In My Own Words

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Feb 28, 2006
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Although it's firmly in the commercial-R&B camp, it's got much more energy than those slickly produced records, and at times, the record's production verges on dirty.
  2. Pencil Ne-Yo in as R&B rookie of the year--and don’t be surprised if no one trumps him before 2006 is gone.
  3. While tracks like "So Sick" and "Stay" hit a few sweet neosoul spots, this perfectly pleasant disc is lacking that roundhouse kick that floors you.
  4. Admittedly, Ne-Yo’s lyric-writing is hardly the stuff of legends... However, his robust man-child voice tempers the redundancy of heartache and makes the album a plausible listen.
  5. Los Angeles Times
    63
    Unfortunately, the sincerity -- not to mention Ne-Yo himself -- is drowned in the relentless whirring of the music machine: vocal choruses, orchestral drama, horns and flutes, and endless sprinklings of electronic fairy dust. [5 Mar 2006]
  6. Rolling Stone
    70
    Thirteen tracks of state-of-the-art bump'n'grind. [9 Mar 2006, p.92]
  7. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Confident if slightly underwhelming. [3 Mar 2006, p.100]
  8. Billboard
    70
    Though, at times, the lyrics are a bit too sentimental ("Time") and production is spotty, "In My Own Words" should have listeners clinging to Ne-Yo's every word. [4 Mar 2006]
  9. The New York Times
    70
    Ne-Yo is a deft and appealing player in the game of modern-day R&B. [27 Feb 2006]
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. DestineyFLYE
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Neyo you are so cute and funny i whant to see you in real life. i live in AmariloTexas and i love your music,i love makinglove to you, thats Neyo you are so cute and funny i whant to see you in real life. i live in AmariloTexas and i love your music,i love makinglove to you, thats the best one ever. i'm 10years old and i'm voting for you Full Review »
  2. CherokeeP
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    If I could give this CD a higher grade I would. NeYo is not only creative in his writing but he delivers an album free of all the extra If I could give this CD a higher grade I would. NeYo is not only creative in his writing but he delivers an album free of all the extra bullshit found in so many other albums in all genre's of music. His vocals are crazy and the music is timeless. A lot of singers are surrounded by hype and cannot back it up. NEYO can!!!! Better than John Legend's album wHere every song sounds the same. YOU DID YOUR THANG NEYO. I LOVE YOUR ALBUM. Full Review »
  3. Jan 7, 2016
    10
    One of the best R&B albums in history. The album is full of masterpieces and very good songs, like "So Sick", a perfect R&B song, one of theOne of the best R&B albums in history. The album is full of masterpieces and very good songs, like "So Sick", a perfect R&B song, one of the best R&B songs ever made, "Sexy Love" the best song on the album a slowjam hip hop soul, that makes me think how it's beautiful every time i listen it, others songs very good are "Stay", a song that has a differently underground style, "Time" a beautiful R&B song with a legendary sound, "When You're Mad" a sweet and chilling song, and all the others songs are really good. Surely everyone who likes the R&B will love this album Full Review »