In Rainbows

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1829 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshW.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Elegant. Perfect.
  2. OlavJ
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Excellent ! ..all of it. Still, think twice before listening to this album when you're feeling down ..it could just drag you further
  3. MandyJ.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    This is their best album since OK Computer. I was skeptical at first, but I am glad I listened. Simply beautiful.
  4. JohnS.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    There's no doubt about the quality and genius of this album. Like all post-2000 Radiohead releases, it does take a few spins to begin appreciating, but the more you listen to it, the better it gets. Go ahead and treat yourself with Scotch_mist if you haven't already, it worth all your time. Best album of the year for me
  5. JyotirmayaD
    Jan 9, 2008
    7
    After listening to Kid A, I thought Radiohead were the most self-indulgent band to listen to. Well, what ya know... the critics hailed it as very good so I gave "In Rainbows" a listen. It was user friendly as they said it was.... and yes, I like it...like it....not Love it...
  6. DaveP.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    This is NEW, in the sense that Radiohead seems to consciously implode, then explodes again renewed. Great album, a graduate of their last.
  7. JackL.
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    I'm a recent fan of Radiohead, and In Rainbows was the first one I listened, because of all the good critics about it. I can say this is THE best album so far. As I have read before in other coment: Album of The Year. Period.
  8. OsianL
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever listened to. Beautiful, innovative, smooth and deep- I just can't get bored of it.
  9. broj
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    Seldom does an album actually deserve a 10, this one clearly does. It's a work of great beauty and shows the amazing talent of this seminal band. A great return after a slightly disappointing Hail To The Theif. Album of the year.
  10. ScottW
    May 5, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums ever made. Art rock at its best. Radiohead has always been one of the best artsy rock bands out. Few bands though other then Pink Floyd or Supertramp for example, get better and better when exploring them selves. In Rainbows is that kind of album and more. Like The Wall album or Breakfast in America, In Rainbows is a master of rock genius that shows just how One of the best albums ever made. Art rock at its best. Radiohead has always been one of the best artsy rock bands out. Few bands though other then Pink Floyd or Supertramp for example, get better and better when exploring them selves. In Rainbows is that kind of album and more. Like The Wall album or Breakfast in America, In Rainbows is a master of rock genius that shows just how priceless this group is. Expand
  11. PhillE
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Can't understand why more people dont look at this as their best album. I mean its absolute brilliant. Not only the 10 main songs, but also the ones on the second disk. I loved kida/amnesiac/hail but I just think this one has more of something, and not in complexity or groundbreaking whatever, I just think they play the instrument better in this, arrangement is better. For me its Can't understand why more people dont look at this as their best album. I mean its absolute brilliant. Not only the 10 main songs, but also the ones on the second disk. I loved kida/amnesiac/hail but I just think this one has more of something, and not in complexity or groundbreaking whatever, I just think they play the instrument better in this, arrangement is better. For me its like they have taken all the fantastic stuff they already had going on and just made it perfect. Album of the decade if you ask me. Expand
  12. kevinl
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    The sweetest, softest music ever music that impacts you as a human being and really makes you feel.
  13. FredrichL
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    The best album I have ever heard. Amazing.
  14. MichaelL
    Apr 1, 2010
    10
    Another brilliant album from Radiohead. A mix of alternative and electronic, a true collection of great hits. Although it may not be as good as some of their older albums it's nothing short of amazing with a new experience of songs waiting to be explored!
  15. PabloM
    Apr 21, 2010
    9
    In Rainbows finds a good balance between the melodies and the duration of the songs. Creating a sensation of emotional lightness, that makes this easy-listening album atractive. Also the songs seems to flow, making us willing to hear it.
  16. JohnA.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    a great album
  17. MuSauce
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    I instantly fell in love with this cd. Its brilliantly simple, and relaxed. 10!
  18. MarkP.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Miles above everyone else.
  19. IselStocks
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    It makes me wonder what music sounded like before I heard this album.
  20. HaroldN
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    every element they create in the past you can find on these beautiful piece.. the best album of 2007.
  21. christopherk.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    DUH!
  22. ChrisA
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    I dig it baby.
  23. georgeb
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    yes yes yes...this is radiohead
  24. DavidR
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    Really great music. I am delighted that music like this is being made.
