In Rainbows

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1578 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. j30
    Aug 11, 2011
    10
    A perfect album and one of the best albums of the decade. This is one of those albums you'll look back on and remember the exact time and place you first listened to it. It's a record that changed the music industry forever by asking consumers how much their music meant to them. Apparently a lot, because the album went number 1 on music charts when the cd copy came out. It's kind of funnyA perfect album and one of the best albums of the decade. This is one of those albums you'll look back on and remember the exact time and place you first listened to it. It's a record that changed the music industry forever by asking consumers how much their music meant to them. Apparently a lot, because the album went number 1 on music charts when the cd copy came out. It's kind of funny to think that this album didn't win "Album of the Year" at the Grammy's. Expand
  2. RonS
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This is definitely their most consistent album since KID A. Every track brings something new and unique to the table. Bravo! We've got another masterpiece!
  3. adamb.n
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    radiohead at their absolute best i dont recall having as many chills as that from an album since ok computer
  4. KD
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Honest, mature, so appreciated.
  5. ScottH
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Solid. Their best album in 10 years. A return to form. "In Rainbows" will be talked about for many years to come.
  6. AndréP
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    in rainbows is the album of the year
  7. MatthewS
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    One of the most amazing albums to be composed. The fact that is scores one point higher than MIA and Arcade Fire is a joke, a really sad joke.
  8. EpictetoK
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    :0
  9. GillesB
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Nice album :P
  10. DanielG
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    one of the best radiohead albums. i can't wait for the bonuns tracks!
  11. BenW
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    I thought Spoon Ga*5 had album of the year nailed for sure - but this has blown my mind out. Best album since Funeral (2004). But lets wait for Grizzly bear's new one
  12. BitBurn
    Oct 22, 2007
    9
    I was never a big Radiohead fan, really. Although I have always been curious on what they are doing because no doubt they are the most avant-garde UK band ever. So, for the first time I was not disappointed at all. In fact, this is a monster record methinks.
  13. GeoffB
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    I had listened to almost every song on the album from concerts and the album still blew my mind, a mellow acoutic dreamscape that I will have on over and over and over again. Bravo!
  14. kelly
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Can't get this record off my headphones! Such a great album.
  15. tonys
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    i really enjoyed it
  16. AlexB
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    All of the hoople over the unconventional release method may overshadow this album's true brilliance. Radiohead's songwriting has returned to Ok Computer-Kid A era strength, but their style continues to evolve. Given enough time, this album may rank amongst not only Radiohead's greatest, but the greatest of the decade.
  17. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    Deep, powerful, electronic, jazzy, experimental, dark. This album may be a contender to be Radiohead's best album. Kid A and Amnesiac just got some competition...
  18. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Most artists go through their career not achieving the greatest albums of all time. Radiohead did it THREE times. OK Computer. Kid A. In Rainbows. For nearly five years, the riff from "Bodysnatchers" is still scratching in my brain ever since. This album is a masterpiece. I'm not joking.
  19. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL.
    I have to admit that I'm more into heavy rock than any other genre, but with this album I can just relax in my couch at midday with my eyes closed and the sunlight illuminating the living room and feel so peaceful and calm that it works as a therapy for me. there are just a few albums that I can really listen to from start to finish without feeling the need to skip songs
    SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL.
    I have to admit that I'm more into heavy rock than any other genre, but with this album I can just relax in my couch at midday with my eyes closed and the sunlight illuminating the living room and feel so peaceful and calm that it works as a therapy for me. there are just a few albums that I can really listen to from start to finish without feeling the need to skip songs and this is one of them. although it took me a while to realize the power and perfection of this album (I bought the album to listen to Videotape) now it's become one of the few albums I keep in my mp3 player, car, stereo and pc at all times.
    Expand
  20. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    Arguably Radiohead's best work, although it has stiff competition from both Kid A and OK Computer. A complete explosion of some of the most beautiful sounds you will ever hear.
