In My Own Words Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 22-year-old writer of songs for the likes of Mary J. Blige steps into the spotlight with his debut as an R&B artist.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Pencil Ne-Yo in as R&B rookie of the year--and don’t be surprised if no one trumps him before 2006 is gone.
  2. Although it's firmly in the commercial-R&B camp, it's got much more energy than those slickly produced records, and at times, the record's production verges on dirty.
  3. Admittedly, Ne-Yo’s lyric-writing is hardly the stuff of legends... However, his robust man-child voice tempers the redundancy of heartache and makes the album a plausible listen.
  4. Thirteen tracks of state-of-the-art bump'n'grind. [9 Mar 2006, p.92]
  5. While tracks like "So Sick" and "Stay" hit a few sweet neosoul spots, this perfectly pleasant disc is lacking that roundhouse kick that floors you.
  6. Confident if slightly underwhelming. [3 Mar 2006, p.100]
  7. In My Own Words might pale next to Legend's stellar debut, but, even at its Robert Kelly worst, it's not hateable.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Dee
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    i love this cd...its the best one that i have bought in a while... the last cd that i loved this much was usher..since then, this is the best one yet... i listen to it all day Expand
  2. harryj
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    This cd is tha best of tha year
  3. DestineyFLYE
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Neyo you are so cute and funny i whant to see you in real life. i live in AmariloTexas and i love your music,i love makinglove to you, thats the best one ever. i'm 10years old and i'm voting for you Expand
  4. rosea
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    i think this album is the bomb i love it and i realy want to recieve all the info about neyo i just love him
  5. JasmineH
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    I am only like 13 years old but Ne-yo is jusst the best artist in the world. I mean his songs flow and they are catchy but meaningful at the same time. He is so talented to be able to express his feelings like that in a song. The song is only for minutes but when I listen to it it feels like 4 hours!! Expand
  6. CherokeeP
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    If I could give this CD a higher grade I would. NeYo is not only creative in his writing but he delivers an album free of all the extra bullshit found in so many other albums in all genre's of music. His vocals are crazy and the music is timeless. A lot of singers are surrounded by hype and cannot back it up. NEYO can!!!! Better than John Legend's album wHere every song sounds the same. YOU DID YOUR THANG NEYO. I LOVE YOUR ALBUM. Expand
  7. SamD
    Mar 20, 2006
    0
    yeah, this was horrid. i've seriouly never heard a more mediocre album in my life. there is nothing unique about it, and the songs, since it's rap, drive me out of my mind. what happened to rap, it used to stand for something, now, it's just fluff, bad fluff. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews