In Rainbows

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1708 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. drewt
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    This just might be the best Radiohead album yet, and if not, it's certainly their most direct and emotional album. And that's what's so great about it, the songs are impeccable, the arrangements are fantastic always, but the focus is squarely on the songwriting for the first time in the past ten years. Obviously there's the endless debate between OK Computer and Kid A, This just might be the best Radiohead album yet, and if not, it's certainly their most direct and emotional album. And that's what's so great about it, the songs are impeccable, the arrangements are fantastic always, but the focus is squarely on the songwriting for the first time in the past ten years. Obviously there's the endless debate between OK Computer and Kid A, but I think "In Rainbows" could be a major contender. I don't think that enough people are aware of how lucky we are to have a band like Radiohead still around and putting out consistently fantastic music. And "In Rainbows" is ultra-fantastic. Expand
  2. Laura
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    You know it always takes a little time for the utter genius behind their music to reveal itself. When it does, it's so scintillating! 'Nude' is probably one of the most sensual songs I've ever heard. The voice is velvet. '15 step' ...Jeez, who makes music in 5 time anyway? And doesn't make it sound academic. It's a rush. 'Arpeggio' is You know it always takes a little time for the utter genius behind their music to reveal itself. When it does, it's so scintillating! 'Nude' is probably one of the most sensual songs I've ever heard. The voice is velvet. '15 step' ...Jeez, who makes music in 5 time anyway? And doesn't make it sound academic. It's a rush. 'Arpeggio' is compelling and atmospheric. I am so in love with this CD. Thank god (or whatever you thank for good things) for Radiohead. Expand
  3. BonoV.
    Dec 21, 2007
    9
    Their best work since OKC in my opinion. They continue to evolve like no other band. At first listen I was tempted to be disappointed by 15 Steps and Bodysnatchers as I had heard them live but Nude just takes you to another place and it flows from their. Thom's voice is front and center and never sounded better. Album of the Year!
  4. ShaunB
    Oct 22, 2007
    9
    If there is anything we should have learnt about Radiohead by now, it's that we should not compare one album to another. Not even Kid A (which I loved) could be compared to Amnesiac (which I found disappointing)...and they were recorded in the same session! So I am certainly not going to compare In Rainbows with OK Computer (which is my favourite album of all time). Anyway, here are If there is anything we should have learnt about Radiohead by now, it's that we should not compare one album to another. Not even Kid A (which I loved) could be compared to Amnesiac (which I found disappointing)...and they were recorded in the same session! So I am certainly not going to compare In Rainbows with OK Computer (which is my favourite album of all time). Anyway, here are Radiohead using the sound they have developed over the past 3 albums, but suddenly it is more focused. They have found the perfect balance between their experimental jazzy sounds and good-old fashioned songwriting. I was very surprised with In Rainbows, as I approached with extreme caution...and, for the first time since 2000, Radiohead pleasantly surprised me. The love affair with the Oxford band is back on. Expand
  5. MattA
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Amazing. Simply put. I can't think of a single track that i don't like... ...it may not be for everyone...but it's definitely for me.
  6. mycles.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    odd but accessible. sad but encouraging. minimal but lush. low-fi but hi-fi. incredible. radiohead keeps making better albums. soft but harsh. alienating but loving. they keep rock alive by killing it.
  7. AndrewW
    Oct 22, 2007
    9
    I like this record- an improvement on the last 2. It might even be better than kidA after a few more listens. What I can't agree with are those reviewers saying this album isn't another "electronic" album. After my first few listens, this is more of an "electronic album" than hail to the thief was. Plenty of beeps and drum machines here. I do like it though. Good effort.
  8. MichaelP.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Brilliant - gets better with each listen!!
  9. BigSteveO
    Dec 20, 2007
    1
    For the second album in a row (3 if you count the Eraser), Radiohead sound like either they've lost it, or are just phoning it in. Iceage coming, indeed.
  10. MaxM.
    Oct 22, 2007
    8
    Radiohead is probably the best living band right now. They had a great run and I am glad they finally came out with an album after the long wait after "Hail to the Theif". To be honest, I think Thom Yorke's "The Eraser" was a bit more enjoyable. This new album has many decent songs and a few really good ones like 15 Step and Bodysnatchers. I was absolutely disgusted by the third Radiohead is probably the best living band right now. They had a great run and I am glad they finally came out with an album after the long wait after "Hail to the Theif". To be honest, I think Thom Yorke's "The Eraser" was a bit more enjoyable. This new album has many decent songs and a few really good ones like 15 Step and Bodysnatchers. I was absolutely disgusted by the third track, Nude. I've heard the unreleased version of Nude and it was alot better than what I heard in "In Rainbows". Expand
  11. tomj.
    Oct 22, 2007
    9
    My favorite since OK Computer. Radiohead has rediscovered what made them great; the ability to translate emotion in perfect melodies.
  12. carolR.A.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    Thank you very much RaDioHead!!
  13. StevenN.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    Bursting with emotional melodies, atmospheric hazy sounds scattered within off beat tempo's. Wierd Fishes standout track by miles of depths of oceans.
  14. JohnT.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Nice trolling Jonathan H
  15. SeanC.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Having listened to this on loop since its Wednesday release nearly two weeks ago (as of today, you see), being almost genuinely unable to listen to anything else, I can say that this is a new masterpiece from "the world's most interesting band." I see people giving this zeros and middling reviews, and while I understand that people have different opinions, much of it smacks of Having listened to this on loop since its Wednesday release nearly two weeks ago (as of today, you see), being almost genuinely unable to listen to anything else, I can say that this is a new masterpiece from "the world's most interesting band." I see people giving this zeros and middling reviews, and while I understand that people have different opinions, much of it smacks of Internet Contrarianism, and a zero review is simply indefensible, no matter your opinion; you're wrong, and you're sad for being such a tool. Either way, I pity anyone who doesn't get as much enjoyment and elation from this album as I have. It is as vital as any music I've heard. Expand
  16. JohnJ.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    The best Radiohead album since OK Computer.
  17. DaveW.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    i must be the only naive mofo on earth that feels that every single radiohead album has been an evolutionary improvement on the last. musically, technically. broke boundaries. this is no exception. my only gripe is that it took them so goddamn long. awesome.
  18. Kaleb
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    If Hail to the Thief was like an almost hour long Paranoid Android - gloomy, tense, frantic, aggressive, muscular, unpredictable and complex, then In Rainbows is like a forty-minute long No Surprises - relaxed, dreamy, delicate, sweet, lush and hypnotic, even to the point of being nearly comatose (Videotape). No surprises here indeed, as In Rainbows is Radiohead's most user-friendly If Hail to the Thief was like an almost hour long Paranoid Android - gloomy, tense, frantic, aggressive, muscular, unpredictable and complex, then In Rainbows is like a forty-minute long No Surprises - relaxed, dreamy, delicate, sweet, lush and hypnotic, even to the point of being nearly comatose (Videotape). No surprises here indeed, as In Rainbows is Radiohead's most user-friendly record since The Bends, or perhaps even Pablo Honey, and is very likely to appeal to the part of their fanbase that felt estranged upon the release of Kid A and Amnesiac. However, after a few listens the album opens up and shows its true beauty, which lies in lush multi-layered textures, intricate details and Yorke's almost embarrassingly earnest lyrics (once you're able to decipher them). All in all it's a great record. Is it Radiohead's best? Only time can tell. For now it will suffice to say that it's another solid output by the most important band of this generation. A must-hear for any music lover. Expand
  19. ReubenF
    Oct 23, 2007
    4
    Sadly, it is commonplace for bands to lose it over time. Most are one-hit wonders. Some manage a few good albums. A select few sustain a career among the best for longer than a decade. Radiohead are among the select few. However, on this album, they prove themselves no exception to the general rule. They have past their used by date. The end.
  20. krismp
    Dec 31, 2007
    10
    I just feel like i can listen to this album all day long and never get bored or tired. Its a simply album made with so much deep in it.