  21. VinnyP
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This album is stunning and achingly beautiful. There is absolutely no filler here, and the band sounds the most genuine that they've sounded in years. I keep changing my mind on what the best songs are, because they really are all that good. Listening to In Rainbows takes you ona journey that is a bit of a rollercoaster, a bit of sonic orgasm, all with an undercurrent infused with a This album is stunning and achingly beautiful. There is absolutely no filler here, and the band sounds the most genuine that they've sounded in years. I keep changing my mind on what the best songs are, because they really are all that good. Listening to In Rainbows takes you ona journey that is a bit of a rollercoaster, a bit of sonic orgasm, all with an undercurrent infused with a dark sense of love. I know I'm talking crazy here but the music has just captivated me that much. By the time the journey ends with "Videotape," you'll want to revisit it right away. As a fan I not only love the album but am happy for the band, for them to continue to reach new levels and to continue to put out music that matters. Hands down the best album of the year so far, possibly my favorite of the decade. Expand
  22. Tom
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Makes me realize there are true artist still left in this world.
  23. Mar 9, 2011
    7
    I'm a diehard fan, but even a few years later I am split on this album. In comparison to their prior work, this album doesn't do as much for me. The over-orchestration, the pointless Faust ARP, the mediocre guitar throwback of Bodysnatchers, this annoyingly paced Videotape, the excellent Go Slowly left to rot on a second disc of throwaways... Yet somehow, it all works. In the right mood,I'm a diehard fan, but even a few years later I am split on this album. In comparison to their prior work, this album doesn't do as much for me. The over-orchestration, the pointless Faust ARP, the mediocre guitar throwback of Bodysnatchers, this annoyingly paced Videotape, the excellent Go Slowly left to rot on a second disc of throwaways... Yet somehow, it all works. In the right mood, on a lovely day, this album is incredibly satisfying, even refreshing, and song after song send shivers down my spine. By far their most accessible album since The Bends, it's sometimes overly sentimental and downright gushy at points. The climaxes are almost annoyingly affective, like a cheap thrill ending up better than you anticipate. But so was "High & Dry", dammit. And that was the song that made me a fan. So maybe it isn't full of mind-bending experiments. It's still pretty great. It will never be my favorite, but despite my complaints, this album just works. Listen to it with the love of your life. Expand
  24. KeithR
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Simply beautiful! - Soulful, lush. Right up there with The Bends and Kid-A, combining many elements of both offerings in a decidedly mature release.
  25. nikv.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    A flawless album with lush and beautiful arrangements underpinned by Thom Yorke's exceptional voice. Stands up to OK Computer and The Bends. A masterful achievement.
  26. MagnusE
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    Amazing. End of story. OK Computer II
  27. StacyH
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Absolutely love this album. From the awesome 90's college rock type songs like Bodysnatchers to the tranquil harmonies like All I Need, I am really loving this album. I'm on about my 20th listen now and I don't see my self stopping anytime soon.
  28. PatrickD
    Oct 17, 2007
    8
    a lot looser and dare i say it, a lot funkier than anything theyve done. that said does it stand to their pinnacle as the greatest guitar rock band in the world: no. its a pleasure to listne to as radiohead sounds like theyre having fun. hopefully this leads to a warmer more emotive music in the future versus the cold rather boring stuff of the kid a-amnesiac-httf era
  29. jasonz.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    This is starting to seem like their best album yet. I get the feeling that they are less afraid of pop music, especially based on Thom's latest quote on the blog. But this hasn't changed their obsession with making excellent and unique sounds. It just might make a little bit more sense to the average music lover than "Hail to the Theif", "Amnesiac", and "Kid A".
  30. bart
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    anyone who is not falling in love with this album simply does not have a soul.
  31. AnaG
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    No doubt, best album of 2007
  32. WSiew
    Jun 29, 2008
    9
    Nothing beats OK computer but this still stirs.
  33. BenR
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Quite possibly the best record of the decade, maybe even since "OK Computer". Grab some headphones, put on "Nude", turn it up, close your eyes, and enjoy.
  34. GroovySpirit
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Their best since 'The Bends'! I'm a big fan but really didn't expect it to be this good! 'Reckoner' proves their superior originality - no other bands come close. 'Bodysnatchers' - love the way after the 2nd verse it turns from a standard catchy tune into a brilliant climax - all in 4 mins - love it! Best of all it sounds optimistic and happy - Their best since 'The Bends'! I'm a big fan but really didn't expect it to be this good! 'Reckoner' proves their superior originality - no other bands come close. 'Bodysnatchers' - love the way after the 2nd verse it turns from a standard catchy tune into a brilliant climax - all in 4 mins - love it! Best of all it sounds optimistic and happy - makes you wanna bop your head along to the multi-texture beats, grooves & guitar. Expand
  35. md
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    can't stop playing this cd. all i need is one of their best songs ever.