  25. Graham
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Cmon....still the best songwritier's on the planet....no need to explain....just listen
  26. jasonwl
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    best since Kid-a.enjoy it much more than HTTT, Radiohead just never stop to amazed us
  27. MikeS
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    One of the most beautiful records I've heard in a while. Yore's vocals sound better than ever, as they soar through lush string arrangements and ambient sounds. Some of the climatic moments on this record are so powerful that if you don't feel something you must have no nerve endings. Absolutely mesmerizing.
  28. PatriciaP
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    The most beautiful, honest, touching album I've ever heard.
  29. BaldurH
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Their best offering since Kid A. Just thrillingly beautiful!
  30. robynl
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    flipping brilliant
  31. KevinE
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Ghostly! RADIHEAD find's the peaceful median between KID A's shoegazing territory and Hail to the thief's Mournful guitar rock. IN RAINBOWS plays nothing like any of there previous efforts, but holds all there strenghts in it's pocket. In Rainbow's may very well go down in history as not only one of there greatest, but one of the greatest of our time. Standout Ghostly! RADIHEAD find's the peaceful median between KID A's shoegazing territory and Hail to the thief's Mournful guitar rock. IN RAINBOWS plays nothing like any of there previous efforts, but holds all there strenghts in it's pocket. In Rainbow's may very well go down in history as not only one of there greatest, but one of the greatest of our time. Standout track : ALL I NEED. What would this decade be without Radiohead. Sure we have some great bands. Arcade Fire, Beck, Joanna Newsom, Coldplay, Broken Social Scene, Sufjan Stevens, The white Stripes, and others ( Not gunna list them all) Point is 60's had THE BEATLES and STONES, 70's had LED ZEPPLIN, AND NEIL YOUNG, 80's had TALKING HEADS, REM, U2, 90's and 00's -JUST RADIOHEAD Expand
  32. EdwardM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing.
  33. broomhilda
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    There is no one that is even close to what Radiohed are putting out now. This is the most relaxed and pure disc they have put out. There seems to be a calm before utopia. This is excecptioal.
  34. LynM.
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    On my 8th or 9th listen, In Rainbows finally hit me over the head and heart and ears. Videotape must be what sounds like when you're taking the first steps toward that blinding light/tunnel moments after death. The way Radiohead captures the special feelings we have in universal daily occurrences just about makes me want to love everybody. When listening to a good Radiohead song, you On my 8th or 9th listen, In Rainbows finally hit me over the head and heart and ears. Videotape must be what sounds like when you're taking the first steps toward that blinding light/tunnel moments after death. The way Radiohead captures the special feelings we have in universal daily occurrences just about makes me want to love everybody. When listening to a good Radiohead song, you can't help but feel connected to others-- strangers, lovers. 15 steps is one for the road, windows down, watching passersby. Kids saying "Yahhh!" Probably my favorite "dance" song since Idioteque. Nude is undoubtedly a favorite and I'm glad the final version arrived without too much glaze. They kept it quiet and that's exactly how I loved it way back when. Too bad the rhodes is gone, though. I have to say, Reckoner was the pleasant surprise overall: Drums and guitar like the Bends & OK Computer--taking us on sentimental states of nostalgia. Thom's voice reaching for those states again, succeeding and then some. But then comes a break, sweeping soundtrack, looking for something more... It's ups and downs, the way his voice mixes in with the violins at the end... it's splendid. Nothing at all what I expected. I thank Radiohead for this music. I thank God for making Radiohead. Expand
  35. TaylorW
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Enchanting, spellbinding, surprising. Radiohead's best yet.
  36. johnb
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Fantastic. Not a track that disapoints at all.
  37. ErwinG.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Another Great one from Radio. Music full of feelings & emotion.
  38. Michaelshutyourmouth
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Next to Kid A. Pure genius.
  39. SophieB
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    Very very pleasantly surprised.. a beautiful album. Will check out more Radiohead in the future.
  40. ML
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    The reviewer from Dusted Magazine must be deaf and/or lyrically challenged. RH fan or not, you can't discount the brilliance of In Rainbows..
  41. DamirR.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    A master-piece for generations to come.
  42. JoeG.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Radiohead always somehow makes the most meaningful music when the world isn't quite ready to understand it fully. At the same time it always seems perfect.
