User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 6 out of 40

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidY
    Aug 6, 2006
    7
    I have a lot of respect for Pharrell- his excellent production work, his great live performances, the empire he's created. And he expands this empire further on this album. Sure, a lot of it is a little overproduced and doesn't have the "band" feel that the N*E*R*D tracks (especially on "In Search Of:"). But this is Pharrell's heart and soul on a plate and I don't mind I have a lot of respect for Pharrell- his excellent production work, his great live performances, the empire he's created. And he expands this empire further on this album. Sure, a lot of it is a little overproduced and doesn't have the "band" feel that the N*E*R*D tracks (especially on "In Search Of:"). But this is Pharrell's heart and soul on a plate and I don't mind it at all. Expand
  2. JimmyP
    Jul 25, 2006
    7
    I was a bit dissapointed with the cd because i waited since last year to hear it, but it's still a pretty good album..what holds it together is the production....
  3. davea
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    AMAZING album - skateboard P never fails to deliver! keep on hating
  4. gregb
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    i'm not quite sure what the negative critics have on pharrell's first solo album. like others have said, it only gets better the more you listen to it. my fav is "that girl", but this cd is full of great songs, not to mention several other artists, kanye west, snoop dogg, etc.
  5. kenj
    Aug 1, 2006
    6
    Just not his best work. Stilll not bad. Too pop. There's no motivation behind the lyrics like previous work with N*E*R*D. Seems to just sing about being rich and hence most listeners cant relate. Still the beats are hot and fresh.
  6. RobertoP
    Aug 2, 2006
    9
    This is a fantastic album, from the production done exclusively by Pharrell, to the lyrical originality, the short guest appearances, to the off key singing. I listened to this and not since In Search of... has Pharrell gotten to this level of artistry. In Search of... had the same particular feel that this one had. When N*E*R*D*'s first album dropped it got mixed reviews much like This is a fantastic album, from the production done exclusively by Pharrell, to the lyrical originality, the short guest appearances, to the off key singing. I listened to this and not since In Search of... has Pharrell gotten to this level of artistry. In Search of... had the same particular feel that this one had. When N*E*R*D*'s first album dropped it got mixed reviews much like this one is getting. Upon hearing it and the music being used in commercials, radio spots, TV shows and movies, it gained a cult following. The album was viewed as superb, ahead of its time, or an "aquired taste". All synonyms for an album that has an appeal for those that don't mind a diverse sound. This album has a little rock (Baby f/Nelly) which I don't particularly like much, mixed with R&B (Number One), Hip Hop (Show You How to Hustle) 80s Pop (Young Girl). That touches on all of the genre's that Pharrell has produced music for. He's pulled off a solid album that the only flaw is the variation in the production. Not that he isn't a talented producer, that goes without saying, but he kept it simple. Synths, and a drum and baseline. I doubt any other producer could have squeezed any better beats out of those three components. Expand
  7. Vince
    Aug 7, 2006
    9
    I've been listening to this album daily since I've gotten it, and its only been getting better and better with each listen. The people that be hatin must have been listening with some terrible speakers, this album needs to be heard LOUD and with the bass thumping - most of the tracks have some naaasty bass
  8. EmmanuelO
    Sep 5, 2006
    8
    this album brings a little bit of everything hip hop and r and b most artists are not able to do that and he also produces his own beats
  9. JayBeeN
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    Not an Impressive album but a really good one.. Pharrell is definitely creative
  10. tracih
    Aug 3, 2006
    8
    i think pharreli is a very talented man. to me some of the haters are quick to judge him because we ae so use to hearing his energy within the beats that he make and not giving him a chance. yes, he is a producer but he wants to expand more so you do have to become mre open with him when you listen to his alblum. the album is good some songs good some songs are great to me. i think some i think pharreli is a very talented man. to me some of the haters are quick to judge him because we ae so use to hearing his energy within the beats that he make and not giving him a chance. yes, he is a producer but he wants to expand more so you do have to become mre open with him when you listen to his alblum. the album is good some songs good some songs are great to me. i think some reviews are harsh because they have nothing else better to do then hate. get a life. love you pharrell Expand
  11. RyanS
    Jul 25, 2006
    6
    As a rapper, he
  12. MorganZ
    Jul 26, 2006
    9
    Kills Kanye's L.R. with ease. However, there is not a track on the album as catchy as 2003's "Frontin". Overall, the album very versitile and the R&B tracks can easily compete with even Babyface's catalog. Next time out, I would enjoy hearing Chad Hugo and possibly Timbaland take hold of the production work for a track or two. Great effort considering it was composed and Kills Kanye's L.R. with ease. However, there is not a track on the album as catchy as 2003's "Frontin". Overall, the album very versitile and the R&B tracks can easily compete with even Babyface's catalog. Next time out, I would enjoy hearing Chad Hugo and possibly Timbaland take hold of the production work for a track or two. Great effort considering it was composed and written by Pharrell and Pharrell alone, something you cannot say about all producer-rappers or rappers in general for that matter. Overall: A- Expand
  13. aL.
    Jul 26, 2006
    4
    This album is pathetically weak...as compared to his N.E.R.D album...
  14. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    I have no idea why people decided to hate on this album. This album was ahead of its time and is still fun to listen to every day. Pharrell's beats are actually spectacular. With tracks like "How Does It Feel" and "Keep it Playa", it's hard to ignore this album. Thank you, Pharrell, for helping me get interested in hip-hop music.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. The bulk of the R&B tracks are gloopy. [Mar 2006, p.106]
  2. 60
    Ultimately, In My Mind falters through narrowness of vision. [Dec 2005, p.120]
  3. If In My Mind seems divided against itself, rest assured that all of the songs have something in common: They're not remotely catchy.