In My Own Words

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Feb 28, 2006
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. rosea
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    i think this album is the bomb i love it and i realy want to recieve all the info about neyo i just love him
  2. EricaK
    Mar 3, 2006
    10
    I love Ne-Yo. He rocks my world.
  3. DestineyFLYE
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Neyo you are so cute and funny i whant to see you in real life. i live in AmariloTexas and i love your music,i love makinglove to you, thats the best one ever. i'm 10years old and i'm voting for you
  4. Dee
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    i love this cd...its the best one that i have bought in a while... the last cd that i loved this much was usher..since then, this is the best one yet... i listen to it all day
  5. MariaW
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    I love#10 sexy love and #13! I love the whole album
  6. harryj
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    This cd is tha best of tha year
  7. tiffneyj
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    this is the best r&b album in the last couple of years. You can litsen to it over and over again. If you don't like this cd you don't know anything about real music. And he can sing live. I love ne-yo!
  8. tav
    May 3, 2006
    10
    OmG...i is tha bestest album...man the whole cd is tight...and i can tell that all tha songs really mean somethin to him and he lets us knoe a part of him...LOVE it LOVE IT LOVEIT...lol
  9. JasmineH
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    I am only like 13 years old but Ne-yo is jusst the best artist in the world. I mean his songs flow and they are catchy but meaningful at the same time. He is so talented to be able to express his feelings like that in a song. The song is only for minutes but when I listen to it it feels like 4 hours!!
  10. CherokeeP
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    If I could give this CD a higher grade I would. NeYo is not only creative in his writing but he delivers an album free of all the extra bullshit found in so many other albums in all genre's of music. His vocals are crazy and the music is timeless. A lot of singers are surrounded by hype and cannot back it up. NEYO can!!!! Better than John Legend's album wHere every song sounds If I could give this CD a higher grade I would. NeYo is not only creative in his writing but he delivers an album free of all the extra bullshit found in so many other albums in all genre's of music. His vocals are crazy and the music is timeless. A lot of singers are surrounded by hype and cannot back it up. NEYO can!!!! Better than John Legend's album wHere every song sounds the same. YOU DID YOUR THANG NEYO. I LOVE YOUR ALBUM. Expand
  11. AlexF
    Oct 4, 2006
    7
    What is that Sam D guy talking about? This CD is not rap, though I agree it tends toward the mediocre. I think the singles are definitely the highlights.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. While tracks like "So Sick" and "Stay" hit a few sweet neosoul spots, this perfectly pleasant disc is lacking that roundhouse kick that floors you.
  2. Though, at times, the lyrics are a bit too sentimental ("Time") and production is spotty, "In My Own Words" should have listeners clinging to Ne-Yo's every word. [4 Mar 2006]
  3. Confident if slightly underwhelming. [3 Mar 2006, p.100]