In Our Heads - Hot Chip
In Our Heads Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth full-length album for the British indie electronic band is its first on the Domino label.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. 100
    This is music to celebrate life with and to joyously fashion because it's certainly amazing.
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    80
    Being authentically emotional also serves to reframe their earlier material, revealing that there've always been some truly moving sentiments hidden under the sonic reference points and clever wordplay.
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    80
    In Our Heads boasts at least eight festival crowd decimators, and finally strikes the right balance between Hot Chip's two sides.
  4. Jul 20, 2012
    80
    In Our Heads sees them take their craft to its most dizzying heights yet. [No.89, p.54]
  5. 70
    The band's fifth studio album mostly keeps the BPMs brisk and retro-minded programming colorful. [Jul 2012, p.94]
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    70
    Naturally, the good tracks are sublime... [yet] familiar overreaching, archness even, creeps in elsewhere.
  7. Jun 19, 2012
    20
    It's hard to paint this as anything other than what it is: a professional-sounding album of radio-friendly pop. It's as bad as that sounds.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    This is an incredible album from Hot Chip, rivaling their defining album "Made in the Dark." It's smooth, dancey, and utterly heartfelt. I can't recommend it enough. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    Electro-brit poppers Hot Chip have produced a expertly crafted fifth album. If the group wasn
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    8
    Probably not their best album but melodic and tuneful one and well-produced. The tracks of new release are not huge hits but a small one I would even say chamber and even intimate. Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2012
    8
    In Our Heads is one of Hot Chip's most cohesive and most poppy album to date. Though never reaching the ferocity and intensity of The Warning or Made in the Dark, the album pulses and bounces along very smoothly. Its like comparing Wild Turkey to a 30 year old scotch: Hot Chip have gotten more mature musically and lyrically. The stand out of the album oddly enough is a down tempo song Look at Where We Are, a beautiful love or (post love) song. The production on the album is classic Hot Chip, every beat is fat and round. All in all this maybe Hot Chip's best album overall but may not be your favorite if you, like me, prefer the "harder" albums like Made in the Dark. Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    Hot Chip's fifth album proves the band as the generators of a massified -but intelligent- electro-pop (often kind ethereal). Always making new statements in each album, this one lacks a bit of an original feeling throughout it, and the 80's aura sounds cheeky. But, then again, it's a solid dance album as much as a powerballad one. The improvement was essentially in the songwriting, now more elegant than ever. Next one, I hope it feels more raw, free and one of a kind. Collapse
  6. Jul 24, 2012
    6
    The latest release from the group definitely gets your attention by a very diverse base of samples that show a high level - which can be observed even through songs such as "Night And Day" and "Ends Of The Earth". The album - which undoubtedly is based on electronics is able to hold the listener to stay longer, but sometimes with that interfere not quite "accurate" vocals, which unfortunately push music layers back burner, thus most of the compositions actually are more annoying than compelling. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews