediocre guitarist (johnson) and worse lyricist who too often gets caught up in his own sing songy direct rhymes to actually say anything. Then ,of course, there's that one song This album is remarkably boring and sorely lacking any reason to call it art. The only reason I've heard it often enough to merit this response is because my roomate listens to it constantly. He's a mediocre guitarist (johnson) and worse lyricist who too often gets caught up in his own sing songy direct rhymes to actually say anything. Then ,of course, there's that one song where the chorus is 'da da da da da da' or some such rubbish. Expand
  20. BlairS
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    Amazing album.. he's such an incredible singer and his songs are so refreshing!
  21. RayT.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    real music
  22. Carlc.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    amazing
  23. JoeD.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    beautiful
  24. WillQ.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    Jack Johnson has compiled a magnificent album, and the key word being album. It begins slowly crescendoing towards breakdown and the middle section, and eases up as he finishes. The beauty of the album is that it proves you do not have to yell or scream to garner attention. unfortunately, critics are not mature enough to recognize beautiful melodies and relaxing notes.
  25. lucyn
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    brilliant
  26. PhilS
    Dec 2, 2005
    9
    Superb, best work to date, and that's saying something. Tunes like Banana Pancakes, Never Know, Good People, etc, are all classics, which you could listen to all day. Refreshing blend of up-beat and mellow tracks make this one fantastic album
  27. RyanL
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    Jack Johnson is by far the best music ever put on cd.
  28. Samantha
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    I can listen to this, and all of his other CDs straight through without skipping songs and that's what I love most. Sure.. some of the songs aren't my favorite but I love to sing them all because Jack Johnson's poetic lyrics put me in a happy mood anytime I listen to them.
  29. adinapac
    Sep 22, 2005
    9
    Songs like Better together, Stting waiting.. Banana Pancake are really catchy.. You can listen to this album all the time, but not all the songs are great. the acoustic sound lovers will like his kind of music
  30. SupeD
    Sep 14, 2005
    1
    Horrible. Terrible. I would have given it a 0, but at least it is music. A music review is of the music, not the niceness of the artist. He may be a nice guy, but he still can't make good music.
  31. MikeR
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    Jack Johnson is so awesome, the critics are just not in tuned with his kind of music, they wanna hear hard rock or Rap, now i like that stuff too but Jack is refreshing to listen too
  32. GHoffa
    Jul 22, 2005
    8
    I agree, I think the media wasnt so keen on him singing songs about turning off the TV. How can they brainwash us if we aren't watching. Enough with insisting this guy has to push the limits of music. He has a personality and so does his music. Its about minimalism, the music, the words. Nobody (critics) gets the point I guess. Less possessions, simpler life. Simple songs, quiet and I agree, I think the media wasnt so keen on him singing songs about turning off the TV. How can they brainwash us if we aren't watching. Enough with insisting this guy has to push the limits of music. He has a personality and so does his music. Its about minimalism, the music, the words. Nobody (critics) gets the point I guess. Less possessions, simpler life. Simple songs, quiet and relaxing. i feel bad for people that cant enjoy that. I had never listened to this guy before, my sister gave me the CD a few days ago and I get it. Expand
  33. PeteL
    Jul 13, 2005
    8
    Wow after all the CRAP I hear on the radio and on MTV (etc.) video's that gets played over and over I find it hard to believe what some critics say about this album and music in general. If I was a music critic I'd shoot myself if I had to listen to todays music. I can count the good solid rock bands in the last thirty years (yea I'm up there in years) on one hand. Video TV Wow after all the CRAP I hear on the radio and on MTV (etc.) video's that gets played over and over I find it hard to believe what some critics say about this album and music in general. If I was a music critic I'd shoot myself if I had to listen to todays music. I can count the good solid rock bands in the last thirty years (yea I'm up there in years) on one hand. Video TV has killed quality music. Wake up everyone.... they tell you what is good and what you should buy. The video,look, promotion and packaging is what sells the no substance garbage we hear nowadays. And they push it on the tweenies with hype and way cool man. Even Rap.."Hey I'm a badass mofo rapper" is old hat and stale.This album is definitely not rock but it is a solid listening album if you just want to kick back. Some substance, but mostly nice listening tunes. Back to basic tunes. Nicely done Jack. Expand