  36. AdrianB
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing album, Best album of the year.
  37. luke
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    best album of the year!
  38. TimC
    Oct 13, 2007
    7
    7/10 compared to their other albums. It is good, very good in places. But it isn't up the
    re with OK Computer, The Bends or even Kid A.
  39. PaulC.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    What is Dusted Magazine and why does it get a vote? This is hands down one of the best albums of 007. Worth every penny you decide to pay for it.
  40. justinz
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Best Radiohead album since Kid A. Dare I say it even rivals OK Computer as Radiohead's best album...
  41. NikkiIkki
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Brilliant! Ive been waiting for a fifth of my life for this album... and it was well worth it!
  42. GCB
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    Most of the talk about this album has been centred around its unique optional pay release system. Almost every topic about it on message boards contains question such as how much did you pay? Will the sound quality be better on the actual CD? will you be buying the box set aswell? If you squint hard enough you may found someone actually commenting on the quality of the songs but its seems Most of the talk about this album has been centred around its unique optional pay release system. Almost every topic about it on message boards contains question such as how much did you pay? Will the sound quality be better on the actual CD? will you be buying the box set aswell? If you squint hard enough you may found someone actually commenting on the quality of the songs but its seems most people have dismissed that this is actually a piece of music and not just a marketing experiment. For what its worth I paid £1 for the album as I figured if its good enough, I Expand
  43. HARRYG
    Oct 17, 2007
    9
    On one listening, it sounds good. Really good, but better than O.K. Computer. Isn't that like saying more perfect than perfect?
  44. NemoM.
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    A great Album. Every track is quality.
  45. johnn.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    simply gorgeous!!!
  46. AlexF
    Nov 8, 2007
    7
    It's a good album, but I expected more from Radiohead. It lacks that certain something that makes you realise that this is Radiohead.
  47. DanielL.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Emotional and darkness... Lindo, Radiohead.
  48. RobertV.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Amazing Album!!!!!!!
  49. [Anonymous]
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Best album ever!
  50. RyanT.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Listening to In Rainbows takes you from the bottom of the rainbow over the clouds and back down to earth at the end. Truly blissful.
  51. ColbyS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    At first listen, I was only impressed by All I Need and Videotape. However, like most of the best albums out there, this one's a grower. Upon further listening and delving into the beautiful idiosyncrasies, it's warm and dreamlike. Really quite impressive, and in its atypical minimalism, a true step for the band. Excellent.
  52. DD
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    This album contains some of the most beautiful music I have ever heard. About three of the songs hit an emotional chord that is equivalent to music from John Coltrane or Beethoven. Those tracks are sublime. The rest are very very high quality. I understand people who didn't like it. Most masterpieces sound awful the first time you hear it. A Love Supreme or The 9th Symphony by Ludwig This album contains some of the most beautiful music I have ever heard. About three of the songs hit an emotional chord that is equivalent to music from John Coltrane or Beethoven. Those tracks are sublime. The rest are very very high quality. I understand people who didn't like it. Most masterpieces sound awful the first time you hear it. A Love Supreme or The 9th Symphony by Ludwig Van isn't the most accessible on the first listen. It took me 3 times to get into OK Computer. The first time I heard it I thought it was trash. Sit through the album a couple of times while you are cleaning the house or checking email. It will hit you and you'll weep. Expand
  53. JoshW.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Elegant. Perfect.
  54. OlavJ
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Excellent ! ..all of it. Still, think twice before listening to this album when you're feeling down ..it could just drag you further
  55. MandyJ.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    This is their best album since OK Computer. I was skeptical at first, but I am glad I listened. Simply beautiful.
  56. JohnS.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    There's no doubt about the quality and genius of this album. Like all post-2000 Radiohead releases, it does take a few spins to begin appreciating, but the more you listen to it, the better it gets. Go ahead and treat yourself with Scotch_mist if you haven't already, it worth all your time. Best album of the year for me
  57. JyotirmayaD
    Jan 9, 2008
    7
    After listening to Kid A, I thought Radiohead were the most self-indulgent band to listen to. Well, what ya know... the critics hailed it as very good so I gave "In Rainbows" a listen. It was user friendly as they said it was.... and yes, I like it...like it....not Love it...