  43. GregB
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    A+++++This album is perfection. 10/10 What more can be said?
  44. JanuszG.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Their poppiest album since The Bends. Brilliant all the way.
  45. chuckg.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    This album is a grower that gets better with every listen. Its up their with o.k computer wich i love.
  46. TomB.
    Oct 15, 2007
    4
    The softness seems limp and WILL NOT let up. Can it touch Ok Computer? Get the fuck out of here, critics.
  47. pix101101
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    I love all previous Radiohead albums, but this is the one I'll play when people not too familiar with the band are around... This album is just Perfect on every level!
  48. JustinH.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
  49. JustinH.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
  50. JuanZ
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    After 4 years of "silence", In Rainbows represents, for me, the most accomplished album the band had in their discography. Every single song is just great.
  51. SteL
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    This is nearly a truly great album. Gets better with every listen - and it's fairly addicitve. Download it for free - if you like it then go ahead and buy it.
  52. AshleyG.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Wonderful Album Radiohead's best since Ok Computer... should be listening to this for a long while!
  53. JeffW
    Oct 16, 2007
    6
    Anyone else bothered by the complete lack of coherence in the lyrics? You could take every line in the entire album, randomly arrange them, and each song would have just as much meaning or emotional punch as it does now (none). While these songs have a beauty to them musically, they have a complete emptiness to them because there is nothing to really sink your teeth in.
  54. declanmm
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    simply superb an instant classic have to get the cd version of the cd which is a bit steep at 40 sterling but sometimes its worth bending over for the best album of the year
  55. LeoM.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, just beautiful. I cant imagine listening else for a long long time.
  56. BenK.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable
  57. RiazD
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    simply amazing. these guys know how to be original and sound great at the same time!
  58. KennyO
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    Such a clearly assembled album.
  59. ChristianM
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    I have a theory: Every single song on the album apty depicts a color. All I Need is a thermal song (red) while Weird Fishes is very aquatic (blue) and House of Cards has a smokey feel (indigo). Videotape ends the album perfectly, describing the core colors of a projector (red, blue, green), and successfully combines these colors to make a dark ambiance (black). There is virtually every I have a theory: Every single song on the album apty depicts a color. All I Need is a thermal song (red) while Weird Fishes is very aquatic (blue) and House of Cards has a smokey feel (indigo). Videotape ends the album perfectly, describing the core colors of a projector (red, blue, green), and successfully combines these colors to make a dark ambiance (black). There is virtually every mood you can think of on this album, and it all fits together in a beautiful rainbow. Expand
  60. MichaelW.
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    This album is excellent. It's stregth's reveal themselves further with every listen. I find the review from the guy from "Dusted" quite amusing. While Radiohead fans are accused of devoting slavish attention on everything the band does, paying more attention to the cannon than the present, this reviewer seems to be carrying on a long-standing grudge against the band. I This album is excellent. It's stregth's reveal themselves further with every listen. I find the review from the guy from "Dusted" quite amusing. While Radiohead fans are accused of devoting slavish attention on everything the band does, paying more attention to the cannon than the present, this reviewer seems to be carrying on a long-standing grudge against the band. I don't know what "Dusted" is, but I know I can never take a review by this critic or this magazine seriously ever again. Vengeful critics who enter into new records with agendas deserve no credit, no respect, no job. Expand
  61. headerfooter
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Radiohead makes more than music. They create atmospheres with their sounds that some people just cannot understand. It is more about the experience than individual songs with Radiohead. You have to hand it to them, no matter how complex their arrangements they always seem to keep it down to earth.