  34. PatD
    Jun 5, 2005
    0
    this is even worse than the lame garbage he created before it
  35. VinceH.
    Jun 1, 2005
    8
    His best album since "Brushtire Fairytales" for sure. That remains his best effort, but this one is overall a much better collection of tunes than the meandering and often-mediocre "On and On", which at best had about 4-5 truly memorable songs. The melodies here are great and the overall mellow feel never feels bogged down, and each song is a pleasant surprise. Banana Pancakes and His best album since "Brushtire Fairytales" for sure. That remains his best effort, but this one is overall a much better collection of tunes than the meandering and often-mediocre "On and On", which at best had about 4-5 truly memorable songs. The melodies here are great and the overall mellow feel never feels bogged down, and each song is a pleasant surprise. Banana Pancakes and Sitting, Waiting, Wishing or wonderfully catchy and fun tunes that unless you are a navel-gazing evil dictator with a heart of ice, you cannot help but sing along and smile. Can't wait to see what he does next. Maybe FINALLY an album with Ben Harper? Expand
  36. WayneB
    May 22, 2005
    2
    Ego music for pretty people. OK, I'll give it a 2 since all his fans say he's a rad dude. Surf's down.
  37. MattF
    May 20, 2005
    9
    I didn't give this album a 10 because it is not perfect, however it is very close. This album is great for listening to in the background because of its soft soothing sound, it is good album to just sit listen and pay attention to, as the lyrics are deep enough that they can keep you interested. Great job Jack, enjoy the surf in Hawaii
  38. joyes
    May 19, 2005
    9
    Face it, critics only love music that is twisted, angry and musically violent! This album speaks to a soft heart and maybe there just aren't that many people, especially critics, willing to indulge that part of themselves.
  39. NoahE
    May 10, 2005
    8
    The thing about how many critics have reviewed Jack Johnson already is that I feel they do not account for the one thing that I believe is truly turning Jack Johnson into a powerful cult music force; musical personality. Yes, we can all agree Jack Johnson is no guitar master, nor is he necessarily a revolutionary songwriter. But I became attached to Jack Johnson from the "Brushfire The thing about how many critics have reviewed Jack Johnson already is that I feel they do not account for the one thing that I believe is truly turning Jack Johnson into a powerful cult music force; musical personality. Yes, we can all agree Jack Johnson is no guitar master, nor is he necessarily a revolutionary songwriter. But I became attached to Jack Johnson from the "Brushfire Fairytales" era because after hearing the second single "Bubble Toes", despite the similar strumming pattern of that track and "Flake", he is just that kind of artist you can be so easily accustomed to, whether you are absolutely in love with him or annoyed by him. Jack Johnson has a wonderful, enthralling personality in himself and his music. He can be very playful and fun-loving, yet he also never fears to speak his convictions of serious issues like the war in Iraq and the people represented in our media. He can always present himself like the child inside the man or is never afraid to share his feminine side, yet he also has that mild sarcasm play in him and masculine swing to other jams. Moreover, it's his voice. Even on something like "Sitting, Waiting, Wishing", with venomous lyrics to an ex-lover, he always keeps his cool and sings in a soothing, peaceful tone. Very rarely do you hear anyone always keep their cool across a plethora of situations. Jack Johnson's voice and personality I believe is just what the world needs and wants in a difficult post-911 climate where fear and uncertainty is dominant and too many just want to find a comforting voice...or simply just to get a smile or a giggle out of one of his cute, wordplay numbers like "Mudfootball" or "Banana Pancakes". I think Jack Johnson has become one major cult outlet for that. Beyond everyone's opinion of Jack Johnson if he may or may not be too repetitive in his style of music and recording or what not, I believe his personality is really the one thing that has won hundreds of thousands over and why he has two million-plus selling records and a third album now destined to even eclipse "On And On" now under his belt! And on "In Between Dreams", it's no exception. Though he speaks of the troubling things in the world ("Good People", "Crying Shame") he doesn't let it overwhelm him and rid of the playful, innocent inner-child and lover in him ("Banana Pancakes", "Better Together", "Constellations", "Do You Remember"). It would be nice to see Jack Johnson make the effort to be more experimental with his music from here on (maybe incorporate some steel drums, a merengue twist, pan flutes, etc.) into his blend of tropical folk. But personality has proven to shape artists, and is what makes this release enjoyable. Expand
  40. EmilyW
    May 9, 2005
    10
    He is so inspiring and is meaningful and romantic ...i love his new cd
  41. JasonS
    May 2, 2005
    8
    I find it ironic that the critics pan this "as more of the same, yet less inspiring." It seems as if they want Jack Johnson to squeeze every last ounce of mellow vibe and distill it into one album which contains the essence of the island vibe-cum-surfer turned acoustic songwriter. In Jack's own words: "If I were in your position, I'd put down all my ammunition, and wonder why it I find it ironic that the critics pan this "as more of the same, yet less inspiring." It seems as if they want Jack Johnson to squeeze every last ounce of mellow vibe and distill it into one album which contains the essence of the island vibe-cum-surfer turned acoustic songwriter. In Jack's own words: "If I were in your position, I'd put down all my ammunition, and wonder why it had taken me so long..." This album is a great listen, and is certainly worth a purchase/download. Expand
  42. LauraM
    May 1, 2005
    10
    looooove it...just bought it yesterday ive listened to it about 5 times already. more great stuff from jack.
  43. JasonG
    Apr 26, 2005
    0
    Ok, where is my bed and where can I go to sleep? A sleeper of an album.
  44. JoannaH
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    Great CD. It gets better each time I listen to it - a good mix of creative, relaxing and energizing, cool tunes. Go Jack!
  45. brad
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    this album rocks!...forget rolling stone
  46. Louise
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    awesome!!!!
  47. PavelP
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    Awesome album, I listen it every day, very fresh. One can almost feel Hawaii and surfing...Good job.
  48. MaraN
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    IT IS AWESOME!!!
  49. NathanB
    Apr 4, 2005
    6
    Each album is more of the same but not as fresh as the last.
  50. NickP
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    This cd is great, but that is what is expected. I think everyone needs to listen to Jack and calm down and not be so up tight all the time. Great work, keep it up Jack.
  51. jessicaa
    Apr 4, 2005
    8
    this was the best cd ever. i like the song bannna panckaes
  52. BrittM
    Apr 2, 2005
    10
    As usual Jack comes through w/ a masterpiece. His music is an inspiration to everyone to be a better human being.
  53. DanielleB
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    jack johnson is pure musical talent. no doubt about it beautiful
  54. victoriamcc
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    Its the cutest cd, he's so damn cool.
  55. AshleyS
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    I love all of Jack's music. I feel that the world needs someone like Jack. His views on society and life are totally unique. Listening to his music has made me a better person. In my opinion, Jack is sensitizing the nation.
  56. Birdman
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    J.J.keeps finding ways to let party with my friend to his great tunes, just another great cd for j.j
  57. GregJ
    Mar 30, 2005
    8
    What can I say, he's smooth as silk, lyrics are poetic, not an overly disturbing song on the entire album with the exception of Banana Pancakes but still a creative excursion never the less. Take all three of his albums, his material with G Love, Donovan Frenkenwreiter and Thicker than Water Sndtrk, combine the best of each and you have an excellent emursion of arse kickin tunes.
  58. jennap
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    best album of jack johnsons love it!!!!!!
  59. StephanieA
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    This album is by far his best! If it wasn't for his awesome music, we would be deprived of the best there is out there! of course we would never know it... but we would!!
  60. jenb
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    jack is the shit
  61. AngelaP
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Great Album, this album is a little more on the sweeter note.. it is definately a listen to feel good album
  62. TSabato
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    My 17 yo son introduced me to this CD by Jack and I absolutely love it. I take it to work, in my car and at home and still can't get enough. I have bought his previous two cd's but plan to as soon as possible. His music is very relaxing with lyrics that seem full of thought and life.
  63. kylew
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    brilliant cd. not as good as brushfire fairytales but very good .. two thumbs up
  64. MaiaM
    Mar 29, 2005
    6
    It's just...okay. Not that great, and yeah, it does have a weird song about pancakes.......didnt quite get that one.
  65. AnthonyB
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Some may say his sound hasn't evolved but why fix something that isn't broke? Laid back music with meaningful and relevant lyrics is more than I can ask for when most artists are just trying too hard to be "trendy".