  21. JR
    Oct 23, 2007
    8
    I don't know what's wrong with the people who didn't give this album the same score I did. But they are not like me and therefore must have something wrong with them. Why people have different impressions of something when it is clearly easily categorized in the world-view affirming context of my own ego is beyond me. All of you people who gave this album scores other than I don't know what's wrong with the people who didn't give this album the same score I did. But they are not like me and therefore must have something wrong with them. Why people have different impressions of something when it is clearly easily categorized in the world-view affirming context of my own ego is beyond me. All of you people who gave this album scores other than 8 need to get a grip on reality and rate things the same way I do. Oh, by the way, I like the album. Expand
  22. Jerc.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    This is the best album from this band
  23. TravisM.
    Dec 31, 2007
    10
    Easily the best album of 2007. Perhaps of this decade.
  24. Simon
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Best album of the decade!
  25. AllanC.
    Oct 23, 2007
    5
    There is nothing wrong if you don't like this album as much as the rest of the crowd has. Sure we're a small minority but it's OKAY to be different. I personally tried to like this album. It's meant to be a grower but my initial opinion of this album was incredibly poor. I couldn't get myself to like it on about the first 10 listens. The album is a decent album There is nothing wrong if you don't like this album as much as the rest of the crowd has. Sure we're a small minority but it's OKAY to be different. I personally tried to like this album. It's meant to be a grower but my initial opinion of this album was incredibly poor. I couldn't get myself to like it on about the first 10 listens. The album is a decent album but I feel all this universal acclaim doesn't suit the music. To me the album isn't as close to OKC and pretty much I have to ignore the millions of people who apparently have very different tastes from me. Possibly the best album of the year by Sunset Rubdown is getting a 77. That's one thing I don't understand. Expand
  26. StuartG.
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    In every way it's a masterpiece.
  27. RonaldL.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    An album that starts off great and continues to get better with every listen. The Nude - All I Need sequence is one of the best things I have heard in quite some time. There is a lot going on here, and I can't wait to continue to unpack it over the next few weeks. Though I do like the live version of Videotape better, the album version is certainly a haunting send off that captures, An album that starts off great and continues to get better with every listen. The Nude - All I Need sequence is one of the best things I have heard in quite some time. There is a lot going on here, and I can't wait to continue to unpack it over the next few weeks. Though I do like the live version of Videotape better, the album version is certainly a haunting send off that captures, I think, the spectrum of darker emotions that embodies the album. Well done, Radiohead. Expand
  28. KeilS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    8
    Yet another wonderful album from an always engaging band.
  29. ThomasM
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    the way in which Radiohead have progressed from album to album is something I have never seen except in the Beatles, culminating in their latest album In Rainbows. There is no way any other band in the world right now could put together 10 better songs to put on an album, there is no question about it, there is no argument, no one else in the present is even close to their work. Album of the way in which Radiohead have progressed from album to album is something I have never seen except in the Beatles, culminating in their latest album In Rainbows. There is no way any other band in the world right now could put together 10 better songs to put on an album, there is no question about it, there is no argument, no one else in the present is even close to their work. Album of the year, for its magic, its coherence, and its delivery. Expand
  30. HuskerD.
    Oct 24, 2007
    8
    I have been listening to this album for the better part of 2 days, and I seem to want to go back and listen to it again. Lyrically, it doesn't seem as complex as OK and Kid, but musically, there isn't a weak moment on here. This is one of the more understated albums they have made, and actually has a flow to it that makes you avoid going to the skip function. This may not be a I have been listening to this album for the better part of 2 days, and I seem to want to go back and listen to it again. Lyrically, it doesn't seem as complex as OK and Kid, but musically, there isn't a weak moment on here. This is one of the more understated albums they have made, and actually has a flow to it that makes you avoid going to the skip function. This may not be a "classic", but definitely a strong showing from a strong band. As well, the marketing plan for this album is one of the most creative and ingenious moves by their part. It is almost a "thank you" from the band to all their fans who have supported them all these years. They probably know that most that have downloaded the album will turn around and purchase it afterwards as well, but to offer it at "your price" is definitely fan friendly! Expand
  31. RobS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    I love this album, my favorite since OK Computer. though I'd just like to say that the fact there's people here claiming it's a masterpiece and their best yet, and people saying it's awful and over rated just goes to prove that music is subjective, and that criticism of it is pretty damn pointless
  32. MW.
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    This album is their best since OK Computer.
