In Our Heads

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jun 12, 2012
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
Buy On
  1. Jun 11, 2012
    90
    In Our Heads is some of their finest and most accessible music.
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    90
    In Our Heads could be the best thing we've heard from them.
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    80
    The songwriting is as strong and intricate than on 2006's classic The Warning, even if it takes a few listens for the finer points to sink in.
  4. Uncut
    Jun 8, 2012
    80
    With this one weighted heavily toward the dance floor, there's no shortage of sublime moments. [Jul 2012, p.74]
  5. Q Magazine
    Oct 12, 2012
    80
    Five albums along and Hot Chip continue to outdo themselves, not to mention most of their peers. [Jul 2012, p.111]
  6. Mojo
    Jun 25, 2012
    80
    An album that's a steady pleasure from start to finish. [Jul 2012, p.82]
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    There's unguarded joy in the British quintet's mix of synthed-up grooves and pop songfulness.
  8. Jun 11, 2012
    80
    The over riding result is that Hot Chip now seem infinitely more comfortable and competent in their skins.
  9. 60
    Tasteful and perfectly executed, but workmanlike.
  10. Under The Radar
    Jul 9, 2012
    60
    You've got the soundtrack to a fun night out...but little more. [Jun 2012, p.147]
  11. Jun 8, 2012
    90
    It is the best album start-to-finish from Hot Chip, one that continues to show their deft range--from infectious disco hits to soulful ballads.
  12. Jun 7, 2012
    80
    Listening to In Our Heads, you do wonder why a band who make music this good and this unique aren't huge stars.
  13. Jun 12, 2012
    67
    Though the group has always let a bit of earnestness slip into its music, In Our Heads is a full culmination of what's truest to the group's warm electronic heart.
  14. 70
    Most of the London electronic outfit's fifth album, In Our Heads, fills the perfect middle dance floor between their disparate influences.
  15. Alternative Press
    Jun 7, 2012
    70
    The band's fifth studio album mostly keeps the BPMs brisk and retro-minded programming colorful. [Jul 2012, p.94]
  16. Jun 12, 2012
    72
    Like any good evening out, the fun level varies, and at times it gets a little too blurry for good measure.
  17. Jun 14, 2012
    80
    Being authentically emotional also serves to reframe their earlier material, revealing that there've always been some truly moving sentiments hidden under the sonic reference points and clever wordplay.
  18. Jun 19, 2012
    20
    It's hard to paint this as anything other than what it is: a professional-sounding album of radio-friendly pop. It's as bad as that sounds.
  19. Jun 13, 2012
    50
    Hot Chip is built primarily on good beats and a sweet, devil-may-care sass, neither of which the groups seems interested in delivering on In Our Heads.
  20. Jun 14, 2012
    80
    It's a welcome venture, for sure, and just like all those previous Hot Chip records, In Our Heads won't go unmoved to.
  21. Magnet
    Jul 20, 2012
    80
    In Our Heads sees them take their craft to its most dizzying heights yet. [No.89, p.54]
  22. Jun 8, 2012
    80
    In Our Heads boasts at least eight festival crowd decimators, and finally strikes the right balance between Hot Chip's two sides.
  23. Jun 13, 2012
    70
    Fifth album In Our Heads features its share of cerebral hip-shakers but the group has enough other moves to keep things varied.
  24. Jun 11, 2012
    50
    ["Night and Day" and "Flutes"] are glimmers of liveliness on an otherwise decedent record.
  25. Jun 7, 2012
    80
    In Our Heads is a record for all occasions, an album that balances sentiment and soul with an ever-evolving talent for constructing infectious pop hooks.
  26. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    Bringing it to a simmer works well for the group.
  27. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    Taylor and Goddard's pop impulses and the dance music they've always been exploring have finally cohered, yielding a collection of songs with the potential to be as efficient on a dance floor as it is in a bedroom.
  28. Jun 11, 2012
    80
    [In Our Heads] is another joyous triumph.
  29. Jun 28, 2012
    60
    The main problem with In Our Heads is its musical anonymity.
  30. Jun 11, 2012
    80
    Flutes is a terrifically chilly robotic workout, These Chains blends doe-eyed R&B and disco to fine effect. Night And Day's so-so electrofunk is the only casualty to this record's sense of adventure.
  31. 100
    This is music to celebrate life with and to joyously fashion because it's certainly amazing.
  32. Jun 12, 2012
    50
    Three good tracks [songs, "Motion Sickness," "Ends of the Earth," and "Flutes,"] do not an album make - and, unfortunately, this is the sum of the worthwhile moments on In Our Heads. Elsewhere the album is pure drudgery, remarkable only in its dullness.
  33. 80
    This is such an improvement on 2010's enervated One Life Stand that one can only conclude their various sabbatical projects have rejuvenated their creative juices.
  34. In Our Heads is, at the end of the day, a signal that Hot Chip's masterpiece is still forthcoming.
  35. IOH is their most emotional release yet and also their most philosophical.
  36. Jun 13, 2012
    80
    Hot Chip has written an album that touches the many feelings on the spectrum of love, while staying true to the humorous and entertaining musical idiosyncrasies that the band has enlisted for the better part of a decade.
  37. Jun 21, 2012
    70
    Naturally, the good tracks are sublime... [yet] familiar overreaching, archness even, creeps in elsewhere.
  38. Jun 11, 2012
    50
    In Our Heads seems acutely lacking in personality, meaning or the ability to evoke, in your head, anything other than a vague urge to dance.
  39. Jun 22, 2012
    80
    Prepare to get emotional and elevated in equal measures.
  40. Jun 8, 2012
    80
    They've left easy indie-disco hits behind and are now proving they're some of the most capable songwriters around.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Hot Chip's new album In Our Heads is, if i could sum it up with one word - INFECTIOUS! :)) The band is definitely having their ScissorHot Chip's new album In Our Heads is, if i could sum it up with one word - INFECTIOUS! :)) The band is definitely having their Scissor Sister's Night Work moment. The album has some of the most queer, hilarious, energetic electro-funk I have ever had the pleasure of hearing! It's alt-dance bliss in places! In Our Heads is brilliantly cohesive as well, and is by far the bands first album I can listen to straight through over and over again. If you have heard anything by this band and liked it - GET THIS ALBUM NOW!!! (8 out of 10) Key Tracks: Motion Sickness, Don't Deny Your Heart, These Chains, Night & Day, Flutes, Let Me Be Him Full Review »
  2. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Hot Chip
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    Electro-brit poppers Hot Chip have produced a expertly crafted fifth album. If the group wasn