  66. JamesB
    Mar 28, 2005
    8
    As opposed to some peoples views, I do not believe that Jack missed the boat on this one, nor did he sell out. This album is the same lackadaisical instrumentation and mellow vocals that made his other albums so great. It was however, lacking in some area that I just can't seem to figure out. Perhaps it's the lack of songs that review social issues like Cookie Jar, from On and As opposed to some peoples views, I do not believe that Jack missed the boat on this one, nor did he sell out. This album is the same lackadaisical instrumentation and mellow vocals that made his other albums so great. It was however, lacking in some area that I just can't seem to figure out. Perhaps it's the lack of songs that review social issues like Cookie Jar, from On and On. There might be one song that semi fits into that category, but I suppose this album wasn't necessarily meant to be a social commentary. All in all, the songs are great, they put you in a good mood, and isn't being in a good mood fulfilling in itself? Expand
  67. SamanthaH
    Mar 27, 2005
    9
    I Love Jack Johnson! This album is perfect for summer it reminds me of the beach and summer! Cant wait to pop it into my car and drive around and relax!
  68. Louise
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    awesome!!!!
  69. GeneS
    Mar 25, 2005
    6
    I love Jack's music but...if you have a copy of Brushfire Fairytales you have already heard this CD. Sounds like throw backs from Brushfire Fairytales. I'm looking forward to the real new CD.
  70. MeghanP
    Mar 24, 2005
    9
    I think that it flows really well. I listen to it at work and it makes my day go by so much faster.
  71. jennr
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    this is one of those cd's that you can listen to over & over & over....
  72. RogerB
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    This albumn is great. For anyone who doesn't like it, you should buy his 1st two albumns and listen to them first. Jack is, without a doubt, one of the greatest song writers of our generation. He uses his voice like an instrument and blends it perfectly with every melody. When I listen to any song on this albumn, I realize it's more than just a song with lyrics and melodies, This albumn is great. For anyone who doesn't like it, you should buy his 1st two albumns and listen to them first. Jack is, without a doubt, one of the greatest song writers of our generation. He uses his voice like an instrument and blends it perfectly with every melody. When I listen to any song on this albumn, I realize it's more than just a song with lyrics and melodies, it's a feeling. There are few people who can create a feeling within you with a song, (not just make you feel a certain way) and that's why Jack Johnson is a musical genius. Expand
  73. JenniS
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    I really like the folk sound...if you love Bob Dylan and John Prine, this is the way to go
  74. courtg
    Mar 21, 2005
    8
    I got back from a few weeks in Hawaii and then bought the album. I threw it into my car's cd player and drove around for a while. As all of the other drivers tailgated each other and blared their horns, I -- an admitted road-rager -- slowed down, stopped for yellow lights, and never felt compelled to curse or give anyone the finger. I like the CD; it might be corny in bits, but I got back from a few weeks in Hawaii and then bought the album. I threw it into my car's cd player and drove around for a while. As all of the other drivers tailgated each other and blared their horns, I -- an admitted road-rager -- slowed down, stopped for yellow lights, and never felt compelled to curse or give anyone the finger. I like the CD; it might be corny in bits, but it's impossible to be anything but relaxed and happy when you listen to it. Expand
  75. Tom
    Mar 18, 2005
    2
    Jack really missed the boat on this ditty. Very cheesy lyrics on bannana pancakes, but good for him for gettin in touch with his feminine side and enjoying bannana pancakes so much that he needed to write a song about them. I cringe when I hear that one.
  76. Hans
    Mar 14, 2005
    8
    Very chill and laid back album that will be in constant play on my ipod this summer.
  77. morgans
    Mar 13, 2005
    2
    he has sold out! lame titles such as sitting, waiting, wishing and banana pancakes. he pushed this album to quickly. pretty gay
  78. amandaj
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    i thought that this album was really good and i enjoyed listening to every song
  79. ps
    Mar 12, 2005
    7
    Jack is great but this CD leaves too much to be desired. A handfull of songs make it worth buying but i found that half the songs are rather forgettable. Album is a mixed bag. Jacks just dosent fulfill his full potential.
  80. andrewd
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    This album gets better every time I listen to it. If everyone had "In Between Dreams" in their CD player, the world would be a better place.
  81. Ana
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    simply amazing. simply soothing. simply jack johnson.
