• Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jun 12, 2012

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
Buy On
  1. Jun 11, 2012
    In Our Heads is some of their finest and most accessible music.
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    In Our Heads could be the best thing we've heard from them.
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    The songwriting is as strong and intricate than on 2006's classic The Warning, even if it takes a few listens for the finer points to sink in.
  4. Jun 7, 2012
    Listening to In Our Heads, you do wonder why a band who make music this good and this unique aren't huge stars.
  5. Jun 8, 2012
    It is the best album start-to-finish from Hot Chip, one that continues to show their deft range--from infectious disco hits to soulful ballads.
  6. Jun 11, 2012
    The over riding result is that Hot Chip now seem infinitely more comfortable and competent in their skins.
  7. 80
    This is such an improvement on 2010's enervated One Life Stand that one can only conclude their various sabbatical projects have rejuvenated their creative juices.
  8. Jun 12, 2012
    There's unguarded joy in the British quintet's mix of synthed-up grooves and pop songfulness.
  9. IOH is their most emotional release yet and also their most philosophical.
  10. Jun 12, 2012
    Though the group has always let a bit of earnestness slip into its music, In Our Heads is a full culmination of what's truest to the group's warm electronic heart.
  11. Jun 11, 2012
    [In Our Heads] is another joyous triumph.
  12. Jun 8, 2012
    In Our Heads boasts at least eight festival crowd decimators, and finally strikes the right balance between Hot Chip's two sides.
  13. Jun 7, 2012
    In Our Heads is a record for all occasions, an album that balances sentiment and soul with an ever-evolving talent for constructing infectious pop hooks.
  14. 70
    Most of the London electronic outfit's fifth album, In Our Heads, fills the perfect middle dance floor between their disparate influences.
  15. Jun 11, 2012
    Flutes is a terrifically chilly robotic workout, These Chains blends doe-eyed R&B and disco to fine effect. Night And Day's so-so electrofunk is the only casualty to this record's sense of adventure.
  16. Jun 8, 2012
    They've left easy indie-disco hits behind and are now proving they're some of the most capable songwriters around.
  17. Jun 12, 2012
    Bringing it to a simmer works well for the group.
  18. Jun 12, 2012
    Like any good evening out, the fun level varies, and at times it gets a little too blurry for good measure.
  19. Q Magazine
    Oct 12, 2012
    Five albums along and Hot Chip continue to outdo themselves, not to mention most of their peers. [Jul 2012, p.111]
  20. Magnet
    Jul 20, 2012
    In Our Heads sees them take their craft to its most dizzying heights yet. [No.89, p.54]
  21. In Our Heads is, at the end of the day, a signal that Hot Chip's masterpiece is still forthcoming.
  22. 100
    This is music to celebrate life with and to joyously fashion because it's certainly amazing.
  23. Jul 6, 2012
    Taylor and Goddard's pop impulses and the dance music they've always been exploring have finally cohered, yielding a collection of songs with the potential to be as efficient on a dance floor as it is in a bedroom.
  24. Mojo
    Jun 25, 2012
    An album that's a steady pleasure from start to finish. [Jul 2012, p.82]
  25. Jun 22, 2012
    Prepare to get emotional and elevated in equal measures.
  26. Jun 21, 2012
    Naturally, the good tracks are sublime... [yet] familiar overreaching, archness even, creeps in elsewhere.
  27. Jun 14, 2012
    It's a welcome venture, for sure, and just like all those previous Hot Chip records, In Our Heads won't go unmoved to.
  28. Jun 14, 2012
    Being authentically emotional also serves to reframe their earlier material, revealing that there've always been some truly moving sentiments hidden under the sonic reference points and clever wordplay.
  29. Jun 13, 2012
    Fifth album In Our Heads features its share of cerebral hip-shakers but the group has enough other moves to keep things varied.
  30. Jun 13, 2012
    Hot Chip has written an album that touches the many feelings on the spectrum of love, while staying true to the humorous and entertaining musical idiosyncrasies that the band has enlisted for the better part of a decade.
  31. Uncut
    Jun 8, 2012
    With this one weighted heavily toward the dance floor, there's no shortage of sublime moments. [Jul 2012, p.74]
  32. Alternative Press
    Jun 7, 2012
    The band's fifth studio album mostly keeps the BPMs brisk and retro-minded programming colorful. [Jul 2012, p.94]
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    Hot Chip's new album In Our Heads is, if i could sum it up with one word - INFECTIOUS! :)) The band is definitely having their ScissorHot Chip's new album In Our Heads is, if i could sum it up with one word - INFECTIOUS! :)) The band is definitely having their Scissor Sister's Night Work moment. The album has some of the most queer, hilarious, energetic electro-funk I have ever had the pleasure of hearing! It's alt-dance bliss in places! In Our Heads is brilliantly cohesive as well, and is by far the bands first album I can listen to straight through over and over again. If you have heard anything by this band and liked it - GET THIS ALBUM NOW!!! (8 out of 10) Key Tracks: Motion Sickness, Don't Deny Your Heart, These Chains, Night & Day, Flutes, Let Me Be Him Full Review »
  2. Jul 1, 2012
    Hot Chip
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    Electro-brit poppers Hot Chip have produced a expertly crafted fifth album. If the group wasn