  62. chris
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    People are fucking stupid if they think radiohead sucks. I mean come on, they are the best thing since the beatles. This is their best work. I surpasses any of their other work, and in a close second is Kid A. What the fuck are people who say it's sucks, thinking? It is their first beautiful album. From start to finish, there is no ok song or some what good song, they are all People are fucking stupid if they think radiohead sucks. I mean come on, they are the best thing since the beatles. This is their best work. I surpasses any of their other work, and in a close second is Kid A. What the fuck are people who say it's sucks, thinking? It is their first beautiful album. From start to finish, there is no ok song or some what good song, they are all amazing. In Rainbows is a fucking masterpiece, any one who says otherwise are fucking retarded. And for those people who say it suck, how bout you start listening to good music. I'm sure the ones who say it suck probably listens to some bull shit like the kottonmouth kings. Great job radiohead. Expand
  63. RR
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, haunting, moving, incredible, totally impressive musicianship, fantastic ideas, at home between the avantgarde and pop, multi-layered, peaceful, gorgeous, heart-breaking - did I cover it all? Radiohead do it again. Thank you for enriching our lives with this, your best record. @RJ M.: you obviously forgot that one needs to be able to FEEL in order to appreciate music. rest Beautiful, haunting, moving, incredible, totally impressive musicianship, fantastic ideas, at home between the avantgarde and pop, multi-layered, peaceful, gorgeous, heart-breaking - did I cover it all? Radiohead do it again. Thank you for enriching our lives with this, your best record. @RJ M.: you obviously forgot that one needs to be able to FEEL in order to appreciate music. rest assured: we all know why we love this band. we understand what they do, we know what they're about. sad for you if you don't. now crawl back into your spiteful little hole. Expand
  64. AndreiT.
    Oct 17, 2007
    9
    "In Rainbows" is not only a semi-stripped down version of their complicated production but a wonder to listen, filled with Thom Yorke's aching and emotional singing and soft instrumentation.
  65. [Anonymous]
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Best album ever!
  66. darrens.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Brilliant album.
  67. carlosm.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    album of the decade.
  68. Francisco
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Thank you Radiohead.
  69. MattB
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Who knew they had yet another brilliant album up their sleeve? More excited about what the future holds for Radiohead than I have been for over half a decade.
  70. JosephKim
    Oct 18, 2007
    9
    Best since their Kid A.
  71. Ryan
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    After over a hundred listens it is now clear that this is most likely their best album since Kid A, Hail to the Thief was a masterpiece in itself in my eyes but there is always at least one skippable track on all radiohead albums in my opinion, but not this one. Every single song is important to complete this. I can not wait for the b-sides in December, I saw most of those songs during After over a hundred listens it is now clear that this is most likely their best album since Kid A, Hail to the Thief was a masterpiece in itself in my eyes but there is always at least one skippable track on all radiohead albums in my opinion, but not this one. Every single song is important to complete this. I can not wait for the b-sides in December, I saw most of those songs during their tour and the were just as amazing. Expand
  72. ChrisM.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Far and away the best album of 2007. RJ M. , if you hate Radiohead so much, stop fucking listening to them. That sounds like a personal problem, and one that I'm not sure why you keep handling by listening to music you can't stand. And yet you claim to have such an extensive knowledge of their catalogue! How odd. Anyway, Phil Selway's never sounded better (this is coming Far and away the best album of 2007. RJ M. , if you hate Radiohead so much, stop fucking listening to them. That sounds like a personal problem, and one that I'm not sure why you keep handling by listening to music you can't stand. And yet you claim to have such an extensive knowledge of their catalogue! How odd. Anyway, Phil Selway's never sounded better (this is coming from a drummer) and Thom Yorke's usually cryptic lyrics are surpisingly lucid. I am no minion--I resisted Radiohead for 10 years before I finally came around. I don't listen to music because everyone else tells me to; that's for people who listen to Nickelback...or any other completely insipid, uninspired, cookie-cutter band that is constantly played by MTV and on the radio. Radiohead challenges every facet of the mainstream rock audience by telling them it doesn't have to be similar to be popular. Thank God for bands like them. Otherwise I would be stuck listening to condescending pseudo-critics such as yourself who believe that by dismissing a critically-acclaimed band they are doing everyone else a favor. I appreciate it buddy. Oh, and yes, I do take this personally. Expand
  73. jv
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Subtle and brilliant. Their finest, most straightforward work ever. There is not a moment of filler here, and every single track is perfectly balanced and produced.