  33. DavidH.
    Oct 24, 2007
    6
    It's not a bad album, but it's just not that exciting either. Why do they feel they owe it to the fans/public to regress to their conventional rock format. Fair enough, the Bends was great at the time, but they are capable of more than that these days, as was evident in the fantastic Kid A and Amnesiac. Sonically, In Rainbows is closer to OK Computer than they have been in a It's not a bad album, but it's just not that exciting either. Why do they feel they owe it to the fans/public to regress to their conventional rock format. Fair enough, the Bends was great at the time, but they are capable of more than that these days, as was evident in the fantastic Kid A and Amnesiac. Sonically, In Rainbows is closer to OK Computer than they have been in a decade, but none of these songs have the depth or classic songwriting of that great album. I don't think Radiohead have ever sounded so MOR. Expand
  34. ChrisD.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    This is what music is all about. The intensity and emotion on these tracks really sucks you in. This is my first Radiohead album, I've got a few of their popular songs from other albums, like "Creep" and "Karma Police", but I've never gotten a whole album before. There are few albums that I love every single song (Train's "Drops of Jupiter" and Vertical Horizon's This is what music is all about. The intensity and emotion on these tracks really sucks you in. This is my first Radiohead album, I've got a few of their popular songs from other albums, like "Creep" and "Karma Police", but I've never gotten a whole album before. There are few albums that I love every single song (Train's "Drops of Jupiter" and Vertical Horizon's "Everything You Want" are the only two I can think of), but this is one of them. Bodysnatchers is just an awesome song, a great rock-out song. I fell in love with this album when it transitioned from that song to "Nude", a completely different song stylistically from Bodysnatchers. I paid $9 for the album, and it was more than worth it. Expand
  35. AshleyP
    Oct 26, 2007
    6
    I tried, I really tried to like this. Their last four albums have been masterful. But In Rainbows, with its uninspiring sounds/chords backed up with stale rhythms, and monotonous, emotionless vocals (with a few momentary exceptions), does nothing for me. The album shows no signs of cohesion; it is thread-less, and uninviting. It sounds perfunctory and cheap, barely a step up from The I tried, I really tried to like this. Their last four albums have been masterful. But In Rainbows, with its uninspiring sounds/chords backed up with stale rhythms, and monotonous, emotionless vocals (with a few momentary exceptions), does nothing for me. The album shows no signs of cohesion; it is thread-less, and uninviting. It sounds perfunctory and cheap, barely a step up from The Eraser. It's been amazing decade-long adventure, but, finally, and inevitably, I suppose, they have let me down. It is all down to taste, I appreciate. After reaching a peak within a genre with OK Computer, they moved on toa new style. Now, I suppose they had reached their limit with the next 'triplet'. So, on to a new style. It is not to my taste. Expand
  36. DeboraD
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    It sounds nothing like anything they've done before... But just as brilliant as
  37. MikeA
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Holy crap this is a brilliant album. I never really listened to Radiohead before but after hearing this Im finding as many as thier older songs as I can! "All I Need" is honestly one of the best songs I have EVER heard in my life.
  38. JasonM.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    Bought it at 10am and have been listening to it non-stop since then. It is now 9pm. No other album has had this effect on me since Disintegration by The Cure and that
  39. SteveK
    Oct 28, 2007
    5
    Radiohead seems to draw their inspiration from those esoteric soundpieces that they usually play in Yoga-Classes. That doesn't have to be all bad, but I have a hard time connecting the music to these euphoric overall ratings they get. Therefore I can't help but think that this band is quite overrated.