  58. DaveP.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    This is NEW, in the sense that Radiohead seems to consciously implode, then explodes again renewed. Great album, a graduate of their last.
  59. JackL.
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    I'm a recent fan of Radiohead, and In Rainbows was the first one I listened, because of all the good critics about it. I can say this is THE best album so far. As I have read before in other coment: Album of The Year. Period.
  60. OsianL
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever listened to. Beautiful, innovative, smooth and deep- I just can't get bored of it.
  61. broj
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    Seldom does an album actually deserve a 10, this one clearly does. It's a work of great beauty and shows the amazing talent of this seminal band. A great return after a slightly disappointing Hail To The Theif. Album of the year.
  62. ScottW
    May 5, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums ever made. Art rock at its best. Radiohead has always been one of the best artsy rock bands out. Few bands though other then Pink Floyd or Supertramp for example, get better and better when exploring them selves. In Rainbows is that kind of album and more. Like The Wall album or Breakfast in America, In Rainbows is a master of rock genius that shows just how One of the best albums ever made. Art rock at its best. Radiohead has always been one of the best artsy rock bands out. Few bands though other then Pink Floyd or Supertramp for example, get better and better when exploring them selves. In Rainbows is that kind of album and more. Like The Wall album or Breakfast in America, In Rainbows is a master of rock genius that shows just how priceless this group is. Expand
  63. PhillE
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Can't understand why more people dont look at this as their best album. I mean its absolute brilliant. Not only the 10 main songs, but also the ones on the second disk. I loved kida/amnesiac/hail but I just think this one has more of something, and not in complexity or groundbreaking whatever, I just think they play the instrument better in this, arrangement is better. For me its Can't understand why more people dont look at this as their best album. I mean its absolute brilliant. Not only the 10 main songs, but also the ones on the second disk. I loved kida/amnesiac/hail but I just think this one has more of something, and not in complexity or groundbreaking whatever, I just think they play the instrument better in this, arrangement is better. For me its like they have taken all the fantastic stuff they already had going on and just made it perfect. Album of the decade if you ask me. Expand
  64. kevinl
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    The sweetest, softest music ever music that impacts you as a human being and really makes you feel.
  65. FredrichL
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    The best album I have ever heard. Amazing.
  66. MichaelL
    Apr 1, 2010
    10
    Another brilliant album from Radiohead. A mix of alternative and electronic, a true collection of great hits. Although it may not be as good as some of their older albums it's nothing short of amazing with a new experience of songs waiting to be explored!
  67. PabloM
    Apr 21, 2010
    9
    In Rainbows finds a good balance between the melodies and the duration of the songs. Creating a sensation of emotional lightness, that makes this easy-listening album atractive. Also the songs seems to flow, making us willing to hear it.
  68. JohnA.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    a great album
  69. MuSauce
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    I instantly fell in love with this cd. Its brilliantly simple, and relaxed. 10!
  70. MarkP.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Miles above everyone else.
  71. IselStocks
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    It makes me wonder what music sounded like before I heard this album.
  72. HaroldN
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    every element they create in the past you can find on these beautiful piece.. the best album of 2007.
  73. christopherk.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    DUH!
  74. ChrisA
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    I dig it baby.
  75. georgeb
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    yes yes yes...this is radiohead
  76. DavidR
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    Really great music. I am delighted that music like this is being made.
  77. Graham
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Cmon....still the best songwritier's on the planet....no need to explain....just listen
  78. jasonwl
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    best since Kid-a.enjoy it much more than HTTT, Radiohead just never stop to amazed us
  79. MikeS
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    One of the most beautiful records I've heard in a while. Yore's vocals sound better than ever, as they soar through lush string arrangements and ambient sounds. Some of the climatic moments on this record are so powerful that if you don't feel something you must have no nerve endings. Absolutely mesmerizing.
  80. PatriciaP
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    The most beautiful, honest, touching album I've ever heard.
  81. BaldurH
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Their best offering since Kid A. Just thrillingly beautiful!