  74. DanC
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Dusted Magazine is clearly full of idiots. The best thing about Radiohead is that they do not write songs that are easy to digest. The beauty of this album is it's simplicity. Listening to In Rainbows is a completely different experience than listening to any of their other albums. Jonny Greenwood was clearly given the green light to use his orchestral skills and Radiohead have come Dusted Magazine is clearly full of idiots. The best thing about Radiohead is that they do not write songs that are easy to digest. The beauty of this album is it's simplicity. Listening to In Rainbows is a completely different experience than listening to any of their other albums. Jonny Greenwood was clearly given the green light to use his orchestral skills and Radiohead have come up with some of the most beautiful songs in their wonderful career (Nude & Reckoner). It's safe to say that this is a band who has not wavered. Thank you Radiohead for inspiring so many and having the courage to be unique in a world full of cloned, bubble gum crap. Expand
  75. AdamSD
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    A very worthy successor to Hail to the Thief.
  76. JTryptophan
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Please stop asking Dusted Magazine for reviews when they clearly just phone them in. If they are interested in reading books then have them rank books. A 40 is just laughable and probably out of spite. In Rainbows is a beautiful album that is groundbreaking not only in it's musical merit but in the way it changed the landscape of music commerce.
  77. IsaacR.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Truly amazing.
  78. [anonymous]
    Oct 22, 2007
    7
    Another over-rated Radiohead album. The much anticipated In Rainbows changes pace with other Radiohead albums in the first few songs, then returns in pretentious fashion. A few good songs, but others like '15 step', 'Nude' and 'Jigsaw' that get old very quickly. The sound is a little dull.
  79. MAUMEJEANP.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Awesome album as expected. The flaw is incredible. Nude is Radiohead emotional peak.
  80. Jack'sFriend
    Oct 22, 2007
    9
    Let's see that collection of yours Jack... Let me guess, you're a big fan of Tool/P.C., NIN, and QotSA??? Not that there is anything wrong with any of those, but often they seem to be viewed as 'superior' from those criticizing Radiohead. It is fine if they are not for you, but I am willing to bet there are some people her, presumably myself included, with much more Let's see that collection of yours Jack... Let me guess, you're a big fan of Tool/P.C., NIN, and QotSA??? Not that there is anything wrong with any of those, but often they seem to be viewed as 'superior' from those criticizing Radiohead. It is fine if they are not for you, but I am willing to bet there are some people her, presumably myself included, with much more eclectic tastes than what you currently have. Oh, and I forgot Puddle of Mudd. Now, that is some 'superior' song writing. Expand
  81. JennieF
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    The most consistent, cohesive album my favorite band has released since Kid A. The most compulsively listenable since OK Computer. There has been nothing else in my cd player for a week.
  82. JavierF
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    First This album is Great, the best music album of the year, is not perfect, is no "OK Computer" or "Kid A" but is a lot better than "hail to the Thief", I believe this is not the next step for radiohead but still the best album till now from 2007, this album has a core, a sense... this is not a Pop album if you want pop go and buy a Britney spears album for god's sake!!! and the First This album is Great, the best music album of the year, is not perfect, is no "OK Computer" or "Kid A" but is a lot better than "hail to the Thief", I believe this is not the next step for radiohead but still the best album till now from 2007, this album has a core, a sense... this is not a Pop album if you want pop go and buy a Britney spears album for god's sake!!! and the gentleman that gave radiohead in rainbows a "0" "music is not getting worse is just you.. Expand
  83. Marek
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Upstairs on the right, somewhere there is a Magical breakdown of assets. I fïnally recognize them.
  84. AlexS.
    Oct 25, 2007
    6
    The Bends and OK Computer were great if a tad too pretentious. Kid A doesn't hold up even now and yet Aphex Twin does. Now there's this overly simple, horribly vague, and of course overrated record. The dynamic is almost never here on this record. The guitars are near generic most of the time. Sure House of Cards and other moments of some songs are pretty. But had they released The Bends and OK Computer were great if a tad too pretentious. Kid A doesn't hold up even now and yet Aphex Twin does. Now there's this overly simple, horribly vague, and of course overrated record. The dynamic is almost never here on this record. The guitars are near generic most of the time. Sure House of Cards and other moments of some songs are pretty. But had they released the album the Liars had this year, the reviews would've been even more acclaimed, I promise. And yet a more dynamic and well thought out record (like one by the Liars or something by Sigur Ros) gets much worse reviews. To see In Rainbows get reviews even better or close to that of The Knife's Silent Shout or M.I.A. is hilarious and inevitably seen to be as novelty. Expand
  85. NicoleY
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Just brilliant!