  40. ChrisP
    Dec 8, 2007
    6
    A pretty album, but ultimately unsatisfying. This is the sound of Radiohead in a comfortable groove, and it's more of an adult-alternative snooze than anything interesting.
  41. ThomG.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    On In Rainbows, Radiohead have eschewed the cluttered sound of the somewhat underwhelming Hail to the Thief in favor of a more organic sound. Electronics are still present, but here they are used to create space and ambience rather than drive the songs. The album carries a deep sense of loneliness, but has none of the angst of Pablo Honey or The Bends. It's easily their most mature On In Rainbows, Radiohead have eschewed the cluttered sound of the somewhat underwhelming Hail to the Thief in favor of a more organic sound. Electronics are still present, but here they are used to create space and ambience rather than drive the songs. The album carries a deep sense of loneliness, but has none of the angst of Pablo Honey or The Bends. It's easily their most mature album yet, as well as one of their strongest. Expand
  42. RaulL
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    The first masterpiece of the century!
  43. Bryanw
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Great effects , mix, voice, and new style.
  44. nickc
    Oct 31, 2007
    6
    The songs, while layered and beautiful, are indistinguishable and blend completely together. I've listened to this album 20 times, and I still can't remember a single moment afterwards except for bodysnatchers and nude. Best album of the decade, by radiohead, of all time? No. Just No. I'd put this one between Kid A and Amnesiac. Doesn't hold a candle to OK Computer, The songs, while layered and beautiful, are indistinguishable and blend completely together. I've listened to this album 20 times, and I still can't remember a single moment afterwards except for bodysnatchers and nude. Best album of the decade, by radiohead, of all time? No. Just No. I'd put this one between Kid A and Amnesiac. Doesn't hold a candle to OK Computer, Bends, or Hail to the Thief. And 15 step is the worst ablum opener Radiohead's ever written. Expand
  45. TimmyB
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Perfection. I have been a Radiohead fan for several years now, and I always used to go back and forth on which album was my favorite: Kid A or OK Computer. Even though music is subjective and one's own interest can vary, if you truly understand this band of immense musicianship and talent, then you know this is their best album to date. I cannot even believe that I am about to make Perfection. I have been a Radiohead fan for several years now, and I always used to go back and forth on which album was my favorite: Kid A or OK Computer. Even though music is subjective and one's own interest can vary, if you truly understand this band of immense musicianship and talent, then you know this is their best album to date. I cannot even believe that I am about to make this statement, but I am: In Rainbows makes Kid A appear to be incomplete. I understand many die-hard Radiohead fans will disagree with this stance, but there is absolutely no way you can argue that Thom Yorke's voice is at his best on Kid A. In Rainbows truly is a hybrid of the best elements of OK Computer and Kid A (that is saying a hell of alot). I just feel that this is their most natural, beautiful, and complete album they have ever released. When I listen to it, I never want to skip a track because it is like they are telling me a story. Kid A is absolutely brilliant in its own right, but tracks like Treefingers and In Limbo do not stack up to any of the ones on In Rainbows. I must say that I am biased to In Rainbows because I feel Thom Yorke has the best voice in music today, and you hear him at his best on every song. This definitely is another masterpiece from guys who strive for perfection. This is BY FAR the best album of 2007 and possibly the best of the 21st century. I read one of the reviews on this site that said this album is great but never reaches a climax. That is absurd. You guys will know what I mean when I say that I have a one word response to that claim: Reckoner. Expand
  46. JohnB
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    I'm not sure that Dusted Magazine thought it was a 4/10, surely? Album of the year!
  47. ashmall
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    cool
  48. joser
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    WOW!!! That was all I could say when I first heard this album. I then picked up the phone to inform everyone I know that appreciates good music. Get this album ASAP!
  49. JamesMcD
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    one of the best bands ever
  50. GC
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing, top notch... took the standards to an all new level!
