In Our Heads

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jun 12, 2012
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 1 out of 55

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    This is an incredible album from Hot Chip, rivaling their defining album "Made in the Dark." It's smooth, dancey, and utterly heartfelt. I can't recommend it enough.
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    The greatest release so far by Hot Chip. From start to finish, it's a funny album, with catchy songs, great beats, perfect production, good lyrics. It is pretty addictive if you want my opinion. Once you've listened to it completely, you want to listen it again, and again. Your ears will be rewarded with repeated listens.
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    Electro-brit poppers Hot Chip have produced a expertly crafted fifth album. If the group wasn
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    8
    Probably not their best album but melodic and tuneful one and well-produced. The tracks of new release are not huge hits but a small one I would even say chamber and even intimate.
  5. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Hot Chip's new album In Our Heads is, if i could sum it up with one word - INFECTIOUS! :)) The band is definitely having their Scissor Sister's Night Work moment. The album has some of the most queer, hilarious, energetic electro-funk I have ever had the pleasure of hearing! It's alt-dance bliss in places! In Our Heads is brilliantly cohesive as well, and is by far the bands first album IHot Chip's new album In Our Heads is, if i could sum it up with one word - INFECTIOUS! :)) The band is definitely having their Scissor Sister's Night Work moment. The album has some of the most queer, hilarious, energetic electro-funk I have ever had the pleasure of hearing! It's alt-dance bliss in places! In Our Heads is brilliantly cohesive as well, and is by far the bands first album I can listen to straight through over and over again. If you have heard anything by this band and liked it - GET THIS ALBUM NOW!!! (8 out of 10) Key Tracks: Motion Sickness, Don't Deny Your Heart, These Chains, Night & Day, Flutes, Let Me Be Him Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2012
    8
    In Our Heads is one of Hot Chip's most cohesive and most poppy album to date. Though never reaching the ferocity and intensity of The Warning or Made in the Dark, the album pulses and bounces along very smoothly. Its like comparing Wild Turkey to a 30 year old scotch: Hot Chip have gotten more mature musically and lyrically. The stand out of the album oddly enough is a down tempo song LookIn Our Heads is one of Hot Chip's most cohesive and most poppy album to date. Though never reaching the ferocity and intensity of The Warning or Made in the Dark, the album pulses and bounces along very smoothly. Its like comparing Wild Turkey to a 30 year old scotch: Hot Chip have gotten more mature musically and lyrically. The stand out of the album oddly enough is a down tempo song Look at Where We Are, a beautiful love or (post love) song. The production on the album is classic Hot Chip, every beat is fat and round. All in all this maybe Hot Chip's best album overall but may not be your favorite if you, like me, prefer the "harder" albums like Made in the Dark. Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2012
    7
    Shares similar hooks as One Life Stand but moves away from the dance anthems and into a dreamy XTC soundscape. This album stands solidly on its own. Different doesn't equal wrong.
  8. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    Hot Chip's fifth album proves the band as the generators of a massified -but intelligent- electro-pop (often kind ethereal). Always making new statements in each album, this one lacks a bit of an original feeling throughout it, and the 80's aura sounds cheeky. But, then again, it's a solid dance album as much as a powerballad one. The improvement was essentially in the songwriting, nowHot Chip's fifth album proves the band as the generators of a massified -but intelligent- electro-pop (often kind ethereal). Always making new statements in each album, this one lacks a bit of an original feeling throughout it, and the 80's aura sounds cheeky. But, then again, it's a solid dance album as much as a powerballad one. The improvement was essentially in the songwriting, now more elegant than ever. Next one, I hope it feels more raw, free and one of a kind. Expand
  9. Aug 20, 2012
    7
    Electro rock group Hot Chip continue their upward progression with more hits and experimentation, In Our Heads is one of the more interesting albums of 2012.
  10. Jul 24, 2012
    6
    The latest release from the group definitely gets your attention by a very diverse base of samples that show a high level - which can be observed even through songs such as "Night And Day" and "Ends Of The Earth". The album - which undoubtedly is based on electronics is able to hold the listener to stay longer, but sometimes with that interfere not quite "accurate" vocals, whichThe latest release from the group definitely gets your attention by a very diverse base of samples that show a high level - which can be observed even through songs such as "Night And Day" and "Ends Of The Earth". The album - which undoubtedly is based on electronics is able to hold the listener to stay longer, but sometimes with that interfere not quite "accurate" vocals, which unfortunately push music layers back burner, thus most of the compositions actually are more annoying than compelling. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    80
    Five albums along and Hot Chip continue to outdo themselves, not to mention most of their peers. [Jul 2012, p.111]
  2. Jul 20, 2012
    80
    In Our Heads sees them take their craft to its most dizzying heights yet. [No.89, p.54]
  3. In Our Heads is, at the end of the day, a signal that Hot Chip's masterpiece is still forthcoming.