Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Though, at times, the lyrics are a bit too sentimental ("Time") and production is spotty, "In My Own Words" should have listeners clinging to Ne-Yo's every word. [4 Mar 2006]
  2. 60
    Even at its weepiest, his music, thankfully, stays vivacious. [Apr 2006, p.116]
  3. While tracks like "So Sick" and "Stay" hit a few sweet neosoul spots, this perfectly pleasant disc is lacking that roundhouse kick that floors you.
  4. Confident if slightly underwhelming. [3 Mar 2006, p.100]
  5. Unfortunately, the sincerity -- not to mention Ne-Yo himself -- is drowned in the relentless whirring of the music machine: vocal choruses, orchestral drama, horns and flutes, and endless sprinklings of electronic fairy dust. [5 Mar 2006]
  6. Admittedly, Ne-Yo’s lyric-writing is hardly the stuff of legends... However, his robust man-child voice tempers the redundancy of heartache and makes the album a plausible listen.
  7. Although it's firmly in the commercial-R&B camp, it's got much more energy than those slickly produced records, and at times, the record's production verges on dirty.
  8. Thirteen tracks of state-of-the-art bump'n'grind. [9 Mar 2006, p.92]
  9. In My Own Words might pale next to Legend's stellar debut, but, even at its Robert Kelly worst, it's not hateable.
  10. Pencil Ne-Yo in as R&B rookie of the year--and don’t be surprised if no one trumps him before 2006 is gone.
  11. Ne-Yo is a deft and appealing player in the game of modern-day R&B. [27 Feb 2006]
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. DestineyFLYE
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Neyo you are so cute and funny i whant to see you in real life. i live in AmariloTexas and i love your music,i love makinglove to you, thats the best one ever. i'm 10years old and i'm voting for you Full Review »
  2. CherokeeP
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    If I could give this CD a higher grade I would. NeYo is not only creative in his writing but he delivers an album free of all the extra bullshit found in so many other albums in all genre's of music. His vocals are crazy and the music is timeless. A lot of singers are surrounded by hype and cannot back it up. NEYO can!!!! Better than John Legend's album wHere every song sounds the same. YOU DID YOUR THANG NEYO. I LOVE YOUR ALBUM. Full Review »
  3. AlexF
    Oct 4, 2006
    7
    What is that Sam D guy talking about? This CD is not rap, though I agree it tends toward the mediocre. I think the singles are definitely the highlights. Full Review »