  82. robynl
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    flipping brilliant
  83. KevinE
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Ghostly! RADIHEAD find's the peaceful median between KID A's shoegazing territory and Hail to the thief's Mournful guitar rock. IN RAINBOWS plays nothing like any of there previous efforts, but holds all there strenghts in it's pocket. In Rainbow's may very well go down in history as not only one of there greatest, but one of the greatest of our time. Standout Ghostly! RADIHEAD find's the peaceful median between KID A's shoegazing territory and Hail to the thief's Mournful guitar rock. IN RAINBOWS plays nothing like any of there previous efforts, but holds all there strenghts in it's pocket. In Rainbow's may very well go down in history as not only one of there greatest, but one of the greatest of our time. Standout track : ALL I NEED. What would this decade be without Radiohead. Sure we have some great bands. Arcade Fire, Beck, Joanna Newsom, Coldplay, Broken Social Scene, Sufjan Stevens, The white Stripes, and others ( Not gunna list them all) Point is 60's had THE BEATLES and STONES, 70's had LED ZEPPLIN, AND NEIL YOUNG, 80's had TALKING HEADS, REM, U2, 90's and 00's -JUST RADIOHEAD Expand
  84. EdwardM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing.
  85. broomhilda
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    There is no one that is even close to what Radiohed are putting out now. This is the most relaxed and pure disc they have put out. There seems to be a calm before utopia. This is excecptioal.
  86. LynM.
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    On my 8th or 9th listen, In Rainbows finally hit me over the head and heart and ears. Videotape must be what sounds like when you're taking the first steps toward that blinding light/tunnel moments after death. The way Radiohead captures the special feelings we have in universal daily occurrences just about makes me want to love everybody. When listening to a good Radiohead song, you On my 8th or 9th listen, In Rainbows finally hit me over the head and heart and ears. Videotape must be what sounds like when you're taking the first steps toward that blinding light/tunnel moments after death. The way Radiohead captures the special feelings we have in universal daily occurrences just about makes me want to love everybody. When listening to a good Radiohead song, you can't help but feel connected to others-- strangers, lovers. 15 steps is one for the road, windows down, watching passersby. Kids saying "Yahhh!" Probably my favorite "dance" song since Idioteque. Nude is undoubtedly a favorite and I'm glad the final version arrived without too much glaze. They kept it quiet and that's exactly how I loved it way back when. Too bad the rhodes is gone, though. I have to say, Reckoner was the pleasant surprise overall: Drums and guitar like the Bends & OK Computer--taking us on sentimental states of nostalgia. Thom's voice reaching for those states again, succeeding and then some. But then comes a break, sweeping soundtrack, looking for something more... It's ups and downs, the way his voice mixes in with the violins at the end... it's splendid. Nothing at all what I expected. I thank Radiohead for this music. I thank God for making Radiohead. Expand
  87. TaylorW
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Enchanting, spellbinding, surprising. Radiohead's best yet.
  88. johnb
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Fantastic. Not a track that disapoints at all.
  89. ErwinG.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Another Great one from Radio. Music full of feelings & emotion.
  90. Michaelshutyourmouth
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Next to Kid A. Pure genius.
  91. SophieB
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    Very very pleasantly surprised.. a beautiful album. Will check out more Radiohead in the future.
  92. ML
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    The reviewer from Dusted Magazine must be deaf and/or lyrically challenged. RH fan or not, you can't discount the brilliance of In Rainbows..
  93. DamirR.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    A master-piece for generations to come.
  94. JoeG.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Radiohead always somehow makes the most meaningful music when the world isn't quite ready to understand it fully. At the same time it always seems perfect.
  95. GregB
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    A+++++This album is perfection. 10/10 What more can be said?
  96. JanuszG.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Their poppiest album since The Bends. Brilliant all the way.
  97. chuckg.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    This album is a grower that gets better with every listen. Its up their with o.k computer wich i love.
  98. pix101101
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    I love all previous Radiohead albums, but this is the one I'll play when people not too familiar with the band are around... This album is just Perfect on every level!
  99. JustinH.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
  100. JustinH.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. In Rainbows really does present Radiohead at their most full-blooded and confident.
  2. Overall, the material feels more human, more honest, more assured.
  3. Happily, In Rainbows is pretty, pretty good.