In Ghost Colours

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 71
  2. Negative: 2 out of 71

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeFromMaine
    Mar 17, 2009
    9
    This thing moves from start to finish. A few moments to breathe here or there, but otherwise it makes pop/dance non-stop pop/dance music seem easy. Great for running, working out and driving.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic album all 'round. One of the best of 2008. Weird that even the reviews that gave it low scores seem to praise it. I don't know why this site allows shit reviewers that no one cares about to drag down the overall score of a fantastic album such as this.
  3. katf
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Quite honestly, this album hasn't left my CD player since it came out. it's simply stellar. it'll be hard to top this one for album of the year on my 2008 list. also saw cut copy live a few weeks ago and it was one of the most outrageous, dance-tastic shows i've ever seen!
  4. JyotirmayaD.
    May 31, 2008
    8
    Hey, this band is so hip-hypnotic!!! I don't usually like what sounds here to be like dance music but these guys made a really really good album... Now .... why in the world did they name their band "Cut Copy." I mean, something like "Evolution" would have been more dramatic for them and their groovey sound!
  5. MycroftW.
    Jun 28, 2008
    8
    Might grow on me, but so far has not lived up to the standard of the prereleased singles. Having said that it should get 8 points alone for Hearts on Fire being one of the tracks
  6. JonV
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    The perfect spring /summer day to evening soundtrack. Seemless from beginning to end, and as dynamic as it is varied without being too schizophrenic, it's hands down the best release so far in 2008.
  7. JJ
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    A musical gem of epic proportions. A beautiful, yet catchy album with some incredible songs. Probably, the best album of 08.
  8. Mattie
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, gorgeous, original and absolutely catchy as hell! All these things probably make this the best of 2008.
  9. JustinP.
    May 23, 2008
    9
    One of the best dance records this year, thanks to DFA man Tim Goldsworthy for producing it.
  10. GeoffG
    May 28, 2008
    10
    This is one of the most energetic releases that has ever graced my hammer, anvil, and stirrup. After this album, I do believe in magic.
  11. ZacC.
    Jun 12, 2008
    3
    This album has a few real standout songs, but the rest is really nothing special.
  12. WillP.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    Simply brilliant. It's a seamless flow of excellent music.
  13. DavidK
    Sep 29, 2008
    10
    Refreshing, unchallenging, perfect for the positivity, fun and listenability that it's added to my music collection. It's simple, engaging, enjoyable and hasn't worn off on me after 15 listens. Perfect.
  14. AC
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Easily, album of the year.
  15. BillH
    May 23, 2008
    10
    So rare to find an album that is just pure catchy joy to listen to. Every song has hooks and is different enough to be interesting. Daft Punk crossed with New Order...outstanding record of the year so far by a mile.
  16. RenatoM.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    The perfect blend of disco, 80's dance music, and today's electronics, with some Joy Division guitars to make it even cooler.
  17. PamP.
    May 27, 2008
    9
    This album is like delicious New Order that doesn't suck. I can't stop listening to it. I bought their debut CD and its just as amazing!
  18. NickB.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Its SO close to being a flawless album I had to give it a 10. Its a 9.7/9.8, but I had to round up. This CD is amazing.
  19. LenL
    Jun 28, 2008
    9
    About the only gripe I'd have is that the link tracks don't do much for me if they pop up in 'shuffle' mode. That's not Cut Copy's fault. They've made an old-fashioned elpee, and a great one at that. Sure it's derivative, but the song construction is so sharp and the production so deliciously thick it hardly matters. It's been on my playlist About the only gripe I'd have is that the link tracks don't do much for me if they pop up in 'shuffle' mode. That's not Cut Copy's fault. They've made an old-fashioned elpee, and a great one at that. Sure it's derivative, but the song construction is so sharp and the production so deliciously thick it hardly matters. It's been on my playlist for two months and looks to rule the summer for two or three more. The record of the year at the midway point. Expand
  20. JohnS
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    My favorite disc of last year, a must own for those who look back fondly on music from the 80's.
  21. XY
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    The coolest and freshest album I've heard in ages. Now, this is real music.
  22. Shay
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Truly a revelation. It's a joy to listen to from start to finish. This is destined to be a classic.
  23. niallb
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Is it just me or was this one of, possibly THE BEST release of 2008?
  24. Ollie
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    Brilliant collection of electronic, dance songs. Probably, the best album of 08.
  25. JohnB
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Okay, I've only been listening to this band since the beginning of 2008; however, even though at first I would only occasionally listen, they have slowly crept up the rungs of my addiction ladder. One question that is totally perturbing me with all the reviews: Why don't I read more about comparisons with New Order? This band has taken a similar aesthetic and rocketed it to a Okay, I've only been listening to this band since the beginning of 2008; however, even though at first I would only occasionally listen, they have slowly crept up the rungs of my addiction ladder. One question that is totally perturbing me with all the reviews: Why don't I read more about comparisons with New Order? This band has taken a similar aesthetic and rocketed it to a whole new level. To be sure, I am a fan of every genre of music and even do my own acoustic/countrified versions of New Order songs when playing solo gigs. This band is definitely on my list of recommended listens for perspective on the sounds of this decade. Expand
  26. RussellE
    Dec 26, 2008
    6
    This album is like delicious suck that doesn't new order. I can stop listening to it any moment I choose. I bought their debut CD and its just as non-amazing as this crude.
  27. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Beautifully and sympathetically produced, this is a cohesive set of pop songs dressed up as electro/dance. Unashamedly romantic lyrics cut through painterly washes of synth, summery acoustic strumming, and the occasional rave-up sound effect. The presence of Tim Goldsworthy behind the boards cannot be underestimated - what a remarkable transformation from their debut!
  28. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    Hugely diverse record. There's rock, pop and dance. It's upbeat, it's glory filled, there's angst, there's melancholy. It's fast, it's slow and, the majority of the time, it all comes together incredibly well.
  29. May 17, 2013
    8
    I love this album, it's fun, nostalgic and groovy all at the same time. This is a very clear sound Cut Copy developed since their debut. One of the great examples of the disco-punk/no wave sound.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. To be sure, In Ghost Colours is a triumph of craftsmanship rather than vision--a synthesis and refinement of existing sounds rather than anything dramatically new and original--but it is an unalloyed triumph nonetheless, and one of the finest albums of its kind.
  2. The way In Ghost Colours exploits my affection for synth pop and empty, detached vocals, I should be knocking down Dan Whitford’s door trying to get a strand of hair, but the album unfortunately loses its resonance on subsequent listens, its sheen lessening to a duller shade with each closer inspection.
  3. From start to finish this is an unexpected adventure through the crossover, leaving the door of the VIP bunker open for us all to sneak in.