  51. BenT
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    A beautiful, sprawling sound scape. They recall all their greatest moments. The good old britrock days (Bodysnatchers), to the haunting Ok Computer (Videotape), and the revolutionary Kid A (All I Need). Heck, they even through in some Hail to the Thief (15 Step). To quote krzysztof ziewacz, "Launched me into space". Exactly
  52. RX
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    For a while I was with a lot of the people giving this 5's and 6's, thinking it seems a little bland and easy-going. But something clicked at one point, and In Rainbows just started flowing like silk. For me, despite it's high reviews, Hail to the Thief was a real letdown. A lot of it sounded disjointed, angry and cynical... a band that was exhausted of ideas and not For a while I was with a lot of the people giving this 5's and 6's, thinking it seems a little bland and easy-going. But something clicked at one point, and In Rainbows just started flowing like silk. For me, despite it's high reviews, Hail to the Thief was a real letdown. A lot of it sounded disjointed, angry and cynical... a band that was exhausted of ideas and not particularly enjoying music-making anymore. I was worried Thom Yorke was getting a bit far up his arse about the environment and all that before this release. Thankfully, In Rainbows largely avoids all this political bollux, and they have concentrated on making music (as lame as this sounds) 'from the heart'. In Rainbows does not have any soaring guitar solos or dark electronic noodlings. It seems well textured and multi-layered instead and, though it's hard to explain why, I think lyrically this is one of the band's best yet. I can still see why some deem it average, but for me the album eventually broke through. I'm not a Radiohead nut by any means but many bands that go this long seem to slowly shrivel up and die after a while. I thought this would happen here after Hail to The Thief but it hasn't. The whole point in this lame, corny message is just to say if you are disappointed by this release on first few impressions... there is something much deeper here that's worth sticking around for. Expand
  53. FlorusG.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Just a good way to survive and concur the world. Radiohead did it again. Thanks.
  54. TM.
    Jan 27, 2008
    8
    It's Radiohead but not much else.
  55. RickyD.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Beautiful work!! It comes at no better time, because I was in desperate need of an album like this. Its refreshing to hear Radiohead take a different approach with "In Rainbows". Thank you Radiohead!
  56. DaveB.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    I love Radiohead. I can't say they've ever recorded a "bad" record. This one, however, is awesome. Just when I think they are going in a slower, more trippy musical direction, they change course again with something new.
  57. JulM.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    They are back and reloaded.
  58. Justin
    Jan 6, 2008
    7
    As with OKC and Kid A, my inability to find words to describe their brilliance is countered by my inability to describe where In Rainbows lacks. The best I can do for our generation's Beatles: It's good enough.
  59. ArmandoO.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Not a doubt....it is an exciting, beautiful and emotional work that surpases all their previous works. An instant classic that will be regarded as the "Dark Side of The Moon" of this decade. They have taken so much distance from the rest of the bands, as their sound has become unique. Can't wait for the next album.
  60. Aniruddha
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    well its RADIOHEAD... easily the best album of the year... one of the best albums ever.
  61. TomP
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    This is, without a doubt, among Radioheads best work, if not their best work. Yet again, Radiohead has incorporated many of their past sounds and reinvented themselves into an amazing (though possibly difficult to truly get) sound. In my opinion this is their best work since OK computer, and mabye even better than that. But just alittle adivice, if you're new to this CD, listen to it This is, without a doubt, among Radioheads best work, if not their best work. Yet again, Radiohead has incorporated many of their past sounds and reinvented themselves into an amazing (though possibly difficult to truly get) sound. In my opinion this is their best work since OK computer, and mabye even better than that. But just alittle adivice, if you're new to this CD, listen to it several times before giving your input, because if you're sitting there and saying to yourself, what the hell? (As I was) After about the third listen things sort of fall into place and you won't be dissapointed. The only song that I felt fell short, and denies In Rainbows complete perfection was their closing track. Everything else is stunning. (Personal favorite: Jigsaw Falling Into Place) Expand
  62. SamS.
    Feb 15, 2008
    8
    The band seems to have finally folded under the hysterical pressure of the music press and rigid rock fans that can't distinguish quality from familiarity to produce a generic rock album. It's well crafted, masterfull, and boring
  63. GeoffreyG.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Ben W., I'm not a Radiohead fanboy. I don't like OK Computer that much, I didn't get into Radiohead before In Rainbows, but honestly, it is one of the finest albums I have ever listened to not just in the last year, but in my life.
