In Defense Of The Genre Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The two-disc album contains more than two dozen guests, including Gerard Way of My Chemical Romance, Chris Carrabba of Dashboard Confessional, and Chad Gilbert of New Found Glory.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Unexpected as they are, Defense's sonic twists almost always work, justifying the album's 89-minute run time.
  2. Defense of the Genre is the best major label release of the year, and the most surprising album to boot.
  3. Bemis successfully came out of the other side on In Defense Of The Genre, producing an opus that musicians more than twice his age could only hope to create. [Dec 2007, p.185]
  4. 80
    Yet with its detours into slick synth pop, weepy roots rock, and big Broadway music, the sprawling Genre proves that emo needn't be boxed in by stylistic dogma. [Dec 2007, p.120]
  5. Bemis may be seeking to defend the emo genre, but his album instead illustrates the difference between run-of-the-mill emo--which, indeed, comprises most of the genre's output--and the imaginative, skillful tunes that flourish here. The only major downside is the album's length.
  6. In Defense of the Genre does defeat the emo stigma and the double CD stigma easily, and does improve slightly on the pretty-good "…Is a Real Boy." But these are minor inventions; any "genius" is pretty much limited to the bites and nuggets reported here.
  7. It’s the same Say Anything that we’ve heard before, only this time around, they’ve switched out their melodic focus for an expanded musical palette, which is ultimately a gift and a curse at the same time.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    An astounding album of catching tunes and amazing lyrics. Say Anything's follow up to ...Is a real boy is a masterpiece thats a crowningAn astounding album of catching tunes and amazing lyrics. Say Anything's follow up to ...Is a real boy is a masterpiece thats a crowning achievement in music. Collapse
  2. WilliamJ.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    This is a great album. Someone will like at least one song on this album. They have a every wide range pallet and it shows to the fullest. This is a great album. Someone will like at least one song on this album. They have a every wide range pallet and it shows to the fullest. This is one of Max Bemis's best work and he should be congratulated for it. Expand
  3. DustinP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    This CD is butterscotch sound.
  4. KaylaP
    May 26, 2008
    10
    This CD is epic, Say Anything never ceases to amaze me. Everything they do is solid.
  5. ACDCritic
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    Excellent CD. Lots of unnecessary tracks but enough great tracks there (around 17 out of 27) to be fully recommended anyway. It's really Excellent CD. Lots of unnecessary tracks but enough great tracks there (around 17 out of 27) to be fully recommended anyway. It's really an epic and fantastic album and a great evolution for the band. Expand
  6. daniell.
    Feb 6, 2008
    8
    Some amazing songs but then there are some ones that i dont think are too strong but i guess i cant like every song on a 2 disc set, the Some amazing songs but then there are some ones that i dont think are too strong but i guess i cant like every song on a 2 disc set, the backing vocals are what makes this kenny vasoli, max bemis, and hailey of paramore on the same song is just too great to be true max is a great song writer but there are like 6 songs that seem too forced so it gets an eight from me but max is just incredible even tough this cd isn't his best, ps eric c has no idea what he is talking about do you play an instrument or write music this is soooo different from the average emo band and in defense of the genre is saying how they like the emo genre what is music without emotion..... its not music thats for sure. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Nov 13, 2007
    1
    Some people don't know the difference between good music and bad music THIS is bad music.

See all 19 User Reviews