  86. LeahT.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Brilliant as usual. This double-album (arguably...), now extended to include scathingly beautiful bits such as "Last Flowers" and "Go Slowly," along with the mellow, inventive funk of of "Down is the New Up," is undoubtedly a masterpiece. This band continues to evolve while the rest of the world remains stagnant. Can't wait for LP8...hee hee.
  87. Joris
    Oct 20, 2007
    6
    In the critic's eye Radiohead can permit themselves even plain mediocre tracks as Jigsaw Falling Into Place and the uninspired one-riffbased track Bodysnatchers, but in the end the unearthly beauty of House of Playing Cards, All I Need, 15 Step, Reckoners, the haunting Nude and Arpeggi make up for a Decent Radiohead album. Not their best by far, and not by any means one of the better In the critic's eye Radiohead can permit themselves even plain mediocre tracks as Jigsaw Falling Into Place and the uninspired one-riffbased track Bodysnatchers, but in the end the unearthly beauty of House of Playing Cards, All I Need, 15 Step, Reckoners, the haunting Nude and Arpeggi make up for a Decent Radiohead album. Not their best by far, and not by any means one of the better albums to have come out in 2007, but still solid. Expand
  88. JamesM
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    Radiohead has been recommended several times over the years but due to my study and already large list of music i wanted to download i put it off. eventually, after seeing critics rave about In Rainbows i decided I'd download it. I see what everyones been going on about now.
  89. JustinH.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
  90. RuaB
    Oct 20, 2007
    9
    This is the first time I have listened to a FULL Radiohead album and I was very impressed. Favourite songs are 15 Step, Bodysnatchers, Nude, Jigsaw Falling Into Place and Reckoner but I like them all really.
  91. TT
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Some of the people giving this album a 0 or 1 sounds like jellus Coldplay fans. Excellent record. Different from anything out there and anything they've ever recorded. It takes several listens to fully digest and to be fully appreciated. I hope this isn't their last record.
  92. JonathanB
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Excellent album, doesnt quite exceed kid A through to hail to the theif, but this album offers outlandish riffs and is complementary to the ears.
  93. JackO
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    One of those albums that divides listeners into hate 'em or love 'em factions, and they most certainly have the critics ears on this one, but probably deserving of its current rating, in my opinion. Physically, this album does not best any of their three masterworks (The Bends, OK Computer, Kid A), but it certainly equals them in tenacity and consideration. Moreover, what makes One of those albums that divides listeners into hate 'em or love 'em factions, and they most certainly have the critics ears on this one, but probably deserving of its current rating, in my opinion. Physically, this album does not best any of their three masterworks (The Bends, OK Computer, Kid A), but it certainly equals them in tenacity and consideration. Moreover, what makes this album an amazing accomplishment isn't the sheer brilliance of the songs, but rather the kind of album it is, when it came in, and what it means for a band that many thought were on their way to retirement. And by "kind of album" I mean a very different kind than Radiohead have done before. Whereas much of their previous work has dealt with inward seeking themes of self-deprication, loneliness, and paranoia, In Rainbows bends much of that into something that is comparatively accessible, dealing with romantic themes, and at times... downright bouncy. As for the band itself being overrated? I think you've got a few more groups to bash before you get to this one. Expand
  94. BenM
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    I've never been a big Radiohead fan except for Kid A, but this one definitely rubs me the right way. There's a lot of really pretty moments, and it's really nicely recorded. Not bad for $3.
  95. ColmanM
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Chillingly beatiful.
  96. Nico
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Like all great albums, it gets better every time you listen to it.
  97. JulienGross
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Radiohead a bit more accessible than in the past work... beautiful album from the 1st track to the last one. Probably my favorite buy in the pas 2 years. I thought they were at the top, but I was amazed once more with this new release.
  98. IggyL.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year, and Radiohead's 3rd best album. No doubt about that.
  99. RobAlderson
    Jan 16, 2008
    9
    Beautifull, love it, maybe a better climax would make it a 10
  100. krzysztofziewacz
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Launched me into the space.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. In Rainbows really does present Radiohead at their most full-blooded and confident.
  2. Overall, the material feels more human, more honest, more assured.
  3. Happily, In Rainbows is pretty, pretty good.