  64. EddieC
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    Loved it at first listen - and more and more with every repeat. I'm tending to agree with people who claim this surpasses OK Computer - and that album I rate as one of my best ever.
  65. SanderE.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Best record i heard in awhile..
  66. Superd.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Album of the year.. Period.
  67. TerenceB
    Feb 26, 2008
    9
    Bodysnatchers and nude best songs.
  68. Stangoni
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    "In Rainbows" is wonderful. I don't think Paul R. gets it or has listened to it enough. Fans of radiohead will be undone! "Videotape" just kills me. This record just woos you to explore it. Must be listened to over a really good sound system or high quality headphones.
  69. DanH
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    They always re-invent themselves and try new genre's....an electronic masterpiece
  70. IuliaC.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    Great album, special and new sound!!! I'm in love with this album.
  71. HenryG.
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    Anybody who says this album deserves less then 8 is insane. It is easily radioheads most emotional and romantic sounding record. It keeps a lush and bassy sound structure through the whole album even on bodysnatchers witch is the heaviest number on the album. The only thing that prevents this from being radioheads best album is the fact that song for song the mood reaches a climax far too Anybody who says this album deserves less then 8 is insane. It is easily radioheads most emotional and romantic sounding record. It keeps a lush and bassy sound structure through the whole album even on bodysnatchers witch is the heaviest number on the album. The only thing that prevents this from being radioheads best album is the fact that song for song the mood reaches a climax far too soon at bodysnatchers and never builds up to the same intensity again except maybe at the end of all i need. The whole album could have been sequenced track by track much better but overall it is easily one more genius work of art by a band of musicians that look at making music like a artist looks at a painting a picture. Expand
  72. AndreP.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Reckoner, a song at the level of radiohead's best ones like just, creep, there there. The full album it's brilliantly conceived and shows that radiohead are the biggest band in the world nowadays, indeed.
  73. TomH.
    Apr 10, 2008
    9
    Best album since OK Computer, top ten of 2007.
  74. TimT
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    10 10 10, they could end up being the best band of all time. In my books they already are. If you liked OK computer, this is for you.
  75. GT
    Apr 28, 2008
    6
    I just don't get how people can call this "the best since OK Computer". If you prefer this over Kid A, Amnesiac or even Hail to the Thief (which I think is really good, despite the fact that so many people seem to dislike it), I think you've missed something. I can't really explain why, but this just sounds so polished and "clean". Poppy, maybe. All I need could have been a I just don't get how people can call this "the best since OK Computer". If you prefer this over Kid A, Amnesiac or even Hail to the Thief (which I think is really good, despite the fact that so many people seem to dislike it), I think you've missed something. I can't really explain why, but this just sounds so polished and "clean". Poppy, maybe. All I need could have been a Coldplay song... I'm quite disappointed to say it just doesn't do much for me. Expand
  76. DB.
    May 14, 2008
    9
    To my ears, this is the best Radiohead album yet. This is where the ability to experiment and the ability to write a great melody intertwine to create a masterpiece that is not only ahead of its time, but is a classic that will hold up when all is said an done. This album makes you wonder how these guys can possibly get any better?
  77. DEAN
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Truely excellent.
  78. TomW.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    I only started liking Radiohead after hearing this one. Fantastic. Am now getting into their earlier stuff that I previously didn't care for.
  79. MarhadiashaK.
    Jun 13, 2008
    9
    Best album since OK Computer. Very recommended.
  80. Brandon
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    This is Radiohead's song album. There aren't any weird experiments like Kid A or Amnesiac ( although those were superb albums ) and the songs are all extremely catchy this time around. I listen to ALOT of music and I can honestly tell you that this the best album of the new Millennium and possibly Radiohead's finest work to date. I can't wait to see where they go from here!
  81. BobertS.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    Play this album when you're all alone, and play it loudly. It'll find its way down to the very center of your soul, and it'll make itself a very comfy nest. This is an album I'll be revisiting often.