  82. [Anonymous]
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    yet another amazing creation by jack johnson. no matter the mood you're in this CD soothes you
  83. KatyC
    Mar 10, 2005
    0
    i hate his style and how he doesn't know how to make sensible music. still has that pig-roast feel to it, but a terrible casual late-summer album. his lyricism still has some left to be desired, as does his music, his production, his mixing, his band, his album art...I could go on and on.
  84. JebJ
    Mar 10, 2005
    0
    Awful...what a waste of my allowance. I should have just gotten the new Bright Eyes instead. At least that's bad, but sounds like Bob Dylan, not Jimmy Buffett. Stay far away!
  85. JesseJ
    Mar 10, 2005
    0
    ENOUGH! you're not even as good as Jimmy Buffet and that's really saying something. Get lost, please.
  86. RachelM
    Mar 10, 2005
    9
    This CD is wonderful. It retains Johnsons' classic great guitar work, interesting lyrics, and terribly-catchy rhythms, but it shows added depth, with greater instrumental variety. (If I didn
  87. BillG
    Mar 10, 2005
    3
    Bland: the weakest of his three releases.
  88. LawrenceP
    Mar 7, 2005
    8
    Not much new here, but it's done so well that you really can't complain. Makes me want to take up surfing.
  89. TravisG
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    Jack Johson is sick. This album is a good repesetation of his musical talents. It has the same formula as the other albums, except wit a more happy feel to his songs. I'd recommend it to everyone.
  90. TelmoM
    Mar 6, 2005
    9
    Great...just great!!
  91. MackieO
    Mar 5, 2005
    9
    Great lyrics, great sound, relaxing, smooth and calming, to be truthful i wasn't a Jack Johnson fan before this CD, but after really lisenting to it.....i found myself really enjoying it
  92. DaveC
    Mar 3, 2005
    9
    first 6-7 songs are great perfect. great cd radio needs to play some JJ and get this guy paid. Awsome artist.
  93. KatieH
    Mar 3, 2005
    8
    i love his style and how he knows how to make sensible music. still has that pig-roast feel to it, but a nice casual late-summer album. his lyricism still has some left to be desired.
  94. NathanD
    Mar 3, 2005
    9
    If you like Jack, or just acousic guitar, this is a great album. Very smooth!
  95. GauravG
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    The songwriting's much tighter, there aren't endless instrumental breakdowns, and his lyrics are great... he even sings in French and mixes in some country/folk influences. His best yet.
  96. DavidC
    Mar 2, 2005
    9
    Excellent album. It has the same feel as his others but with a few new sounds.
  97. victord
    Mar 2, 2005
    9
    very much like the other albums, i like some songs on there, but really it's all easy listening, with good guitar and a nice touch of raggae.
  98. SarahM
    Mar 1, 2005
    9
    THis album is beautiful...it's been on repeat all day. The musical styles are so varied and the lyrics make you think but are simultaneously mellow.
  99. Dan
    Mar 1, 2005
    8
    Not as good as On and On, but still a pretty strong album, the usual laid back, feel good music that I love.
  100. fortyounces
    Mar 1, 2005
    9
    I think this is probably my favorite Jack Johnson album yet, if not tied with Brushfire Fairytales. It follows basically the same formula as the past ones, but it is definetly fresh and the melodies are great. There are a couple songs that I pass over most of the time, but less so than the past albums(like I said, maybe not Brushfire). If you don't like the older stuff, you're I think this is probably my favorite Jack Johnson album yet, if not tied with Brushfire Fairytales. It follows basically the same formula as the past ones, but it is definetly fresh and the melodies are great. There are a couple songs that I pass over most of the time, but less so than the past albums(like I said, maybe not Brushfire). If you don't like the older stuff, you're unlikely to like this, and likewise you would probably like this if you like the older stuff. If you've never heard Jack Johnson, this is not a bad place to start. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. The genre-blending charm and sweetness that made Brushfire Fairytales and On and On so nice doesn't change that much, but does it really have to change?
  2. The drifting chords and soft voice are still in place, only now Johnson's instinct for melody has sharpened alongside his ability to self-edit.
  3. There's a little reggae touch here, some mild folk there, but mostly Johnson just excels at creating gentle background music that sways like the waves and feels twice as cool.