  82. BMV.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    Great music from a (not always) great band, it follows the red line from The Bends, trough OK Computer and now In Rainbows
  83. HannahL.
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    Soo good!! love love love love... genius.
  84. Ivan
    Jan 11, 2009
    10
    A review somewhere pretty much said exactly how I felt about this album: "An album Radiohead fans didn't even know they wanted." This will probably go down as one of my favorite albums of all of (my) time.
  85. Ray
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    One of the most beautiful and heartfelt albums i've ever heard. Radiohead have actually outdone themselves with some of the prettiest tracks they've ever made. Ever since the success of OK Computer and Kid A expectations have been so high that it's a wonder how Radiohead could have kept up. The thing is, they not only kept up, they actually went one better and made an One of the most beautiful and heartfelt albums i've ever heard. Radiohead have actually outdone themselves with some of the prettiest tracks they've ever made. Ever since the success of OK Computer and Kid A expectations have been so high that it's a wonder how Radiohead could have kept up. The thing is, they not only kept up, they actually went one better and made an amzing album. Do me a favour and listen to the album. The way it starts with the neurotic "15 steps" and the frantic "Bodysnatchers" only to evolve at "All I need" and then eventually end on the touching "House of Cards" and "Videotape." I loved this album so much. It's the most complete of the decade. Good times. Expand
  86. CameronT.
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    A really good album, my favorite of Radiohead. These are just a list of songs you can really get into, I did, and I await a new album to feel it all over again.
  87. JustinL.
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Amazing album. Can listen this album over and over again.
  88. JustinH.
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    Brilliant.
  89. DexStud
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    In Rainbows is far from being Radiohead's greatest album. And it lacks the creativity and shear quality of Ok Computer. But standing on its own, In Rainbows is still one of the greatest albums ever! Each track is flawlessly polished and produced. And Thom Yorke's falsetto is mesmerizing!
  90. TroyS
    Aug 21, 2009
    8
    A decent outing, although lacking the innovation and creativity of "OK Computer" or "Kid A." Definitely more focused and refined than "Hail to the Thief." "Jigsaw Falling Into Place" is one of their best songs ever.
  91. AndrewE
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    The most quintessential Radiohead release. Their power of melody, rhythm and emotion honed into 40 minutes of pure bliss. Easily the album of the decade, and I suspect the test of time will see this piece become only further revered. I challenge anyone to listen to this album in full 5 times and not be hooked.
  92. BrentH
    Jun 12, 2010
    10
    Stunning in its scope and beauty. Radiohead's finest moment. If the bass line in "All I Need" doesn't put a lump in your throat, what will?
  93. GrahamW
    Jun 17, 2010
    10
    They're the best artists going--a great rock band at the top of their game and unafraid to experiment. The all have great musical intuition.
  94. StefanoP.
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    This album is wonderful! I am a great fan of "Kid A" and this sounds sooo different... (maybe someone could find it more related to "The Bends" or "OK Computer") I definitely love it and it keeps growing. It's so warm, so real, so full of energy and of emotions...
  95. bernardoa.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    It´s really great for my ears
  96. PeterH
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Brilliant and beautiful.
  97. KyleN.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Damn near perfect. A definite feeling of equilibrium and relaxation.
  98. ErichF.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Radiohead's best album. A true master piece. What else can I say? Please guys, keep doing music. You're the best at it.
  99. BrennanL.
    Nov 16, 2007
    8
    Great marketing idea, but at the end of the day it is really just another Radiohead album. Thats okay though. I do like the more minimal approach here though. A solid listen and I approve.
  100. HT
    Nov 16, 2007
    6
    The album has 4, maybe 5 great songs, but, beeing honest, no more. That leaves more of the half of the album in the point of view of your fast-forward button. It´s a pity, Radiohead is a band that really cans doing much more better than this.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. In Rainbows really does present Radiohead at their most full-blooded and confident.
  2. Overall, the material feels more human, more honest, more assured.
  3. Happily, In Rainbows is pretty, pretty good.